Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Key Biscayne K-8 Center

Public | PK-8 | 1430 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2014

Good school but cannot be compared with schools in Broward or Pinecrest. Private evaluations for CATS are always reviewed by school counselors and are not the only criteria for a child to be placed in CATS! Some teachers at this school are great and some are not so good regardless of CATS. In my opinion the best teachers of this school are not teaching gifted. The principal is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2014

KB8 CATS program is an outstanding program with some of the best qualified teachers in the system. CATS is the gifted program for children who learn faster than the median child, teaching without repetition. Therfore, CATS covers more material and the children have time for more engaging activities. It is less about the status, but more about the children's learning style, which is not suitable for all. Yes, classes are crowded, however, the results speak for themselves. The school is not an FCAT oriented school, yet the children consistently obtain high scores. The difference in any school, regardless of neighborhoods, is created by involved parents interested in helping their children succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2013

Dirty, teachers who don't want to be there, lack of hands on teaching, overcrowded with children who do not even live in region, overcrowded CATs classes filled with unqualified children who's parents have paid private testing to get them in. This school maintains a top rating due to parents paying for private tutors rather then the teachers. Saying that there are a few brilliant teachers at the school who work hard with little support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

I LOVE THIS SCHOOL VERY MUCH AND I GREATLY RECOMMEND IT. IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A PUBLIC SCHOOL TO SEND YOUR CHILD, THIS IS THE ABSOLUTE BEST ONE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

I am a new mom to this school but my family is already loving it. The school principal and teachers show to be deeply involved in the school happenings, there's great communication to keep parents updated with school information, I love the community involvement in the school, the interest of parents in the school's performance, progress and improvements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2013

I think it is essential that prospective residents & parents realize there is an effort by a local parent, Manny Cambo, to convert this school to a Charter School. This is why you see so many negative reviews below. You can read about his position in the Herald if you Google "Manny Cambo". I find it extremely unethical to see a local resident jeopardizing home values to promote a personal agenda.


Posted January 25, 2013

Not a fan of this school. We came from a private school in the NE and this school does not even come close in every aspect. Supposedly a top rated school for district and state??? Academics are solely geared towards the FCATS. Teacher's are hit or miss. Some I will say are very good and caring. Spanish teacher (for non Spanish speaking children) is beyond HORRENDOUS. Had to pull my child out of the class and I am not the only parent to have done that. Elementary facility is in horrible condition and filthy. Bullying is a major and serious problem. I believe they are trying to finally address the problem. In the past, it was never taken care of. The vice principle I will say was the ONLY person who actually did take action. I do know there have been many children here bullied and have left the school or are considering leaving. The plus to the school is, it is a great community and your child can walk safely to school. Academically, it is poor. Most parent's who seem to love the school are coming from a foreign country and barely speak the English language. You get what you pay for here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2012

Being as I attended this school for 10 years, I feel as if this school has its flaws just like any other school. I was severely bullied for almost all of elementary and only one teacher actually helped me in my situation. The administration is very relaxed, especially the middle school teachers, however I learned almost everything I know from those teachers and I couldn't have asked for more helpful people such as them during my experience with the magnet programs. Those teachers taught me a lot of useful information to better prepare me for the world. While the administration is on the relaxed side and the bullying was rampant all through out elementary, the teachers there are the most qualified teachers in all of Florida. It would be a mistake not to send your child here.


Posted May 29, 2012

I moved to Key Biscayne from the Northeast, where the schools are phenomenal. I have friends whose children attend Pinecrest & Palmetto (top-rated schools in Miami-Dade) and considered enrolling them in one of those schools, however, I had heard Key Biscayne K-8 Center was pretty good as well. Let me say that I couldn't have been more wrong. This school is TERRIBLE. Of course, there will be parents who ADORE this school..and that's fine (they may have had a good teacher & an uneventful year.) The ofc admin is SLOW, UNORGANIZED, RUDE, & they don't seem to want to be there. The principal pretends to care, but it is evident (to some of us) that her position as principal is just a job that pays the bills. I have a friend who works for the Board of Educ. and he mentioned that this principal has received NUMEROUS complaints. She does not handle most situations to the BEST of her ability. Also, some teachers are verbally abusive, bullying is an issue, and the teaches only teach for fcat. I was angered that my child's teachers constantly changed D & F grades to a C grade (perhaps to save their jobs!) Such a disgraceful situation over there. I DO NOT reccommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2012

