Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Kissimmee, FL
Students enrolled: 1,030

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Parkway Middle School 1

Posted August 19, 2014
- a parent
I believe some, not all, of the teachers need far more training/education. One of the teachers actually recommended her class to utilize Google translate to learn Spanish. That's just pure laziness in my opinion.

Parkway Middle School 3

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
The three stars that I am giving this school are for some of the extraordinary teachers that my daughter had. She is an engaging girl and had a lot of fun and learned a lot from a number of teachers. We are, however, pulling out daughter out of this school because of the extreme rules and constant threat she felt like she was under. This came mainly from the deans and the principal. When I spoke to the principal about the punishment that was handed out her exact words were, "Well if you don't like it you can take her out of the school." In her opinion she and her staff could do no wrong. Also, they are on the IB schedule. This means they have eight classes; four one day and the other four the next. They are not allowed to use lockers and have to carry all of their books with them all day. This really sucks if you weigh 75lbs and have to carry a band instrument with all of your books for the day and your lunch. I hope for the kids sake the lunch room food improves. Last warning: Don't get caught wearing a hoodie or you will get at the very least in school suspension even if it is cold outside.


Parkway Middle School 2

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
I have a hard time believing this school is getting a rating of 4 stars. The teaching staff and their classroom curriculum are, for the most part, really good. Those that care are great at engaging the students and helping them be excited to learn. But, the overwhelming amount of pressure on the students from hours of homework and very real fear that they won't do well in the many, many tests they have to take is too much. My daughter is a great student but her grades took a big hit from all of it. We also had constant threats of suspension from the Administration for ridiculous things like wearing a hoodie (we had to cut it off her coat, so she wouldn't freeze outside between classes in the winter!) or being late for a single class. The attitude of the Principal is closed minded and she runs the school like a prison. But, if you have a genuine concern or try to contact them for any reason there is no response whatsoever. I tried calling about a doctor-excused absence every week for 2 months and couldn't get anyone to call me back. We're changing schools. This was the worst experience we've ever had at a school, and we are very involved parents with an exceptional student.

Parkway Middle School 3

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
The Teachers are fine but the office staff is usually rude and quick with parents. The cannot multitask at all or just refuse to do so.

Parkway Middle School 3

Posted December 10, 2013
- a parent
The school is ok but the "IB" program sometimes is overwhelming. They give some assessments that have no sense or reason other than to annoy the students and parents. As a teacher and a tutor you should focus in the academics and in class work and capturing the attention of the students in positive and fun way and yes inspire them to thrive in and out of school, but giving constant essays and assessments specially ones with no purpose other than making things harder is going to make the students dislike the class and school. I would review this process, this is a reason of why many teachers disagree with these standards and just follow the rules for a paycheck. Good luck.


Parkway Middle School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
This school is awesome. Teachers are excellent, work planning is easy! Homework Hotline is a life-saver. Great Campus!

Parkway Middle School 3

Posted May 03, 2013
- a community member
This is a great school, but it has a few problems. For example, the deans are very strict , which is a good thing in some parts. But some students are getting bigger punishments than they deserve. Dr. Long's dance program is amazing, and so is their culinary, art,band and chorus programs. The school isn't really a bad place, its just some students cause problems.

Parkway Middle School 5

Posted October 29, 2012
- a parent
Parkway Delivers. Every year Parkway Middle School gets better and better. school counts with extracurricular activities as no other, so many is hard to choose, all nicely organized and instructed. Second year and my kid already knows three different languages. my kid feels safe and happy in this school, and all teachers keep good interaction with students and keep daily communication with parents. school informs parents of all afternoon activities. Teachers are like coaches, they listen and care about each of the students. Lots of take home assignments and projects, but each of them interesting and fun. Not a school just to hang out, they mean serious business.


Parkway Middle School 5

Posted May 18, 2010
- a parent
I think Parkway is a great school! I am Havin so much fun there! Parkway does not have a very good reputation and thats why some people are scared of it! I think that once you get used to it you'll be fine! Parkway is a very unique school! But one thing for sure you are never bored! Cynthia

Parkway Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 30, 2010
- a parent
Because the staff works together to make every kid feels special all the time. Special kids, make special schools.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Parkway Middle School
857 Florida Parkway, Kissimmee, FL  34743
(407) 344-7000
Last modified Parkway Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Parkway Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top