Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

618 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 53 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Academir Charter School West 5

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
Very good school, my son has been there since kinder and is now going to fourth grade, he loves to go to school everyday and we're very happy with how much he has learned!

Academir Charter School West
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
Yes. They have a program that is called 3R's and it is the best program ever. It stands for Respect, Ready to Learn and Responsibility. All of the kids need to behave accordingly to reach this reward provided monthly and then there is an end of the year celebration if they are selected at least 5 months.


Academir Charter School West
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
They care about every single child in the school. You can see it when the kids are together that they build strong relationships that are caring amongst the teachers and kids.

Academir Charter School West
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
This school is very honest and fair....you earn what you get. There is no favoritism etc.

Academir Charter School West 5

Posted May 31, 2016
- a parent
My son started Kindergarten at Academir in the 2013-2014 School Year. I can honestly say that I am so pleased with the school and the education that they have provided him with. I do not have anything negative at all to say about this school. The administration, staff and teachers have been nothing but amazing with him these past 3 years. This coming August my youngest will start Kindergarten there and he is coming from a public school pre-k program and Academir has been overly helpful with the process. Besides being a school most of the parents who have their kids here are involved in their children's education. It starts at home, you cannot expect to have your kids learn everything at school, parent support is vital in the every childs success. Aside from the daily school learning they offer a lot of enrichment programs that grow team building and self-esteem!! My son has been enrolled in Chess since Kindergarten and I then added him to Football, Basketball and Soccer throughout the years. No, this isn't free...but it isn't free outside of school either, these are clubs and it's just like enrolling at an out of school Karate School, Ballet etc. You will not be disappointed with this school at all if you are an involved parent and want the best for your son/daughter.


Academir Charter School West 4

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
The over all school is great. I think there have some issues but every school has issues. you have to pick one !

Academir Charter School West 5

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
I'm pretty sure the bad comments about kids not treated fairly had to be about an specific situation, I personally haven't had or seen any negative topic to talk about this school, I'm very happy with everything that school gives to my child not only academically, my kid is a happy person who loves going to school everyday because there is a god atmosphere in there,the building is very safe, clean and beautiful inside, the communication is excellent, the make sure all parents receive the information promptly and additionally they send reminders for every single thing, I'm not only speaking for myself, I have spoken with a lot of mothers and all of them are agree with me, he amount of homework is just right, not too much so overwhelmed kids, I don't personally know the owners but for me they keep checking the more minimal detail so the school can face its own slogan: "Expect excellence"

Academir Charter School West
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 13, 2015
- a parent
All students here have been treated fairly. Those derogatory comments about AcadeMir not being fair with the children and that they only choose the bright is completely false. This is coming from a parent that is in the school constantly. I have a first hand look at how the kids are treated and are dealt with, and I have seen nothing but nurturing and fairness of ALL administration and staff.


Academir Charter School West
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 13, 2015
- a parent
The amount of homework given to the students, at any grade level, is just the right amount. My child has learned and excelled and that is not just with the teaching but with the homework and home support that every child needs. Any parent that complains that they have to sit with their child to do home work, is not a true parent. Stop thinking of yourself and your own agenda and help your child strive for greatness. That starts with homework parents.

Academir Charter School West 2

Posted August 08, 2015
- a parent
Quite honestly the school administrators are to blame for the inadequate and bias treatment of student. This is a business but you get involved in this business for the joy of educating our future leaders and not profit!! If the parent who wrote the preview on July 22 obviously has no value in the education their child receives. It's not about a pretty school and uniform!!!! It's about the CHILD and substance. not being there to befriend to ensure you are among the favored.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Academir Charter School West
14880 Southwest 26th Street, Miami, FL  33185
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. (305) 485-9911
Last modified Academir Charter School West is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top