Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Pointe Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 602 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 11 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2013

This school is a family school and a community school. It is special from the administration to the parents to the students. The teachers here are a team and have great love and respect for what they do. Any child would be lucky to be in such an academic, fun, and beautiful school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2013

Far away from being an "A" school. There is more to be an "A" school than only having students writing "A" grades. Of course, there are a few good teachers working at South Pointe Elementary but even these teachers overwhelm their students with huge quantities of homework every day not realizing that some students are bored all year long. Students who can't follow are left behind without support or additional help. Students who follow with ease don't get progress related worksheets. The absolutely worst experience I've ever made was the encounter with the school management and office administration, a group of disorganized and unfriendly people not able to deal with criticism constructively. Instead of a friendly welcome they make you feel like an intruder entering "their" territory. They prefer chewing gums, eating and talking to each other and don't mind you standing and waiting at the office desk. Is this an appropriate behavior you may expect from an "A" school? At the end of this unbelievable but true experience I feel sorry for those children who can't move to another school. We took our child out of South Pointe Elementary and are looking forward to a great new school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

South Pointe is Not a great school.If having teachers be overwelhemled with to many students and stressing the child with ridiculous amounts of HW and also teaching children that it is accepted to tattle tale on one another exc. means its a great school well then I strongly suggest homeschooling instead. Worst school I've ever had my child in. The office woman are the rudest group of people who have no personality and are very unwelcoming , I recommend just going into the office and see their friendly apporches as they continue to "work" as you stand there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

My son goes to this school and while it is a great school, it is also OVERCROWDED because there are so many children attending that are not in the school district. The school needs to weed these children out. My sons class is a double class with 34 children and 2 teachers. The school capacity is just over 400 students and the enrollment is over 600 students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2012

It is with great pride that I as a parent write this review. My daughter is heading to middle school next year and I feel accomplished of having provided a safe and enriched school in many areas. South Pointe offers the students human and society values through the IB program, the Art and Music classes add to the individual education of each student, these teachers work hand in hand with the curriculum, and the academic preparation each student receives is very closely monitored by administration, making sure each student is reaching their maximum potential. Everyone in the school works together with only one goal in mind, the benefit and well-being of each and every student. The students at South Pointe are very happy children. I feel blessed to have had my child attend her elementary years at South Pointe, and even happier to see her enjoy her school, teachers and the process of learning so much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2012

South Pointe is an amazing Elementary school with very involved parents, progrssive teachers and a very helpful administration. The additional of the IB program has brought an extra touch to the curriculum, adding a sense of morality and international mindfulness. They have an organic edible garden that is a great teaching and learning tool for the students to learn about healthier choices.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2012

The best school my sons went to in Miami Beach. Teachers are warm, caring and the Principal has a open door policy which is very rare. As parent, I witness how students worked in a peaceful environment which gave them a sense of pride and joy. South Pointe has been an A school for many, many years as a result of excellent administrators, teachers and supporting staff. If I had to make a choice again for my grandchildren, I would choose South Pointe without hesitation. It will be my number one choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2012

I personally recommend South Pointe, because it is a great school, with great teachers, great curriculum, great administration, safe enviroment for the students, the principal has an open door for all parents and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2012

The school is overcrowded because about 30%-40% of the students are in the gifted program and most of the students in the gifted classes do not live in the school boundary. The administration is aware that they do not live in the boundary area, but they are allowed to attend the school and overcrowd it. The admnistration only enforces the boundary rules for students who are not in the gifted classes. Many of the students live in the Morningside, Midtown and Bay Harbor area, yet they are allowed to attend the school, completely against the district rules. A better sense of "community" would be established if students who actually live in the "community" attended the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2011

Go South Pointe !! I have three children at this school. I could not be happier. The classes are small and the teachers are wonderful. They really get to know your kids and all of their needs. Since the school is on the smaller size, it has a family atmosphere. The PTA and FOSPE are great. The office and administrators are approachable and easy to talk to. I really feel like I am heard and that my opinion really counts with everyone there. Most important though is that my children are learning and are really happy. What else can a parent ask for .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2011

I love South Pointe! It is a unique school that gives your children a nice sense of community. The people working there are amazing, always trying their best and the volunteers are very friendly. Parent Involment a plus! I couldn't ask for anything to be changed. Thank you Sount Pointe!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2011

We LOVE SPE! There are a few large classes, but b'c of the parent's vigorous fundraising to benefit ALL students in the school, the lg. classes have 2 teachers. My child has never been in a class over 20 students. I do tons of volunteer work in the school and have been in most classrooms. I vouch that all of the teachers are wonderful, committed, engaged, smart and loving. They all seem committed to the school and make it feel like a tight, neighborhood community. The principle is dynamic, smart, fully committed in the school and employs the BEST teachers. We love it here and our child's academics are outstanding and challenging. HW, enrichment and PTA are A++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2011

my kids and I love this school. The teachers are so dynamic and enthusiastic that the kids actually love learning. The school also has an incredible afterschool program. So I don't have to drive my children to gymnastics or basketball. We are so lucky to have such a school in our backyard. I find that it is more challenging acedemically than any private school. go south pointe!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2011

South Pointe is the best kept secret. I took tours at both public and private schools before choosing to place both of my kids at South Pointe. They are receiving an excellent education while also learning core values. The administration, teachers and PTA are what makes this school a true gem. I know I made the best decision when I chose this school for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2011

Great school because it has all the programs our kids need. Its Principal and staff are highly involved, committed and accessible; always supervising everything going on around the school. All teachers are well prepared, loving and caring. PTA working hard all the time. I did search and visited this school before moving to the area and we can't be more satisfied. My kids have been attending SPE for three years now, it's impressive how much they have learn, not only as students but as human beings they have learnt important values like caring, thinker, balance, risk taker and other concepts, part of the IB program, they practice every day. After school care and enrichment program well organized. I wish South Pointe Elementary were a K-8 school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2011

My two boys go to this amazing school and I can assure you that it is the best school that there is in Miami Beach! I can't wait for my little girl to be big enough to attend :) All the teachers are excellent! They are really involved in the children's education, they go an extra mile for them and that really needs to be rewarded!! I believe the principal is strong and really knows what she is doing, great leadership! I hope this helps other parents looking for schools. I highly recommend it!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2011

I love the school! Great sense of community, teachers are loving and caring. I'm so gald I chose this school for my kids!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2011

That's add,that only few reviews are posted some goes back to 2003.Looks like all negative reviews are not posted and those are more than enough.Very unsatisfactory school, small classes maybe better,but you would have to know someone to get your child in.Other classes very crowded.Hard to believe,that they are so many children in south point district,where are they coming from? What part of Miami? And of course teachers and principal don't care.


Posted August 21, 2011

I wrote review and was probably not very much to your likeing,so you ignore it and didn't post it.I am going to make complain to board of education.


Posted June 8, 2011

dear sir we are mouving from italy to miami for one year, we need to find a primary school for my two children 10 and 9 years old, in miami beach. Can you give us information about that thanks Laura Zoli
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

77 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 56% 29%
White 39% 42%
Black 2% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races N/A 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 56%58%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 7%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Melanie B Fishman
Fax number
  • (305) 532-6096

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1050 4th St
Miami Beach, FL 33139
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 531-5437

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Landow Yeshiva Center
Miami Beach, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT