Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

726 students|Polk
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Valleyview Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted January 19, 2016
- a community member
The school cannot develop respect for others when the staff shows so little themselves (especially those in the front office).

Valleyview Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted January 19, 2016
- a community member
This school does not show compassion. If the adults practiced empathy towards others then the students might too.


Valleyview Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted January 19, 2016
- a community member
Children have bullied my child and the teachers try to smooth it over by looking the other way. How is that supposed to develop honesty, integrity, or fairness?

Valleyview Elementary School 1

Posted January 19, 2016
- a community member
My son has doctors and therapists that recommend certain things for my son and the school refuses to try it because it is a "recommendation". This school puts off IEP meetings and has no interest in any child other than the overachiever. Terrible school.

Valleyview Elementary School 1

Posted January 16, 2013
- a parent
We have been at this school for my child's 2nd 3rd 4th grade years. I also find the staff unfriendly and uncooperative. Teachers and office staff. They are only worried about FCAT scores.NOT the overall well being of the child or if they are struggling and or retaining information and need help . Calls are not returned promptly. Complete lack of compassion for each child's individual needs. You must fit into a perfect square box here. I can not get out of this school fast enough. I have talked to several other moms with the same experience as my self and mentioned below. This school is NOT what it portrays to be AT ALL!


Valleyview Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2012
- a parent
I need to know about what I can do for my son's school photographs, thanks for your time.

Valleyview Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2012
- a parent
With my kids coming from a private school setting, I was very concerned about them going to ANY public school. But, I have been very happy and pleased with Valleyview. Everyone there is very helpful. Having children with learning struggles, the administration, the staff and the teachers took a first-hand approach to helping my children succeed. More so than the magnet school did or the private school did. When I have requested meetings, they have been scheduled timely and I've always been invited to attend the follow-ups. Their focus on FCAT is not the school's fault but the fault of the Florida DOE and No Child Left Behind Act. They do everything within their power to ensure that their students get a good education and are well-rounded with Art, Music, Science, PE and extra-curriculars like chorus. I think the school is wonderful and have been very pleased with my experience.

Valleyview Elementary School 3

Posted April 19, 2011
- a parent
My first impression was that I found the office staff and prinicipal rather cold and uncooperative, I chalked it up to them just having a bad day but a yr later unfortunately the first impression stands. Teacher parent communication is discouraged to the point of being dismissive, the main concern is only FCAT scores not the overall learning experience, Arts are ignored and barely any extracurricular activities. Dissapointing experience.


Valleyview Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 06, 2009
- a parent
My initial response to this school was that it puts way too much pressure on parents and students for FCAT (just to keep their A status). I was not impressed by my child's teacher at first but after several meeting with her she has shown she does want what is best for my child, as for the school itself I still feel they are not as friendly as they appear to be, and academics is their only concern. The child in whole should be their priority not their standings! The 'Arts' is not considered and that is very sad to see. I would not recommend this school.

Valleyview Elementary School 5

Posted July 09, 2008
- a parent
In the aftermath of Katrina we came to Lakeland more than halfway through the school year. We were worried that our son would not adjust well to a new school as he was having some post traumatic stress and seperation issues. It was a tough time for him. When we registered him at Vallyview we let the staff and principal know what was going on. They were amazing ! They took him around and told him about the school and asked him questions. They didn't pity him or let on what they knew. On his first day of school they were ready when we arrived. We called ahead to let them know he was already in tears. They took it from there. He had a great day and made friends quickly. It was all uphill from there. We are eternally grateful and highly recommend this school.

Nearby schools

Valleyview Elementary School
2900 County Road 540A, Lakeland, FL  33813
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (863) 648-3535
Last modified Valleyview Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top