Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Key Largo School

Public | PK-8 | 890 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 20, 2013

I am Hispanic and I had not seen any discrimination. I have not been long in the school. I will give it until the end of this year before moving my son to another school. I HATE the insecurity of the place. Any one can walk in and out with no one questioning. I had done it many times. On December 21, 2012 I when inside school so see an event. When the even was over I took my son out of school early. I pass couple teaches and a policewoman. I had no pass from the office. No one stop me to ask who I was and why I was taking a small boy out school. It is not safe. The keys are a very friendly and save environment but you can not fall sleep with safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2012

My kids are off to a great start! Wonderful Staff! Wonderful Principal and Assistant Principals. They all care. So proud to be a part of it all! If you are having problems talk to them; you'll see...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2012

It is painful when things change but such is the case when the new principal took over 3 years ago. Obviously a huge decline. First graders told to use calculators as oppossed to teaching them math. Honor roll for B average? Awards to EVERYONE to the point of being meaningless. Teachers too busy on their laptops to teach, obviously riding it until retirement. Administration ambivalent to any issue more important than the tater tots for lunch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

I love Key Largo School! I went there when I was younger and now my son is in kindergarten there this year. He loves it. The staff is all great. They put the kids first. I also love seeing the same faces still teaching after all these years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2010

This school is great! I just wanted to know if any parents knows what style dance they teach in their dance department, thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

Our family moved to the Keys due to difficulties. I appreciated the confidentiality provided by children concerning the situation. Not a word was said, the staff just welcomed them with open arms and began working what I can only describe as magic. My children are active in the many school activities and love all the focus on environmental studies, This school literally had a vocabulary parade with the entire school dressing as a word. It was amazing and a great way to promote reading. Living in the Keys is Paradise due to Key Largo School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2010

We moved to the upper keys 3 years ago from Miami and I feel like we moved to another planet. My youngest son is in kindergarten (Ms. Pam's class) and attends this great school. The whole school staff is wonderful and friendly. Ms. Pam is the sweetest teacher I have ever met. I don't think there's another school that has as many activities as this school has. I have a 17 year old, so I've been through elementary and middle school before and I honestly have to say that this school should be nominated the best school of the Nation. GREAT SCHOOL!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2010

This school is the best one you can get! All the teachers really care and are willing to take time to help with work we are having trouble with! the only thing I dislike is the lack of sports there is only Track,Basketball, and Volleyball any other sport with be the team for key largo- But all in all I love this school and so does everyone else that goes to it !
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2010

It is refreshing to meet and my child work with a group of professionals always willing to go the extra mile. Creative people! My child loves his school. He is proud to be a Key Largo School Tornado
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

It has the best teachers, and the school is like a family. I call it the happy school. The principal and rest of the staff are always available for you and your child. They really do care.This school wants every child to have the best education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2009

What makes Key Largo school such a great school is the Principal/s and teachers. They are all visable, proactive, concerned and involved. The new school is beautiful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

My son went to this school for K-2. We left because we relocated but we think very highly of it. And now that the school is getting a new building, which it badly needed, it will definitely be better. The principal is fantastic and we were lucky to have Ms Pam, Ms Ingegno and Ms Bernal for K- 2. My son loved the school and the we really appreciated the way the teachers handled our situation during after a family tragedy. There is definitely a lot of emphasis on the FCAT but children who excel are also catered to. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2007

This is a wonderful school. Most of the teachers are excellent and concerned. The teachers my children have had were quick to identify problems &quick to identify the need for evaluation for advanced classes. The principals are student oriented, they are visible to the students and parents, doing bus duty, etc and are easy to contact and meet with. The school has many programs, DARE, character education. There is always room for improvement and I believe that is recognized all the way up the 'chain of command' to the Superintendent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2006

This school has very high standards and keeps parents informed of almost all up coming events. KLS is a wonderful school with well experienced teachers. Any child or parent would defitinly love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2006

Awesome school! The teachers and the staff were always supportive of my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2005

Wonderful school. The teacher are highly trained and experienced. The school has a family like atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2005

I have a handicapped child in Key Largo School and I am very disappointed with the quality of his education. There is very little available to him and the ESE department is not responsive to parents concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2003

this school is an excellent school. my daughter went to this and was very happy with the teachers and principals. i think any child would love it here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

95 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 47%
Hispanic 46%
Black 4%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 182%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 24%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 51%55%61%
Master's degree 46%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. JULIA HOAR
Fax number
  • (305) 453-1248

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

104801 Overseas Highway
Key Largo, FL 33037
Phone: (305) 453-1255

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT