Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,202 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Miami Arts Charter School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted February 12, 2016
- a parent
This school does not develop respect in students as many of their teachers do not model that attitude towards students.

Miami Arts Charter School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted February 12, 2016
- a parent
This school does not develop honesty integrity and fairness in students as it does not provide a real world diverse educational experience.


Miami Arts Charter School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
There is no incentive for students to develop determination or persistence. Students don't try hard because classes are too easy. In fact, students act entitled when they don't get an A.

Miami Arts Charter School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
Most teachers have favorites or they indirectly compare students to each others. Most teachers also give out too many passing grades. It's not really fair to have the same grade as someone else that put in less work.

Miami Arts Charter School 2

Posted September 28, 2015
- a community member
The teaching staff changed frequently. The school did not have text books or electronic learning devices as an alternative to text books. The administrative staff appeared to focus on making a profit at the expense of the students. What a disappointment. This school reflects badly on Charter Schools.


Miami Arts Charter School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted August 25, 2015
- a student
The music teachers are constantly comparing every student to another and creating an unhealthy environment for the kids.

Miami Arts Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 25, 2015
- a student
The decisions are made by the moods of the teachers, especially the principal. This is not fair for any kids. Some kids get away with things that would not be allowed for other students.

Miami Arts Charter School 2

Posted August 25, 2015
- a student
This school was possibly the worse school I've gone to. Being in the music department I was really disappointing to find that because I had a high level in my field I was required to "help" -meaning teach- the kids with less knowledge of their instrument, which would have been okay if it was only once or twice but not all year long. They don't bother in actually hiring a teacher besides Mr. Djurich, who cannot possibly do it all by himself and who sometimes gets in moods and throws chairs around the room or screams his lungs out at anyone in his way (A teacher DOES NOT EVER do this to his students). The level or care towards the learning of the kids is close to none, the kids will only learn the music that the teachers have chosen for the concert, leaving out: music theory (vital in the music Kid, especially when working with elementary/middle/high school kids), music history, private lessons, amongst other EXTREMELY necessary classes to advance musically properly. There is zero tolerance for kids who struggle with their instruments due to not having a teacher, they are just toss aside and told to not play the day of the concert because they "didn't prepare" enough, being this the most absurd way of saying "I did not teach you anything this year". Being in this school for two years, I can say I would NEVER provide my kids with such a mediocre school.


Miami Arts Charter School 3

Posted April 07, 2015
- a student
I am a former student of MAC. I left this school due to the poor academics. I jumped around between 3 art programs before settling in dance. The Dance program and Theater program seemed to be the most professional teachings a teacher at this school could give. I still have a plethora of friends that attend the school. That tell me it has been the same since it had began. One thing that school does not lack are motivated teachers. This school is gull of them. Who are eager to teach. I have never saw a fight or heard of when attending this school. When I left and went to another I was not prepared for violent gang activity that almost every puplic school has. This school needs a new principal who can lead the administration in the correct direction. In my opinion Ms.Torres should take initative. She'd be perfect for the job. Overall this school taught me a lot. I made amazing friends, ate great food, learned a lot and never got stressed, and I had amazing performances. This school is self for students. Probably one of the best schools in Miami.

Miami Arts Charter School 2

Posted March 10, 2015
- a parent
This school is not that great in academics. If your children can do good at school, don't send them here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Miami Arts Charter School
3900 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL  33137
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (305) 763-6257
Last modified Miami Arts Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top