Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Manatee Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1078 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 22, 2008

I am a parent who is very pleased with the new principal. I have had nothing but positive experiences with Ms. Churchill-Jones. She is easy to talk to and always makes time to hear what the parents have to say. I know for a fact that some of the things parents are saying are NOT true. They do not have their facts straight. The rumormill is crazy right now and causing mass hysteria which is not necessary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2008

I have worked at Manatee through the last three principals and never once have felt 'threatend' nor 'intimidated' by any staff or administration. Yes, we have a new administration and for only being 3 months into a school year I believe they are doing a great job. We are all adjusting to the new staff but I have yet to have a negative thought about any staff or administration who works here. This is a great school, with great teachers, and an administration who I believe will keep our school just as great as it has been the past few years.


Posted November 21, 2008

On behalf of teachers at Manatee, we would like to say that under the new administration teachers are encouraged to teach in line with the latest research and are given the professtional development that has been missing for so long at Manatee. We are disappointed that our parents cannot support this administration as we have. In the past, teachers have not been allowed to exercise creativity and the students have suffered because of it. Please support your children by supporting the school and it's administration as it moves in the direction that will take Manatee to the next level.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 22, 2008

Watch what you wish for! I was not thrilled with the old administration. But after experiencing the current mess, I wish they could come back. The new principal is trying to fix things that weren't broken and things like the fine arts continue to be in adequate. I'm pulling my kids out next year and came on the sight to compare my options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2008

For the first time since Mantee opened, I fear for the teachers and students. The new principal has no idea what she is doing and it is a shame to see such a great school go down the drain.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

I attended Manatee Elementary School from grades K - 5. I graduated in 2006. I think that the school can really achieve a higher level of excellence with the new Principal (Mary Churchill-Jones).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

I am back with an update review. I am pleased to say that we now have a new principal, Mary Churchill-Jones! Already since she has arrived my opinion about Manatee has improved immensely! I was not happy with the previous principal. The assistant principal, Pat Mangiafico, did all the work anyway! I feel the new (and remaining old) staff @ Manatee will bring new and improved change
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2006

This is a wonderful school. I have two daughters 1st & 3rd grades. This was our first year here and I love it. The teachers and staff are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2006

Very good academic program. A school for several years. Several classes at each grade level. Available of aftercare SACC program with many activities in place. Parent involvement is high which accounts for A rating partially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2005

My son graduated, with honors, from Manatee Elementary School this past May 2005....He attended this school for 2 years and was very scared to 'change' schools having been in private from K thru 3rd grades....My family's experiences with this school have always been incredible....The teacher's, principal and entire staff are very caring, compassionate, and 'devoted' to making sure that our children get the very best education possible....Mrs. Weissleder was his teacher this past year who co-taught with Miss Harap....These 2 teacher's truly made my son's 5th grade year 'awesome' (in his words) and helped him to become a better student and person....I would recommend that if you are given a choice of where your children can attend Manatee is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

Excellent school. Teachers and administration are awesome. They offer a great curriculum
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2004

I think that Manatee Elementary is a great school. It has been a consistent 'A' rated school and the teachers I have had experiences with are outstanding. I have had children in kindergarten, first, second, and third grades and I would highly recommend it to anyone new to the area. My son was in third grade this past year and was very well prepared for the FCATS and to continue on in 4th grade as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2004

I sent my two children to Manatee and they absolutely loved it. The teachers were great and they scored very high test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

178 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

178 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

167 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

198 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

198 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

198 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

186 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 62%
Hispanic 20%
Black 10%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 27%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 79%73%61%
Master's degree 21%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • 5 Star (2007)
  • Golden School Award (2007)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. MARY CHURCHILL-JONES
Fax number
  • (561) 357-1850

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7001 Charleston Shores Boulevard
Lake Worth, FL 33467
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 357-1800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ben Gamla-Palm Beach
Boynton Beach, FL



Ben Gamla-Palm Beach
Boynton Beach, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT