Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Miami, FL
Students enrolled: 1,340
 

4 stars
Based on 42 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


45 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Christopher Columbus High School 5

Posted February 03, 2015
- a parent
I've had two boys go though Christopher Columbus high school and I can sincerely say that it has met and exceeded all of my expectations. Columbus provides a both top-ranked academic and athletic environment each based on discipline and integrity which is without replication anywhere. I can sincerely say that the graduates at Columbus come out as men with traditional values and connections that will lead them to excellence throughout the rest of their lives.

Christopher Columbus High School 5

Posted January 22, 2015
- a student
Columbus is a top notch school. I am glad that I graduated from there. I feel I was well prepared for college and made friendships that will last forever. Everyone says that Columbus is only for athletes, but that is far from the truth. Everyone can find a niche there: You can be on the award winning TV crew (CCNN), you can be on a great debate or robotics team, you can lead the student body, you can be a MAS scholar, you can work the stage in drama, you can be highlighted in a museum if you are an art student, etc. The opportunities at Columbus are endless. Best school in Miami. Proud to be an EXPLORER!!!!


Christopher Columbus High School 1

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
Bad education and bad sportsmanship. Is the school that parents love to say my son graduated from but the kids go thru hell.

Christopher Columbus High School 1

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
This school takes the 1st prize in hiding bad teachers, bullying and a baseball program that works as long as you pay the coaches under the table.

Christopher Columbus High School 5

Posted May 07, 2014
- a parent
Bar none...best HS for boys in South Florida. My son attended all 4 years and is graduating now fully prepared for college. He respects and adores the faculty and he shares a camaraderie with all students that is impressive. You can see it if you attend a few games or just any school activity...many of the teachers are ex alumni that have told me they loved the school so much they wanted to continue the legacy and give back by teaching there...in summary....AWESOME


Christopher Columbus High School 5

Posted May 04, 2014
- a parent
CCHS is definitely a top notch school. One of the best all boy private schools in the US. The academics are significant, the students are very well mannered, and the educators are very well prepared and care for each student individually. My son is graduating this year and has had an amazing experience here! He doesn't want to graduate. CCHS has been great!

Christopher Columbus High School 5

Posted January 25, 2014
- a teacher
I took the entrance exam today and the enviroment is amazing, The teachers are funny. It's a nice big school

Christopher Columbus High School 4

Posted April 07, 2013
- a parent
I have three sons and they all attended CCHS, two have graduated and the third is in his senior year. My sons are all proud of their school and claim they will send their boys there if they still live in the Miami area. From a parent's perspective, I've seen my boys grow up into caring, bright and responsible young men. They each handle their committments to academics differently and the school has placed them in a program that's both challenging but allows them to succeed. I am glad we made the decision to enroll them in this school.


Christopher Columbus High School 4

Posted June 06, 2012
- a community member
A 30 year old experience is certainly invalid and irrelevant today. I have not heard of any "meathead" coaches teaching any academic courses.

Christopher Columbus High School 2

Posted May 08, 2012
- a community member
I had the misfortune of attending CCHS all 4 years. 30 years later I still think that was the worst time of my life. There were more than a couple of amazing teachers & I remain grateful for their influence but more often than not classes were taught by by meathead coaches with little interest in the subject matter & even less interest in the students that didn't play a sport. If your boy is all about football, this is the institution for you. But if you're plagued by liberal or artistic sensibilities, run away. The all male environment is kind of horrible, too.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Christopher Columbus High School
3000 Southwest 87th Avenue, Miami, FL  33165
(305) 223-5650
Last modified Christopher Columbus High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Christopher Columbus High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. Top