Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

77 students|Monroe
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Key West Collegiate School 4

Posted June 05, 2016
- a parent
This is my son's first year at this school and we are both thankful that this option for high school is available for him. The smaller school setting, engaged instructors and general family-like atmosphere will ensure his success. Thank you.

Key West Collegiate School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 05, 2016
- a parent
I thank all of the teachers for their patience and perseverence, and most especially Ms. Moody who seems to understand my son's unique character.


Key West Collegiate School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted June 05, 2016
- a parent
In all the times I have been in the presence of students and teachers, I have always felt a sense of comraderie and peace.

Key West Collegiate School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
The principal, Cory Oliver, is trying to do something different here, he's trying to create a school where academic rigor is fostered in a safe environment and he's trying to do it in a way that realistically prepares his students for their college career. That sounds like a no-brainer, but I doubt you'll find this environment at the other local high school. He has no tolerance for drugs, bullying, or any sort of violence, which I appreciate. He has three main teachers working at the school, Mr. Rompella (Sciences), Ms. Moody (Math), and Mr. Louis (Social Sciences) who cross disciplines while managing a growing student body and engaging students in activities. They manage these tasks with grace and are highly dedicated to their students. All three teachers offer extensive after school and weekend tutoring/study sessions and work selflessly in the interest of preparing students for college life. The only thing missing at this point is a dedicated English teacher, Mr. Oliver has had to take over these duties so he's effectively performing two jobs at once. Is it your typical high school? Definitely not. It may sometimes seems a bit unorganized, but high school life is hectic and the challenges of building a program like this in such a small community are complex. Yes, parents are required to participate extensively, but if as a parent you don't realize you have a prominent role in your child's education you need to sharpen up your parenting skills. My son is approaching his third year at the school and at the end of this year will have earned 12 college credits. He has already earned a Microsoft Office certification thanks to Mr. Oliver's emphasis on technological literacy. Overall, I appreciate the dedication of the staff and I am glad I had the option to put my son in this program.

Key West Collegiate School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
Individual attention, teachers are dedicated and willing to work with students after school as well as on Saturdays. The school feels like one big family. Academically it is very challenging and flexible to the students interests and schedule. My son has had great opportunities with dual enrollment at the college and he is only in 9th grade. I highly recommend it!


Key West Collegiate School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
The principal is so very dedicated to this school as a principal but also as a teacher. He advocates for the school on a daily basis.

Key West Collegiate School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
My son has learned so much this year the teachers are very effective at this school.

Key West Collegiate School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
The majority of the homework given at the school is online and extensive. It is helpful to better understand the subject matter.


Key West Collegiate School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
The school offers challenging courses and a curriculum that depends on consistent persistence and determination.

Key West Collegiate School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
The school develops respect in its students through the teachers and the principle coaching respect , showing respect for one another and to the students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Key West Collegiate School
5901 College Road, Key West, FL  33040
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (305) 296-5927
Last modified Key West Collegiate School is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top