Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John Stockton Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 534 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 20, 2011

Great school! I am so glad that my child goes to this school. I wouldn't have it any other way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

Stockton embodies all that is right with our community, our education, our future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

Great administration, Great teachers, Great parental involvment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2010

Need more social opportunities for children... Kindergarteners are forced to sit boy girl boy girl at lunch and my child has told me they are not allowed to talk, or at most allowed a quiet whisper, but he is afraid of getting in trouble, so does not talk at all! Can't talk in line, cant talk at lunch, can[t talk in class... how is THIS more social than homeschooling!!?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

My children have been attending this school for 5 years now and I have 6 more to go with my next child. It is a wonderful school. The parents that are involved are a tight knit group. They work together to help this school in any way they can. Parents have every opportunity to get involved. They can join the PTA, FOS, or just work in the class. Every little bit helps the teachers and staff. We have never had any complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

My daughter has been at John Stockton since kindergarten. We have been very happy with our experience. They boast a very involved PTA and a men's group called the friends of Stockton that raise money for the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2008

I have two boys that attend school here and one will be leaving to middle school this year. I am truly going to miss having him at Stockton because of it's warm atmosphere and awesome teachers. The parental envolvement is great and the reading dinner theater and fall festival are lots of fun. The office staff are friendly and it's a small school environment so everyone knows each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2007

My son attended Stockton from grades 2-5. There was always something 'extra' going on for the kids and the teachers are generally positive and caring. The parental involvement via PTA, Patrols, and FOS (a group of dads making a difference) is amazing. The carpool line is the best-run/most efficient one I've seen so far. The afterschool program is not 'enriching' but the kids are safe, and I wish there was more exposure to the arts/music, but overall this is an excellent elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2007

I love this school. The discipline is great. I don't see kids acting up at all here. There is the little click problem. My son loves it here, the classes are small and he began reading before I knew it. They do music, art and pe. No problems there. Parents are very involved and encouraged to be involved. Lots of field trips and affordable activities. Great lunches, great teachers. Love love love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2006

My son attended John Stockton for 6 fantastic years. The school is easily one of the best in the state, if not the country. The teachers are caring and compassionate and go well beyond the call of duty. Evening activities are always happening at JS. That tells you how much these teachers care. Reading Theatre, dances, festivals.....these are the things we are now keeping close to our heart as our son has moved on to middle school. The classroom curriculum is not for the faint of heart. These kids have homework and plenty of it. That's why the FCAT score are always high. That's also why our son's transitition to middle school has been an easy adjustment. I would highly recommend this school to any parent who believes strongly in a great education for their child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

The only, only bad thing about this school is the obviously lack of music and art. I do understand this school focuses on math and science, but all work and no play makes Jack a very dull boy! Right?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2006

This school is a great school. My family is so proud that our daughter is able to attend this school on the magnet program. I feel that there is not much to offer as far as extracurricular activites though. I do agree with another parent, as far as the volunteer group being a tight-knit click that is hard to penatrate. Parent involvment does seem high, but for an 'outsider, that does not live in that upper scale neighborhood' I have found it hard to fit in, not many open arms wanting to know you. But whats important is the wonderful education that my child seems to be recieving. Teachers/staff can seem to be a bit snappy and harsh with the little ones, but I'm guess thats needed at times. Overall this school is a extremly great school to place your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2006

My daugheter attended John Stockton for 5 years. It is an impressive school. The academic program is of good quality. The extracurricular activities are numerous and parental involvement is outstanding. I was particularly impressed with the after school art program and the opportunities for the children to take typing classes. It may be difficult to penetrate this tight-knit volunteer group, however, if you do not find it easy to get to know complete strangers. It is my understanding that several local school principals have enrolled their children at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2005

Even though this is a highly praised school, I was not impressed with it. Some of the older teachers need to retire. They are frustrated and cynical. This school is also an FCAT test preparation center!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2005

We just relocated here from Ga. We are very pleased with John Stockton. It is very small, VERY safe, and the parents are very involved. It is lacking in the arts, p.e., and music dept. I think this is a school-wide issue. I do believe Florida, in general, is behind in academics. Their curriculum seems a bit behind, but Stockton does a good job of trying to ' beef it up'. Overall, we are very happy here. The little things they do, such as school dances, reading nights etc. make it feel like a small town school. It is your BEST choice, by far, if you are on the westside area of Jacksonville. ( in Duval Co.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2004

several teachers with many years' tenure. Terrific office staff. Not having art anymore starting 2004-2005 year. Great neighborhood. Very little discipline problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

91 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 59%
Black 23%
Hispanic 9%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 9%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 58%65%61%
Master's degree 42%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4827 Carlisle Road
Jacksonville, FL 32210
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 381-3955

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ortega Elementary School
Jacksonville, FL


Venetia Elementary School
Jacksonville, FL


Bayview Elementary School
Jacksonville, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT