Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Park Vista Community High School

Public | 9-12 | 2932 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 30, 2013

So focused on the students and their quality of education! Tries so diligently to keep students and parents informed and involved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2013

I transferred here from the IB program in Atlantic High School and compared to Atlantic this school is HORRIBLE. this school has little options (such as classes and electives) for students like me. They also transferred me to regular classes so I went from IB to regular. This school is way way WAY too crowded for me. The students are THE most disrespectful kids I have ever met in my life. The guidance counselors offer no guidance like they are supposed to. If I can give this school 0 stars, I would.


Posted November 15, 2012

We just moved to FL from out of state and chose a home based on the proximity to "good" schools. I'm afraid we have yet to be impressed with Park Vista. They decided to let all 3000 students share the same lunch period this year, which means there's no place for students to sit and eat, except on the ground with the ants. My calls to the school concerning this and another issue were never returned. My child is in an Honors Language Arts class where the teacher talks about assorted topics which may or may not have to do with what they are supposed to be learning. Dress code is not enforced. The athletics programs are good, which is the only positive my child talks about. Apparently the bar is set pretty low in FL for educating our children. Don't our children deserve better? I'm hoping to have a better impression of the school by the end of the year. If not, we will likely be moving our child to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2012

your school has attained national recognition because of the two little unapologetic upper class appearing cretins ... uh, i mean darling little sweethearts that stole money from the little girl scout who was selling cookies. bad enough that they did it, but posting a video and mugging for a photographer where they basically brag about it and were upset that they ''didn't even get to keep the money''. we're not talking about underprivledged kids from low income homes here either. ''we saw that money and it was ours''. they needed it to put gas in her car or buy a new cellphone? sounds horrible enoght, but after they were taken out of school by the police THEY WENT TO THE PLACE THE 9 YEAR OLD WAS AND STOOD TEN FEET AWAY AND TAUNTED HER WHILE THEY SWIGGED THEIR STARBUCKS... i hope the judge see the video and throws the book at them and this gets put on their school transcript so the college they apply to can see what they're accepting with these two little darlings. i wouldn't be surprised to see this happen in watts, or east LA or harlem, but i guess palm beach is raising it's own brand of arrogant little suburban trash. how'd ya like for your son to take her to the prom...


Posted May 23, 2012

My daughter is a sophmore in this school and I had high hopes after a mediocre education at Manatee Elementary and Christa McAuliffe Middle School. Unfortunately, the school is a huge disappointment and my daughter hates it. The school is way too crowded since they accept everyone who applies. Drop off in the mornings and pick up in the afternoons is a nightmare. The teachers are horrendous, many of them absent a ridiculous amount of time and sharing highly inappropriate personal information with their students and often show movies in class having nothing to do with the subject matter. Students are disruptive in class and most teachers have no idea or no interest in taking control of their classrooms. If I had another child entering any of the schools that my daughter has attended so far, I would put that child in a private school at any cost.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

Agree with the last parent. School is run like a prison. There is no respect for students. Some of the rules are ridiculous. My child is an "A" student with good conduct and is miserable. The administrators don't care and good luck getting to speak with the principal. The assistant principals will tell you they don't make the rules. The receptionist at the front desk is awful. We will be taking our child out next year even if she has to be home schooled. She has been in public school/ gifted programs her entire time at school and been very happy and successful. This school is horrible. If you are a parent and child who care about grades and education then this is not the school for you. There are a few great teachers but overall we are not impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2011

Too crowded, not enough help for students who struggle, they want kids who don't achieve high scores to enroll in other programs such as Life Skills Center which is a "school" that kids go to for half a day and work the other half. However, they are wanded like at the airport before they enter this institution. Most teachers are not respectful to the students as human beings. I am not impressed. The receptionist at the front desk is verbally abusive to the student aids that help her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2011

I'm going to be coming to this school this coming school year...hopefully, everything works well for me! Based on the reviews I've read so far, it seems like this is a really good high school


Posted June 9, 2011

I was sickened to see thousands of dollars in the 2011 Pathfinder Scholarships flushed down the toilet. Politics, as usual, weighed heavily in the selection process for Park Vista candidates. It is just a sad statement as to how things operate at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2011

I have to say... Park vista is actually a pretty good school. Although, I would prefer more academy options. [Most] of the teachers here are great, especially huljack:D She knows how to make class interesting while you're still learning at the same time. - Freshman of '10/'11
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2011

This school is terrible. Administration and most of the teachers are bad examples for our children. It is more like a prison out of control than a warm learning environment. The administration is more worried about controlling the students versus give them a positive learning experience. The administration focuses on discipline and does not even do that well. I believe this is the principal's fault. Leadership starts at the top.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2011

Quite dissapointed with this school. The academics and teachers are great. But it is not the enviorment I wanna be in. Many bullies in the school. Mostly ones who judge other students by what the amount of money the family has, and the clothes they were. Its very sad. I thought it would all be a friendly, lovable school. It is not.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2010

I thought this was a great school. Until my sever autistic son was suspended for a day - for taking a cookie from a teacher! This is the type of compassion they have for their ESE students. My son doesn't talk - can't defend himself - can't even apologize for lack of speech...but none of it mattered. This school has disappointed me and I warn other parents!! Shame on Ms. de Santi - the assistant principle who was willing to do this to a kid who still wears a diaper for god's sake!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

My oldest daughter was a 2009 graduate from Park Vista and I can tell you that it is a very good school. The teachers, facility and administration are all good. They also have an on campus police officer and the Boynton Beach Police Dept is also right there. I have another daughter who will start their in the 2011 school year and I know that her experience will be just as good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2009

I'm an honors and AP student here at Park Vista, class of 2010, and all I can say is that my experience here has been nothing but positive. The school excels in every area, from academics to the arts and athletics, and for those parents looking for a high school that takes care of its top achievers, this school would be it. We have the highest percentages in the county besides the arts high school for graduation (on time) as well as the highest rate of kids going on to college, quite a few being first generation. Needless to say: Park Vista Rules! Go Cobras!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2009

I'm a Senior of the Class of 08!!, & i just can say that PV is the best HS in the County !! For real, i just went to PV my last year of HS but i can say for sure, that i would love to stay there so much than a year... i learnt too much and the teachers are such amazing!! i love PV for Real <3 !!... go Cobras for eva !! Great Spirit !! -Zay O8-
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

Park Vista has been a wonderful experience for my daughter.And I know that when she leaves next spring she will miss all of the caring staff and student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

Excellent school- teachers are great- and experienced-


Posted May 19, 2009

Park Vista is a great school all around with minimum problems with students. It is definitely contusive to learning and offers allot of support for kids and parents alike. My son graduated PV this year and my daughter is in 10th I would not ever move them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2009

This school is the BEST school ive ever attended in my life. I LOVVEE The teachers and i LOOVEEE the block schedual. The art teacher there is the Best ARt teacher ive ever had and so is the biology teacher. This school is very great it even has an IT Academy and one of there programs are Gaming. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS SCHOOL. and the people who work in the school are great as well, no hassel or anything. The school also is VERY clean and beautiful. Hopefully it stays that way. And as far as problems with students, i havent had much.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

748 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

679 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

688 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

759 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

450 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
41%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

688 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

519 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 60%
Hispanic 21%
Black 12%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 9%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 90%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 68%73%61%
Master's degree 30%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. REGINALD MYERS
Fax number
  • (561) 493-6854

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7900 Jog Road
Lake Worth, FL 33467
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 491-8400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Royal Palm School
Lantana, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT