Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Englewood Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 437 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 21, 2014

Great school in the past and presently its even better!! I love the teachers and the teachers love teaching there. It shows in their attitudes. I currently have my 4th child attending there and I myself and my husband both attended there as children. I'm 46 yes old !! Highly recommend this school !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2013

I just left this amazing school. I'm going to middle school now. But this school will always bring back great memories. It will forever and always remind me of my amazing, smart, and incredible teachers, my awesome, generous, and helpful friends, and my cool, nice, FUN, and caring principal. I LOVE this school and will surely miss it. But at least I believe I left my mark there. I won't forget them, and I hope they won't forget me. :) -Harley


Posted October 7, 2012

I'd be curious to know which teacher a parent was referring to below. I've had nothing but awesome interaction, with the principal, who really understands my child's needs. His teacher, on the other hand, seems to have an issue with my child that I've had to address via numerous notes and conferences. All in all, my child is getting a great education but part of me wonders what the higher cost is going to be in the end.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2011

Excellent school and excellent staff. A good, safe environment. Kids and faculty are friendly and helpful. Campus could be a little more user friendly, but safety is placed at a premium. A high achieving school. I look forward to more excellence for the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2011

Today in the mail I received a notice telling me that I can transfer my child to another school due to Englewood 2011 APY was not reached. The school overall grade is a B, however because how the school board came up with a 79% status it made me think. If more parents would get involed with their child education and at the school all schools in the county can and should be an A or B and meeting the APY status. But just because a school is below B or less all kids are not failing. Overall I think Englewood is a good school. If we as parents would take time to help out and speak out, all schools, can and will be an A school. Parents step up and get involved this year and return your school make to an A achool!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

The teachers at this school are simply awesome!


Posted May 2, 2010

The family atmosphere and the great teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

I have chidren currently at englewood and have had a relatively good experience with the teachers and administration prior to this year. When Mrs.Brinson left the school, I felt like my children had lost a very important ally. The current administrator is not approachable at all. I can't see where he has made any significant changes with school. His first impressions with me were just aweful. The teachers for the most part are great except for the one. She is constantly sending notes home pertaining to my child. My question is,' do you think you could send something positive home sometimes?' The school is grade A overall in my book, but the principal has me reconsidering placement of my kids next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

The principal's involvement is virtually non-existent in making this mediocre school into a great school. She doesn't seem to know all of the kids, is not visible during the times parents are there in the morning, afternoon, or during their volunteering time, so it makes a parent wonder whether she knows what is going on in her classrooms. The school is otherwise small, has caring if not well-guided teachers, and has a good atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

62 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 44% 23%
White 34% 42%
Hispanic 15% 29%
Asian 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 76%65%61%
Master's degree 21%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Kenya Griffin
Fax number
  • (904) 739-5316

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4359 Spring Park Rd
Jacksonville, FL 32207
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 739-5280

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Broach School- Southside
Jacksonville, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT