Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
1-7
Public charter
Key West, FL
Students enrolled: 119
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Key West Montessori Charter School 4

Posted December 16, 2014
- a parent
I have to say I only have one issue with this school hence the 4 stars. One of the school employees that works the carpool line is a bit dramatic and someone needs to tell her to calm down. It's like she's looking for problems and trying to create drama. She needs to realize that it is ok for a child to unbuckle in the carpool lane and it's not necessary to call the police because of that. If the child's parent is ok with the child unbuckling in the carpool lane, then stay out of it. Thanks for jumping to ridiculous conclusions and tarnishing a parent's reputation. Seriously, hope that makes you feel better about yourself.
8 people found this helpful

Key West Montessori Charter School 5

Posted November 03, 2013
- a parent
Key West Montessori School is a wonderful school and I am very proud our daughter is attending this school. In just a couple of months my wife and I have seen significant progress in our daughters learning, in all subjects. The waiting list to get in to the school, is a reflection of the excellent reputation that the Key West Montessori School has. It is a warm friendly supportive learning environment and the teachers and staff are the best!
1 person found this helpful


Key West Montessori Charter School 4

Posted October 30, 2013
- a parent
Our daughter loves her school. We love that she is challenged and able to go at her own pace in a school that promotes social and environmental awareness.
1 person found this helpful

Key West Montessori Charter School 5

Posted October 30, 2013
- a parent
Our Montessori Charter School here in Key West is wonderful! Every school has its share of challenges, and the parents and administration are constantly working together to make sure that all lines of communication stay open. Most importantly, our 4th grade son loves it! He is hoping he can continue with Montessori through high school.
1 person found this helpful

Key West Montessori Charter School 5

Posted October 29, 2013
- a parent
Great overall school which truly focuses on the child as a pertinent part of society. Children educated in a Montessori environment care more for others and the environment. This school does a good job at promoting this particular aspect of child development. It's a small school which enable children and parents to know everyone and as such it is a nurturing community in its own right. Very dedicated and caring staff contribute to my positive rating of this school. The actual grounds are currently in transition: a new building has just been acquired and an old one will be leveled soon, so it is a work in progress which should improve over the next couple of years. The school is located in the center of the island which makes it easily accessible from different neighborhoods. As a parent, I am grateful that my little boy is part of this healthy,nurturing school dedicated to turning him into a caring individual.
1 person found this helpful


Key West Montessori Charter School 5

Posted October 29, 2013
- a parent
This is our first experience with a Montessori school. I had heard so many great things about this school and am so happy we were able to get a spot for our daughter. There is a lottery system for students to enroll. It has been great for her to explore so many different things. It has also given her the opportunity to make choices for herself while becoming more independent and building self confidence. She comes home happy every day and looks forward to going back the next day. The communication from her teacher has been very good and the weekly newsletter from the principal is informative. All of the staff has been approachable and helpful. Overall an excellent introduction to this educational style. .
2 people found this helpful

Key West Montessori Charter School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a teacher
My school is great, not only for my son who is a student, but for teachers as well! We offer a Montessori program for free to students in Monroe County. Our program is unique and our students develop a love for learning while becoming independent and responsible!
1 person found this helpful

Key West Montessori Charter School 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
My son just started attending this school for his first year (first grade). We like that the children have more independence than a traditional classroom and are encouraged to learn naturally out of their curiosity rather than simply having information thrown at them with the hope that some of it sticks. The method used helps the children become well versed in subjects, not just merely acquainted.
1 person found this helpful


Key West Montessori Charter School 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
KWMCS is a great school. Wonderful warm learning environment with great teachers and principal. The children are able to learn at their own pace and the atmosphere is a very good one for learning.
1 person found this helpful

Key West Montessori Charter School 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
Key West Montessori Charter School has caring, dedicated teachers who provide a challenging environment for learning. The school inspires the students to achieve a high quality of work every day. The school now offers first through eighth grade.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Key West Montessori Charter School
1400 United Street, Key West, FL  33040
(305) 293-1400
Last modified Key West Montessori Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades 1-7. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Key West Montessori Charter School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top