Bullying is case-by-case. One parent may succeed with the bullying problems of their child, while another may not. There are several factors that can help/hurt the fight against bullying (such as a caring/alert teacher, a relentless parent, or perhaps an ineffective principal will be an obstacle, etc.) I have heard of excessive bullying situations from the parents themselves (mainly in 4th & 5th gr.) SOME problems were resolved, but TOO MANY WERE NOT due to the LACK OF DISCIPLINE. Recently, I met with a group of moms (5, to be exact) who spoke of their negative experiences with the school-admin/police on the issue. One subject that kept coming up was that the consequences were/are minimal (or none at all.) Nonetheless, I am very happy for those few students (victims) who were/are able to find resolution (such as the son of the parent who commented that she was "surprised to hear such a one-sided story.") Interesting that her son was "involved in a minor incident" at this school. As I mentioned, bullying is, indeed, a problem at KB K-8 (whether minor or major.) Yes, some situations get taken care of...but the problem is that MOST do not. Bullies have to be held accountable!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2011

The school is OK. I transfered both of my kids (3rd and 5th) from Broward and after 5 months, the school still has not finalized my transfer and paperwork. They are very UNORGANIZED, staff is nice but they seem to be overwhelmed. Good atmosphere for the kids but academics are light. Not a good school for a child that needs constant challenges or advanced programs. I am already looking for other middle school options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

I have two children at the K8 and arrived as an expat last year. Firstly Key Biscayne is a spanish speaking island and as most of the children who attend the school come from the island there is going to be alot of spanish spoken. My children do not find this a problem. As with all schools you have good teachers and bad teachers. Some are dedicated and try their best for the students, others are pretty awful. All schools in Miami Dade are suffering from cutbacks that they can ill afford. This school has a very good PTA and concerned parents which is a plus . Remember this is a state school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2010

A good public school is not "free". Key Biscayne K-8 Community School is a good school because of the partnership we have with school and community. Is it perfect, no, please someone share with us a perfect school. Take your criticism to the polls and vote for Florida politicians that will fight to increase the Miami-Dade Public School's budget. Get involved, make a difference. Rating schools like this is petty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2010

As a parent of 2 at KBCS,PTA member,and volunteer at the school,I can say that the school has some AMAZING people working there,and some others that fall VERY short of average -at best.The principal is a cheerleader who is very supportive of her staff.She cares about the students and tries to help them where they need it.She could use to weed out the teachers that "phone it in",the ones that clearly don't want to be there.I've been volunteering in a classroom and watched the teacher on her cell phone for one call after another, for the 4 hours I've been there, doing the work that she complains she doesn't have time to do. Principal also caters too much to parents who think its a private school. That school would NOT RUN, were it not for the PTA. This site only allows 150 words,but I have plenty more to say...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2010

It's really awful. My kids have gone to private school and public school elsewhere in the state. This is by far the worst school they've attended. Disorganized, DISORGANIZED, and did I mention disorganized? Horrible specials teachers (music teacher is verbally abusive to the children and the administration does nothing). The curriculum is weak - but that is the fault of the Miami-Dade county school system, not this particular school. There is virtually no supervision in the lunch room - no teachers at all and only 2 lone cafeteria workers there. It is very remniscent of Lord of the Flies. The children are given way too much independence at too young an age at this school - and the teacher/parent communication in grades above kindergarten is nothing short of negligent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Both our girls attend KB K-8 and are getting a superb education. Teachers are well prepared, have been teaching a long time, are caring and always available. The assignments are meaningful. And we couldn't ask for more when our kids want to attend school in the morning. Parents are very supportive too. Administration is excellent as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Excellent education, great teachers, parents that care, all in one of the most beautiful places in the world, the island paradise of Key Biscayne.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

My kids attend KB K-8 Center and we have a great experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2010

i went to this school from a young age until i completed 8th grade and the environment was very close knit. Great school, Great teachers, so all around Good school for anybody


Posted July 30, 2009

I went to this school from the age of 5/6 to 14 years old. it was a great school that taught me all lot and helped me concentrate and focus than any other school. It gave an opportunity to meet people from different areas of race, stature, and creed. It was a place where everybody knew everybody at times from a first name basis. what a great school and it was a great privilege to learn from this wonderful place


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

162 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

163 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

194 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

194 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

190 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

171 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

171 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

171 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

146 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

146 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

158 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
100%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

148 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

138 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 77%
White 20%
Asian 1%
Black 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 56%58%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

150 West McIntyre Street
Key Biscayne, FL 33149
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 361-5418

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Agnes Academy
Key Biscayne, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT