Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ventura Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 954 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 2, 2014

I agree with the parent that stated during breakfast the children have to be reading... As they're waiting to go to their classes in the morning if they are caught not reading the teachers and or patrols demand that they read!! My kids reading at home has dropped tremendously due to that!! Let the kids be kids.... they have mandatory reading during school hours!!!! My 3 kids have been in that school since kindergarten, there has been different principles, assistant principals and teachers.... Wish I knew why.. I out of zoned all 3 of my kids from Boggy Creek elementary to Ventura and now I'm second guessing it after all these years! :/
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2014

I think that it is very differant now. I dont know what happening. Please make this better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2013

The main issue is there are many non English speaking children. I have 1 child I adopted. Math is mostly written problems. They should be teaching pure math (addition, subtraction, division, multiplications, etc). The children are struggling with English and being taught complex math in English, not basic math. They are falling behind in math big time because of this. I tutor my son everyday and his best subject is math, but not due to the way they teach math there. They do put the fear of FCAT into these children. My son feigned illness twice to try to avoid FCAT testing. My son has some learning issues so it is not all the fault of the school, but I wish I could do home schooling. It seems I have to teach him to keep him up to speed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2012

ok the school now has a new principal and assistant principal fine with me but what's with the new changes now kids have to be reading while they are having breakfast and lunch in the cafeteria and after dismissal? is this for real? my kids are complaining already they feel persecuted a teacher noticed my 4th grader without a book in his hands and demanded to know why.. they will only accomplish one thing with this that the students wont like to read at all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

All my children have come to this school and my little one is the last one here. All my children have done well and the staff goes above and beyond to help with the childrens needs. great staff. parents need to be more involved with helping there children aswell as the school. teaching begins in the home. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK VENTURA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

My twin daughters have just started their first year of Kindergarden at Ventura.The Title 1 parent center is great.Vicki and Kelly who work in the parent center are very resourceful and always have an anwser to an question. Today I actually attended a Parent workshop which too was very resourceful pertaining to Getting Involved In Your Child's Education.Mrs.Zieglar my childrens teacher does an outstanding job with the children she teaches,and she is always in the parenting center seeking resources as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

Ventura is a great school. I appreciate Mrs. Franceschi's professionalism. Dr. Karlskin is also very helpful and professional. On a side note I'd like to say that the Parent Center is very valuable. Mrs. Woelk is very knowledgable about the items available for checkout and tries to help us find material based on my child's needs. The center has helped all three of my children excel in Math and Reading. Their grades improved after using material from the center. They have educational toys and hands on material that you can't find in stores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2008

I truly believe this is an excellent school with wonderful teachers. My son just got promoted to a second grade with Honors and he love the school. Ms Lemle (Kindergarden) & Mrs Tosi (First Grade) made an amazing job on these kids and I know is not an easy job. But they did it. My Best for them! I am looking forward for 2008-09. Happy Summer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2007

Ventura is a nice school. I would recommend this school to other parents. My children have excelled since entering Ventura. One specific thing I would like to mention is the Parent Resource Center. What an excellent idea! There is a classroom FULL of educational, fun materials for FREE check-out! All of the latest games and technology you'll find in most stores. This has made such a difference for my children. We now have family night once a week where we use something we've checked out from the Parent Center. I am also happy with the Administrative team at Ventura. We are lucky to have such a caring, supportive group of individuals at Ventura. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

Overall Ventura is a decent school. However, I do believe they are too concerned with the FCAT and not other areas that need to be learned. I believe that if they had better communication with parents and suitable times for their programs they would have more parent involvement. Also the teachers could do better at communicating with us parents about concerns and achievements of our children throughout the year and not just at report card time. As far as academic programs their availability of classes needs to be known. There is nothing stating the availability of classes or who is eligible for what. As it is easy for a child to miss out and get lost in the shuffle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2007

My third grade son had a very positive experience at Ventura during his first year here in Florida. When he started school in Aug. 2006 he struggled with reading. With extra help, centers, small group in class and me helping at home, my son was able to pass the FCAT on grade level. I believe parents should be involved in their children's education. I was able to go to the PTA meetings, only to see 2 or 3 parents in the meetings, this is very sad. The administration, teachers and staff are very dedicated to the students. The students are involved in dance, Stomp group, Art, etc. I am very happy to be part of the Ventura family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2007

I have had 3 children enrolled in this school for 2 yrs now. I do not recommend this school to anyone who cares about quality education or their child's safety. The principle is very dismissive and bullying is a real big issue at this school. Also, the focus is on cat scoring while critical thinking skills as well as basic math and reading concepts are left to the wayside. My children had transferred from a public school system from a neighboring state; and they were on honor role. Here, they have been threatened by repeating a grade. Never have i been so disgusted! I volunteered and was involved yet the front staff never recognized me...How's that for 'personal touch'? I give the school f-.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2007

I think this is an excellent school with wonderful teachers, principal and asst. principal. I believe your child will get what they and the parent give out of the school. I am on both the PTO and SAC committee and stay very involved with my children's teachers. They are always willing to go above and beyond to help. I think the school has greatly improved since Mrs. Francheschi took over! And I really appreciate Dr. Karlskin and Mr. Bundy! They have truly made my children's educational experience enjoyable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2006

I have 2 kids currently attending VES. I am highly upset that all they care about is the FCAT. I'm not interested in extracurricular activities because of how much disgusting behavior happens in class, and nothing is done about it, or it is overlooked.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

I believe this school is more about the fcat's then actually teaching the children, this school went from a C to an A and back to a C in 1 yr. makes parents wonder the quality of education our children are getting
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

This will be the second year my son, Spencer, has attended Ventura. He is in the fourth grade. I feel that this school has brought out the best in Spencer. He has always had problems but Ventura really does take extra time and care to help Spencer. Last year because of the extra early morning tutoring program he made excellent grades on his FCAT. Spencer was so very proud of himself. Thank you Ventura. I am looking forward to the 2005-2006 school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2005

I think my dughter learned at the level that she need it to. Thank you Miss Zigler And Mrs D.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2005

I love the pre-k program at Ventura, my daughter has thrived along with the other kids in her class. I have volunteered quite a few times and the children are always happy to learn. Mrs. Suarez, their teacher is wonderful, a very nuturing and loving teacher. Mrs. Rodriguez, the teacher's assistant is a treasure as well. You won't go wrong with the Pre-k program at Ventura Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2005

Parent involvement is pretty good, music, art, etc. those activities are fine. However the front office staff is TERRIBLE, RUDE, AND NOT PUBLIC FRIENDLY AT ALL. The head Principle is not accessible when I as a parent wanted to speak with him regarding the safety of my child in his school. Some of the teaching staff also was very dismissive when I tried to address the fact that my child was being bullied at this school. The sherriff's officer assigned to the school was the only person who tried to help. Now she is at another school...So I really don't want my child at this school next yr nor do I want to register my 5yr old to the next school year. Other parents have experience the same treatment from the staff at this school. Mrs. Cruz
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2005

great school, should have more parent school interaction.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
43%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

153 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
41%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
32%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

156 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 82%
Black 8%
White 6%
Two or more races 3%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 59%60%61%
Master's degree 41%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. SCOTT CLARK
Fax number
  • (407) 344-5046

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

275 Waters Edge Drive
Kissimmee, FL 34743
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 344-5040

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


North Lake Academy
Kissimmee, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT