Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Tropical Christian School 5

Posted May 27, 2009
- a community member
I went to TCS all my life (untill 8th grade) and am now in college. i honestly think it is one of the better schools in miami. the teachers are wonderful. hands down a great time of my life that I always treasure.

Tropical Christian School 4

Posted February 19, 2009
- a community member
I think this school is amazing for elementary portion of the school, but the middle school can make some major changes that would help the kids have more respect for the teachers and their other classmates.


Tropical Christian School 4

Posted September 04, 2008
- a parent
My son attended Tropical Christian for middle school. Our experience was positive. My son was a challenge and required much encouragement due to his diagnosis of ADHD and poor motivation. The teachers were very caring and were willing to tutor him after school and to assist with any strategies to help him compensate for his attention deficits. Now 2 years later, my son attends one of the top high schools in the nation, Coral Reef Sr. High and he excels in his honors and AP classes. TCS definately prepares a child for high school and encourages independence and responsibility!

Tropical Christian School 5

Posted August 27, 2008
- a parent
My son graduated TCS and went on to high school in ALL honors classes. The small classes and Christian atmosphere helped him focus on education, spiritual and personal developement. The variety of teachers added to his learning experience and helped him learn to work with different people. The school has computers in the classes as well as a computer lab in the library with 12 NEW Apple computers. My son was taught to learn from books, computers, and working with other students. The shool has always had physical education and began bullying prevention education well before the state required it.

Tropical Christian School 2

Posted February 09, 2008
- a parent
This school is not that great for academic purposes, especially for middle school. It has a great christian atmosphere, but since great teachers have left, it's horrible. I guarantee that your child will not be prepared for high school in any way.


Tropical Christian School 4

Posted June 05, 2007
- a parent
The school overall is okay. Academically it can do much better. The SAT scores speak for themselves. Again this year, the school has lost a couple more of their good teachers. It sure makes you wonder what is going on in the school that is making these good teachers leave. The principal leadership does not exist. It saddens me to see the school academically deteriorate, because of the high teacher turn-over. Sadly, the teachers replacing the former ones are not of the highest level and lack experience, commitment and knowledge. This often makes you wonder where are the priorities of the school board members - quality education or net profit?

Tropical Christian School 2

Posted May 29, 2007
- a parent
This school is great for children from grades K-3-5th grade but when it comes down to middle school the school neither is fit to handle that responsibility.The school runs on a very short budget, even though tuition each year seems to increase.The teacher's quality has decreased tremoundously.I just believe that the school has deminished in value ever since the new principle Mrs.Burgman was hired.

Tropical Christian School 3

Posted April 06, 2007
- a student
I have been at the school since K-5, and this is my last year at the school. The school is great, most friendly environment. Best Teachers! Great staff! The curriculum could always be better, and the school can offer more activities as far as electives, and other events like dances, prom, graduation, etc. The school can also advance technologically.


Tropical Christian School 5

Posted February 15, 2007
- a teacher
My three children have attended this school since K-3. My oldest child is now away at college and is achieving high grades. All my children have benefited from the atmosphere of this school. I think that the school is well-rounded and is constantly improving all aspects of their programs. I highly recommend this school to any that are looking for a school.

Tropical Christian School 4

Posted February 09, 2007
- a student
I attended this school from preschool to 8th grade! I am now graduating from High School! Amazing atmopshere while I was attending. The previous principle was an amazing person!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tropical Christian School
12001 SW 72nd St, Miami, FL  33183
(305) 595-2147
Last modified Tropical Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Tropical Christian School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top