Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lecanto Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 742 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

I agree with the review posted by the current sixth grade student for the 2013-2014 school year...this is not a good school anymore.The students and even some of the teachers act (and are) trashy!Administration does nothing at all to address bullying by students. Teachers even curse,bully students and encourage students to gang up on kids they(the teachers) don't like! With adults that act like this and other adults who cover up or look the other way it is no wonder the kids act this way.I feelso sorry for this sixth grade student!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2014

Lecanto Middle School I am currently a sixth grade student at the middle school. The school's overall rating is average, and problems do exist. The principal has so far done a great job maintaining what she can in the school. The students talk about inappropriate things that people who are 15-16 shouldn't even know. Some students have spread extremely false rumors about other students, and some students have been seen fighting each other. I've been picked on by students who have and still are my classmates. I must give a warning to kids that want to have girlfriends or boyfriends.(They call them that, but they're really not.) DON'T DO IT! There's so much drama it some of my experiences, you or your student or child will be freaking out! I give the school this rating because the faculty is trying to adjust to new systems and other things, the students are mostly inappropriate, and is partially in need of a rendition. Sent by a student


Posted August 12, 2012

One of the friendliest schools in the district, LMS prides itself in being a family oriented school. Teachers and staff care deeply for the students and their co-workers. Administration provides teachers with the support needed to fulfill their goals. Experienced teachers guide younger teachers as members of a viable team. Together with parents LMS faculty and staff have once again earned an A for their efforts.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2010

i give this school this rating because its a nice school and they keep it nice and clean and they do alot of sports and activties and more soo by now i think this school should have a rateing at 10 by now!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2009

I am a student at Lecanto Middle School. I am about to move on to my second year there and I already think its a horrible school. Yes, the staff is good. But, they don't do whole a lot about the drama and the fights there. They just allow them to slip by and not get in trouble. My teachers (only 4) are great!! As to my other 3 teachers, they give out WAY to much homework. It's the last week of school and I have like...tons of homework. I wish this school would be WAY better than I thought it was going to be.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 22, 2008

Lecanto Midle School is bursting at the seams with a wonderful staff, an amazing learning atmosphere, and idealistic after-school activities. Teachers assist students in every way they can. Faculty is friendly and helpful. Janitors walik the halls continuously to assure themselves the school is clean. The librarians always suggest new books to the students. The principals are kind and generoulsy spend much of their time with students, helping them and handing out positive referals. Overall, from the front-desk people to the lunch-ladies, students are surrounded in a haven of learning (not excluding fun). This is why I award LMS, home of the panthers, 5 stars. Even as students bid farewell, this school never stops giving.


Posted October 24, 2007

It is so awesome .I love after school animal care because we get to learn how to take care of cows. My favorite teacher is my P.E. teacher Mr.Clark
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 28, 2007

We are new to Florida this year. Some students have attitudes with my daughter. She has met many nice kids as well. My daughters teachers (but one) are AMAZING. They email daily the work they covered, HW, lesson plans, and let you know if you child's behavior is slipping. As a school administrator in another county......I find Lecanto to be top notch with regard to the Principal, academic programs, and the dedication and enthusiasm of most teachers. Administration was more than willing to help when I needed it. Great Job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

Lecanto Middle has one of the best music programs in the state, both band and chorus win awards each year at state competition. The 7th grade girls chorus qualified for Carnegie Hall and will sing there as 8th graders this spring.The 21st Century Community Learning Center at LMS is funded by a grant and provides extracurriular classes for all students with afternoon transportation included.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 18, 2006

This school has many opportunities for your child to be involved. The parent must take action with the school at the beginning of the year in order for your child to participate in many of the activities and/or opportunities such as learning office skills or volunteering for sports assistance. Sports and cheerleading opportunities are on tryout basis only and are limited to a certain number of students. Academia needs to focus less on FCAT scores and more on educational development for high school. The library is in dire need of a higher quantity of quality grade level books. Overall the school would be graded at a level C.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2006

I think that Lecanto Middle School gives a great deal of attention to helping students in there struggle of taking the FCAT.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 7, 2005

This school is a total disappointment. The teachers are lazy , and the administration seems to have no clue as to the total disarray that the school and academic programs are in!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2005

Lecanto Panthers rock! I love my teachers! There so great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2005

I have been a teacher at Lecanto Middle for 22 years. I love this school and the students we have the priviledge to serve. We have a cohesive faculty, administration and staff. We all strive for the best education for our students. The arts, PE and vocational classes are seen as unique methods to reach the strengths of our students. The learning in these classes trandsends to the Math, Language Arts, Sciences and Geography classes. We encourage parents to meet with their student's teachers in order to understand the roles we all play in the education of their child. We have been an 'A' school for several years and are pleased with the success of our students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 11, 2004

This school doesnt keep very good contact with parents. Test scores overall in the school are rated as 'A' though and the academics are pretty good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2003

Lecanto Middle School has been a nurturing haven that my child has flourished in. I believe that any child can do anything, go anywhere in life, without tetters or bonds if motivated and encouraged...Lecanto Middle School has provided that atmosphere for my child. I look forward her graduation at the end of this school year and moving ahead to complete her Lecanto School Complex experience with honors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2003

This is a great school. My son is in 8th grade and this is his second year here. the teachers are there for the student and will help the student as much as it takes to get him/her on track. They are a very disciplined and strict school but they have great students because of that.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

246 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

247 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

214 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

213 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

264 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

264 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

261 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

256 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

239 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
88%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 83%
Hispanic 8%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 3%
Black 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%58%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3800 West Educational Path
Lecanto, FL 34461
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 746-2050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Crest School
Lecanto, FL




Crystal River Middle School
Crystal River, FL


West Coast Christian School
Crystal River, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT