Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Highpoint Academy

Private | PK-8 | 330 students

Our school is known for its technology and for being small and family-oriented.

 
 

Living in Miami

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $159,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, August 17, 2014

Highpoint is a wonderful school. My two can't wait until school starts again on the 26th. This is their 4th year at Highpoint and they love it. Their class sizes are really small and their teacher are really caring and dedicated. Ms Alicia is wonderful and she's always there to resolve issued. Their technology is really advanced and their sports program is great. Definitely recommend Highpoint (and its also the lowest tuition around!) My husband and I can't say enough! THANK YOU MS. ALICIA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2014

Highpoint is an amazing school with the best teachers and programs. They require iPads from all their students and at first I didn't think it would work but my kids love it and they're learning so much. They also have lots of hands on fun including an organic garden and even a mini golf and giant chess. The principal is also the owner and she's had the school forever and is totally involved. No doubt that Highpoint is the best private school in miami! My husband and I highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2012

Another wonderful year at Highpoint! My kids learned more than I thought possible. Their experienced teachers demonstrated care and concern and the technology in the school is amazing. Next year all students will be using an iPad. I'm so happy that they're now building the wing for Middle School for next year. Great job Ms. Alicia! This is the best school in Miami!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

Both my children started at this school at the age of 3. They are currently in second grade and I couldn't be any happier. As a graduate from this school, I was determined to give my children the honor of attending such a great school. At first my husband was very skeptical, coming from a public school background. Today he will do whatever it takes to keep them in the school. He was astonished at the love and attention every child gets from the principal and every teacher. The fact that most of the teachers have been around for 10+ years shows you that they truly love their jobs. The academic program needs no mention. Just look at the successful alumni's of the school (CPA's, Attorney's, Mayor's, News Broadcaster's). Ms. Alicia takes pride in the wonderful school she's developed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2011

I loved this school when my child first attended Kindergarten. He loved his Kindergarten teacher and I kept him in the school truly because of Ms. Cindy. But unfortunately my child developed a serious health condition and fell a bit behind. I felt that since he was not "up to par" he was ostracized and considered a burden. I also felt the principal was detached and did not have the empathy an ill child needs and in a conference with her she made us feel like "bad parents". In first grade, my child (and a few other children) complained that the teacher was always screaming and he always felt rushed to finished his work. In second grade, I found it sneaky and wrong that when an inspector was coming to the school, they removed some kids from a class and placed them in another one while the inspection was being made so that the inspector would not see that there were too many kids in that class. Obviously, they were doing something wrong that they needed to hide it. Not cool people!! The school is supposed to have a small ratio of students in a class and that second grade class was obviously over there quota. My child is out and now a GIFTED honor student doing extremely well
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2011

Highpoint is a family-oriented bilingual school that provides small teacher/student ratios and an excellerated curriculum. All classrooms have smartboards even the preschool. I hear only wonderful things about this school from other parents. My daughter just graduated from Kindergarten and is reading books on her own. The teacher's are nurturing and challenge the children to excel in their academics. My child loves her teachers and the caring staff make all the difference. My son will be starting preschool this fall and I am confident that he will enjoy attending Highpoint Academy as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2010

I transferred my 2 kids to Highpoint this year from a nearby Charter school that was horrible, and i just love it! An amazing concerned Principal also owns the school, great teachers, advanced curriculum and lots of sports program. Best investment we've ever made!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2010

I agree that Highpoint is the best school in Miami. My children have been attending for years. Their ratios are very small and the teachers are caring and dedicated. Great sports programs also! I highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

I finally decided to transfer my child to Highpoint from another private school and it's the best decision I've ever made! They just opened registration for next fall and now i'm bringing my younger one also. Its a family school with an advanecd curriculum. The Principal started the school many years ago and she's awesome! The ratios are small and they have great teachers. When I compared tuition costs, Highpoint is by far the best value for my money! I'm thrilled!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

This is by far the best school in Miami! My children feel like they're at home. The teachers are caring, dedicated and experience and the Principal of 33 years is totally involved in all areas and is a true leader in our community! We highly recommend Highpoint to everyone looking for reasonable tuition and great academics as well as sports programs and Summer Camp!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

This is by far the best private school in Miami! I've had my children here for years and love the family environment, amazing teachers, small student-teacher ratios and reasonable tuition. The best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2009

Zero stars! This school has slowly declined in it's standards of care and attention to the individual needs of the students. The Princible/owner is disconnected, and there are teachers there for so many years with a bad reputation but longevity is prized over efffectiveness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2007

Both my son and daughter have attended Highpoint since they were in Pre School. As a result of their challenging curriculum and mazing teachers, they are now performing well above grade level expectations. There is a high level of parental involvement and the principal's doors are always open. Congratulations to Ms. Alicia and her wonderful teachers for making Highpoint a home way from home as well as a place of academic excellence for all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2007

My daughter has been in this school since 2nd grade. She came from another private school which was the worst experience of our lives. However, here we are 4 years later at Highpoint and we can honestly tell you we have been blessed with this school. Great Teachers, a lot of parent involvement and communication and excellent education. The administration is excellent also. Hands down to the excellent principal and her staff of great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2007

my 3 kids had gone through the school, one now in, the first 2 finished there been excellent the teachings, parents involvement and over all good results, all the kids continue to study at higher academic classes,good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2006

My daughter was accepeted last year. The teachers are amazing. The after school activities are poor. Math can use some help but overall the school is okay.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2005

My daughter has attended High Point Academy since the age of two. The school is extremely family oriented and fosters a loving atmosphere for the children. Many of the children that have graduated from this school have returned to either volunteer in summer camp or later have become teachers in the school. The school also offer many extracurricular activities for children of all ages (including ballet, cheerleading, modeling, etc.).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2005

The quality of academic programs is above standards. Teachers are patient and communicate with parents on any problems child may encounter. There are several after-school activities, including sports, music, and the arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2004

Avg class 18, great teachers, excellent discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

Excellent School! Home away from home for my children. Teachers are amazing, wonderful parent teacher communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 90% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 0%
Black 3% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
White 2% 42%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Special education coordinator
Reading specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Music teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Drama club
  • Sewing/knitting club

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Gardening
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Alicia A. Casanova
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • info@highpointacademy.com
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • BSA
  • CBE
  • NIPSA
Fax number
  • (305) 559-8253

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Extra-Curricular classes
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Chess club
  • Cooking club
  • Drama club
  • Gardening
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • National Honor Society
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student council/government
  • Technology club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
More from this school
  • Highpoint is a family-oriented, fully accredited, family-oriented, bilingual private school. Our Main Campus educates and nurtures average to above-average two-year olds thru 8th Gr. students and our Coral Way Campus serves children with Learning Differences, including high-functioning Autism, Asperger's Syndrome.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$7000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
St. Brendan High School
Columbus High School
Archbishop Carroll High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12101 SW 34 St
Miami, FL 33175
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 552-0202

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT