Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
1,340 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
47 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 64 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Christopher Columbus High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 25, 2016
- a community member
I won't mention her name, but she's the only beacon of hope I had in this hellhole of a place. The only member of the staff who actually took the time to show an interest in me as a student and as a person.

Christopher Columbus High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted July 25, 2016
- a community member
Most of my graduating class consisted of burnouts who couldn't care less about where they ended up after graduating.


Christopher Columbus High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted July 25, 2016
- a community member
In my time at Columbus I saw students curse out teachers and administrators, as well as ridicule others for their mental issues and sexuality.

Christopher Columbus High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 25, 2016
- a community member
I currently am on speaking terms with 2 of the 360 people in my graduating class. I never felt any sense of "brotherhood" as the administrators claim the school fosters; when I've seen someone from my graduating class (both in Miami and New York where I live now), we exchange no more than a glare. Students made fun of other students for mental disability, sexuality, and even economic status.

Christopher Columbus High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 25, 2016
- a community member
Honesty, integrity, and fairness? When I was there we said CCHS stood for "Cheaters' Central High School."


Christopher Columbus High School 1

Posted July 25, 2016
- a community member
I graduated from Columbus a few years ago, and at the time, I thought it was a very good school that had given me lifelong friends, a quality education, a deep moral and religious grounding, and a strong sense of self. In the years since, I've realized how delusional I (and my parents) were. Columbus did more harm than good in helping us develop as young men (as the school loves to claim it does). I never felt like any teachers, advisors, and administrators were approachable or available to me—both academically and personally—and day-to-day operation of the school can be described with "Donnie Darko meets Lord of the Flies". Despite being in the "advanced" program, I felt just as unprepared for college and real life as the rest of the school. My parents have expressed similar sentiments about every aspect of the school, and have apologized to me multiple times for sending me there, wasting their money there, and setting me back years at a time when I should be maturing in all aspects. Talk about buyer's remorse.

Christopher Columbus High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 09, 2015
- a community member
Morals do not exist..For a religious education you will not get it here..Are few good teachers here but most that are good will be moving on..

Christopher Columbus High School 1

Posted November 09, 2015
- a community member
Ditto, to all the other disappointing one star posts. Baseball leads the pack, morals what morals, good thing a religious school you would not think so. bullying by team captains, seen the videos of team captain taking another junior members car keys and driving his car on baseball field. Pre night before game drinking, sad. Nothing was ever done other teachers know about it as well. running thru lourdes police attending, Disrupting classes then taking this attitude on to field with support from head coach no type of punishment -- others made to run for this one's mistakes. No other players standing up to this -ad no morals.. Someones got pictures on someone here.. Onwards and upwards, wish them well but far away from us. Lots of other great picks vs this spot. FB / Golf coaches good. Spots need a re align as they call the shots over the principal and try not to sweep under the carpet..It can only be sugar coated so long before the truth is out..


Christopher Columbus High School 1

Posted October 12, 2015
- a community member
I am so so happy that I am finally finished with this school. The fact that I never have to return to this place makes me ecstatic. During my time here I had the misfortune of dealing with some terrible teachers that assigned loads of busy work.. I only had a handful of quality teachers that taught and actually cared about my education. During my time here I played baseball and it was honestly the WORST baseball program I have ever been a part of. There is nothing good that came from my time there. They are clueless on what it means to be a quality coach and I have ZERO respect for the head coach. This corrupt program is all about money and donations and as a recent comment says paying under the table. The amount of negative things I can write about this program will take up all 1563 characters that this website allows me to use...

Christopher Columbus High School 5

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
My oldest son graduated from Columbus in 2014. He came from a public school so the transition was a little difficult at first, especially the all boy part. He truly loved the school by the end of his freshman year. He had a wonderful experience both academically and in sports. Anytime I had a concern or an issue, it was taken care of by either a teacher or administration. He is doing great in college and is very proud to be an Explorer.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Christopher Columbus High School
3000 Southwest 87th Avenue, Miami, FL  33165
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 64 reviews. (305) 223-5650
Last modified Christopher Columbus High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top