Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lakeland Montessori School House

Charter | PK-5 | 77 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 1, 2013

This school has been wonderful for my child. Our child is learning numerous life skills in addition to academic skills. The focus at LMS is learning and experience not test teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

This school is amazing. If you want your child to receive a quality education where they aren't drilled for the FCAT... send them here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

Great place for a child to learn at their own pace- and they don't stress the kids out about FCAT
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

Great value-especially in Polk County. Wonderful teachers, great staff, awesome facilities. Best to get in at age 3
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2012

I love the Montessori method, and have been thrilled with the education and environment at LMS. The children truly learn, and are excited while doing so. Every child is valued and nurtured. The teachers and staff are amazing. The families who are part of the school community are widely diverse, and yet a close knit community exists, with families welcome. There is not one thing I can say that is negative about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

I am absolutely thrilled with LMS. My children have made so much progress here that they weren't able to make at our neighborhood school because of having to wait for everyone to be at the same level. The teachers are amazing at meeting each child where they are at and helping them move forward from that point!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2008

I really appreciate the education my child gets at LMS. It is disconcerting at first to have a report card with no grades and a learning system that lets your child accelerate at the pace best for them not on a FCAT based agenda. They cover FCAT and way more! Montessori teaching methods were hard for me to grasp at first and they seem a bit mysterious. So my one wish would be that I had learned more about them from the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2007

Everything I can think of about LMS is positive! It's a small school which supports each child's individuality. I am delighted that Lakeland offers such a progressive school in its community! The children who attend this school are extremely lucky because they are offered the chance to learn in an environment that supports their strengths. Congratulations to Lakelanad Montessori Schoolhouse for not only raising the bar for educational standards, but turning the bar to guide students to reach their potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2006

Lakeland Montessori Schoolhouse is a school that 'thinks outside the box'. It obviously uses the Montessori philosophy education in which the child is an active participant in learning. The teachers are immensely qualified- having their college degrees plus their Montessori certification. The school is small- all staff members know all the children. It's extremely safe and supportive. They even support healthy eating! I encourage anyone who is interested in the school to check out the website: www.lakelandmontessori.com You will get so much more information on the website, but you can also visit the school and see for yourself. I made an appointment the year before my daughter started, and I was amazed by what I saw. The children were so focused on what they were doing in the classroom- it was a peaceful kind of energy. It's really something you have to see for yourself. This school is one of a kind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2006

LMS is an amazing venue for alternative, quality education in Polk County. I have two children there now--one in 5th grade, and one in PK4, and I honestly cannot think of a single issue that the school has not addressed quickly and efficiently. The director is well-versed in the Montessori method and the teachers are balanced, kind, and accomodating to their students' differences. <p>I know that this site does not recognize the FCAT scores because of the size of the school, I can tell you that without 'teaching the test' my son increased one full 'level' in math and reading in the 9 months he was at LMS. I do not think that LMS has even had a student 'fail' the test according to the state guidelines. All this without having force-fed the students arbitrary standards and boring them with monotonous worksheets. </p> <p>My kids and I LOVE LMS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2006

I think the Montessori educational value is amazing, however, this being a new school has quite a few issues to work out in order to run smoothly. I would not recommend this school to other families based on the difficulty in getting issues resolved. The parent involvement is great except that the parents tend to worry more with their own personal agendas rather than the education and overall school experience their children are receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
100%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

10 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

10 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

10 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

This school did not receive a grade in 2011-2012.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 70%
Hispanic 17%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 58%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/AN/A
Female 42%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 86%66%61%
Master's degree 14%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
School Leader's name
  • MS. HEATHER MANROW
Fax number
  • (863) 709-9707

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1124 North Lake Parker Avenue
Lakeland, FL 33805
Website: Click here
Phone: (863) 413-0003

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT