Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public district
Madison, FL
Students enrolled: 1,166
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

This is a great school that is on the rise. It is a PreK through 8th Grade school that serves the educational needs of many.
October 02, 2012

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Madison County Central School 2

Posted April 13, 2015
- a parent
When we first moved to this community, I had high hopes that my kids would receive the help and teaching they needed, deserved, but weren't getting at the schools in the district where we had lived previously. And they absolutely did. Within just a few months my older child had the IEP he had been denied in that other district, and was finally receiving the help he needed. Both of my children were excelling in their new environment. The next year, Dr Miles took over, and things changed a great deal. I was a frequent volunteer and suddenly I wasn't allowed to volunteer in my children's classes any longer. I was made to feel extremely unwelcome whenever I went in and once was even told to LEAVE rather forcefully by Dr Miles, when all I was trying to do was pick up one of my kids. He went out of his way to alienate parent volunteers and has made many of the better teachers quit simply because of the way he treated them. My children went from loving school to begging to be homeschooled on almost a daily basis. While this was a good school that was on the rise, under this dictator's rule, it is swiftly going downhill!
1 person found this helpful

Madison County Central School 1

Posted March 22, 2015
- a parent
i dont like this school because my child tell me wht her teacher tell me school this is a bad school for her they need to do better that why they dont have a great school. over the school is mr.miles he is rude to childs


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
This is a great school that is on the rise. It is a PreK through 8th Grade school that serves the educational needs of many.
Posted October 02, 2012

Madison County Central School 5

Posted August 21, 2011
- a parent
Hm. Im wondering if the ones who are complaining about this school might be our most dedicated VOLUNTEERS. Uh, no. How silly. The ones complaining about poor schools, poor teachers, "having" to give a dollar for their child to wear jeans, etc, etc, blah blah blah. Are the ones that dump thier children at school to be raised by the staff. You will complain about the school trying to raise money, yet are you one of thoes parents who readily takes advantave of "free" bussing, "free" meals. "free" after school programs? Not to mention "free" education. Wake up, instead of sitting back and finding things to complain about, GET INVOLVED with your childs education. HELP your teachers to meet your "expectations".

Madison County Central School 4

Posted June 29, 2008
- a student
The school allows the students to pay a dollar to wear what they want because of the money it takes to keep this school running. If there were no fundraisers, the journalism class would have to be cut because making yearbooks aren't cheap. A lot of the clubs and extracurricular classes need money to help keep them going. It's not like the school just wants money to keep for themselves. And many of the students want to wear something different every once in a while so there's no harm in paying 1 dollar every once in while to wear something different. Paying 1 dollar is helping the students, not putting the money in the staffs' pockets.


Madison County Central School
no rating

Posted February 22, 2008
- a parent
Madison County Central School does everything they can to try to get a dollar out of the parents, including to allow the child to go against the school uniform that the school pushed so hard to pass as long as the child pays the school a dollar to wear other clothing. I am fed up with this greedy school ! They are here for the money and not the children.

Madison County Central School 5

Posted March 01, 2006
- a student
madison county central school is a great school with caring trachers. some of them don't care for all the students, some of the trachers have prejudice or favortism towards the students, but for the most part they are okay. they have a great band, with an amazing teacher. they have a basketdball team for boys and girls, a football team, a baseball and softball team with excellent teachers. the parents have involved with most of the school and thier childs education. overall madison county central high school is a great school and its lots of fun.

Madison County Central School 3

Posted September 19, 2004
- a parent
As a whole I believe the school system tries it's best to do their job. But with funding cuts and such it is making it more challenging for teachers to do their job. There is too much emphasis on the FCAT. How can you expect a child with all A's and B's that may have tested below the required # to not pass and keep his or her self-esteem and love of learning?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Madison County Central School
2093 W Us Hwy 90, Madison, FL  32340
(850) 973-5192
Last modified Madison County Central School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Madison County Central School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top