Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
1,340 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
46 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 56 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Christopher Columbus High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 09, 2015
- a community member
Morals do not exist..For a religious education you will not get it here..Are few good teachers here but most that are good will be moving on..

Christopher Columbus High School 1

Posted November 09, 2015
- a community member
Ditto, to all the other disappointing one star posts. Baseball leads the pack, morals what morals, good thing a religious school you would not think so. bullying by team captains, seen the videos of team captain taking another junior members car keys and driving his car on baseball field. Pre night before game drinking, sad. Nothing was ever done other teachers know about it as well. running thru lourdes police attending, Disrupting classes then taking this attitude on to field with support from head coach no type of punishment -- others made to run for this one's mistakes. No other players standing up to this -ad no morals.. Someones got pictures on someone here.. Onwards and upwards, wish them well but far away from us. Lots of other great picks vs this spot. FB / Golf coaches good. Spots need a re align as they call the shots over the principal and try not to sweep under the carpet..It can only be sugar coated so long before the truth is out..


Christopher Columbus High School 1

Posted October 12, 2015
- a community member
I am so so happy that I am finally finished with this school. The fact that I never have to return to this place makes me ecstatic. During my time here I had the misfortune of dealing with some terrible teachers that assigned loads of busy work.. I only had a handful of quality teachers that taught and actually cared about my education. During my time here I played baseball and it was honestly the WORST baseball program I have ever been a part of. There is nothing good that came from my time there. They are clueless on what it means to be a quality coach and I have ZERO respect for the head coach. This corrupt program is all about money and donations and as a recent comment says paying under the table. The amount of negative things I can write about this program will take up all 1563 characters that this website allows me to use...

Christopher Columbus High School 5

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
My oldest son graduated from Columbus in 2014. He came from a public school so the transition was a little difficult at first, especially the all boy part. He truly loved the school by the end of his freshman year. He had a wonderful experience both academically and in sports. Anytime I had a concern or an issue, it was taken care of by either a teacher or administration. He is doing great in college and is very proud to be an Explorer.

Christopher Columbus High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
This school reinforced the great morals that my son already possessed. Every event like, the ring ceremony, graduation mass, and graduation was filled with meaningful speeches guiding the boys on their way to lead honest and successful lives.


Christopher Columbus High School 1

Posted April 24, 2015
- a parent
My son attended CCHS for 4 years. The education at this school is only good if your son is part of the Mas program otherwise you are better of going to any public school and probably receive a better education. With that being said, they have to have the worst basketball program and coach in the entire country. The coach Henry Lorenzo is a bully, not sure how he is still coaching after all these years and how the parents, students and faculty have not done something about his terrible attitude on and off the court. Overall the experience my son had was mediocre. Don t let them fool you with the so called brotherhood!

Christopher Columbus High School 5

Posted February 03, 2015
- a parent
I've had two boys go though Christopher Columbus high school and I can sincerely say that it has met and exceeded all of my expectations. Columbus provides a both top-ranked academic and athletic environment each based on discipline and integrity which is without replication anywhere. I can sincerely say that the graduates at Columbus come out as men with traditional values and connections that will lead them to excellence throughout the rest of their lives.

Christopher Columbus High School 5

Posted January 22, 2015
- a student
Columbus is a top notch school. I am glad that I graduated from there. I feel I was well prepared for college and made friendships that will last forever. Everyone says that Columbus is only for athletes, but that is far from the truth. Everyone can find a niche there: You can be on the award winning TV crew (CCNN), you can be on a great debate or robotics team, you can lead the student body, you can be a MAS scholar, you can work the stage in drama, you can be highlighted in a museum if you are an art student, etc. The opportunities at Columbus are endless. Best school in Miami. Proud to be an EXPLORER!!!!


Christopher Columbus High School 1

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
Bad education and bad sportsmanship. Is the school that parents love to say my son graduated from but the kids go thru hell.

Christopher Columbus High School 1

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
This school takes the 1st prize in hiding bad teachers, bullying and a baseball program that works as long as you pay the coaches under the table.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Christopher Columbus High School
3000 Southwest 87th Avenue, Miami, FL  33165
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 56 reviews. (305) 223-5650
Last modified Christopher Columbus High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top