Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Public charter
Miami, FL

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Miami Arts Charter School 2

Posted December 11, 2014
- a parent
If you want a school to focus on arts, then this is the school for you. My child does not get much homework which is a good thing about the school. If you are going for dance, visual arts or theater you will see the change on how your child is improving. My daughter is in the chorus program and neither her and I are happy. Also this school has no gifted program or any classes for the advanced kids.

Miami Arts Charter School 4

Posted December 02, 2014
- a parent
Excellent: -Teachers are passionate about material and make class interesting..my kids really LOVE a few of theirs. -They do NOT get a ton of daily homework - almost none. -They've built tutoring and retaking of tests into the school day so nobody falls too far behind. -Visual Art and Dance education are impressive. -Student population really seems like "good kids," as cliche as that sounds. -The Umatilla camp week the high schoolers do yearly is truly AMAZING. Logistical hassles: -high school gets out at 3:45 one day, 2:00 the next, based on if it's an "A" or "B" day.. One week is ABABA, the next is BABAB. Middle school ALWAYS gets out at 2:55. Having a kid at each is ridiculous. "When does school get out?" is answered with a chart. -Siblings can wait around for each other, but there is no after school care. -No free bus service; you have to pay $100s per month for private, IF it's available (not to our neighborhood). -Lunch is $4.50 per kid. That IS for high quality food, not typical school lunch. -They have had some staff turnover in a couple of slots as they get settled in.


Miami Arts Charter School 5

Posted November 14, 2014
- a teacher
We have opened our second campus in Homestead for the 2014-2015 school year!! As a teacher and parent, I am pleased to be a part of the MAC family. We specialize in the ARTS and offer dance, theater, music, creative writing, and vocal courses. Academic teachers offer free tutoring to students, we have 60 in televisions in each classroom that connect to our computers through WIFI so that we can offer a technologically engaging lesson. Students are positive and well behaved!! What a great environment to send your child. We have have student council for each grade level and offer many after school clubs like interior design, key club and environmental interests just to name a few. We will have an open house on Thursday December 4th from 7:00-9:00 pm. So come and check us out for yourself!!

Miami Arts Charter School 1

Posted August 22, 2014
- a parent
Miami Charter's Homestead Campus is not at all what we expected. Extremely large classes. Small classrooms or rather small because of the amount of students crammed into them. The facilities are not finished, it is not ready for school for students. They are a mess. They don't even have the internet, yet they claimed to have a state of the art campus...don't be sold on a fake reality like we were.
1 person found this helpful

Miami Arts Charter School 5

Posted August 15, 2014
- a parent
As a parent of two children now at MAC, I am very happy with the school and have recommended it to many others. As far as the academics are concerned, students will get out if it exactly what they put in. I like that the teachers are often young and enthusiastic and are true role models. I also cannot say enough about the social environment at the school. My eldest daughter had stress headaches and stomachaches at her previous large middle school. These symptoms disappeared her first day at MAC. Students are unusually supportive of each other and feel safe enough to be weird (and fearlessly creative). Everyone belongs, and that's a very rare thing for a middle or high school.


Miami Arts Charter School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a community member
Great school! This school looks like a really nice school and I hope that the one in Homestead is equally as good.

Miami Arts Charter School 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
Amazing school!! The problem with anonymous blogs like this is that people with hidden agendas can write anything they want. The school's scores speak for themselves as far as academics are concerned. The important thing to note is that everyone I know is trying to get their kid in to MAC. That speak volumes.

Miami Arts Charter School 3

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
The academics really struggle ,the art programs are amazing but they academicly are pretty behind overall as a school .If you're main focus for a school is academics and education then this is not the right school .
1 person found this helpful


Miami Arts Charter School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a community member
Great school, where the opportunity to the youngers student with the talent of process in Art are Amazing.....

Miami Arts Charter School 3

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
My child went to this school. I give it a 3, due to the academics. There are only advanced classes, and they enroll everyone in them. As a result they are not "advanced" at all. The classes all move very slowly, spending days to cover a concept. There is NO accomadation for "gifted" or quick learners made here. They have to sit in the same class as all the "slow" learners. If your child is smart, a quick learner, this is not the school for you. Great concept with the Arts, but lacking in academics.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Miami Arts Charter School
3900 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL  33137
(305) 763-6257
Last modified Miami Arts Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Miami Arts Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top