Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Conchita Espinosa Academy

Private | PK-8 | 670 students

CEA offers excellent academics, sensitivity to the arts, and strong human values
 
 

 
 

Living in Miami

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $180,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 13 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 10, 2009

C.E.A. is a traditional, wonderful school. It emphasizes academics while strengthening children's ties with God and society. However, this school is NOT for the parent who does not want to be involved in his/her child's education in EVERY way (or is TOO BUSY). No excuses. No complaints. The school has rules and regulations that some parents may have a tough time with as they cannot heed to them. I see how my children have grown academically and socially in the past few years, and I am generally very satisfied with C.E.A.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2009

CEA is a wonderful school that focuses on educating children in a loving yet demanding environment. The school has the warmth of a caring home combined with dedicated teachers who help children succeed. Culturally, the school's conservatory allows kids to experience the arts in a unique way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2009

CEA is a very overrated school. It is not flexible and does not keep up with the times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

CEA is an excellent school. I am very proud to say I also went there, and currently have my children in Pre-Primary. Whenever I get asked how it is now compared to before, I say 'it's better than ever'. If you are looking for 5 star school, this is definitely it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2007

Parents who read this and are deciding whether or not CEA is the right school for you, Take this word from advice. It's amazing! I love the school. Great teachers, and the academic program is very high. If you enjoy the arts like dancing, music, art, graphics. This is the school for you. It's an amazing school and I really do enjoy it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2007

We highly recommend this school. If you have a gifted child, this is the school for him. They have a very challenging curriculum and the teachers know how to stimulate the kids to learn by using their logical reasoning. One of the things that I like the most about this school is that they share my believe in that kids at these ages have to learn how to use their own brains, not the computer's. So instead of a computer class, they get a really good music class. I think is fantastic! Now, this school is not for lazy kids and/or parents. There is a lot of homework to do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2006

My son went to CEA for 10 years and the academic program is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

I can't say enough about CEA! The academic program is challenging, music, dance and art programs are exceptional and varied, the teachers are true professionals who love to teach and genuinely care about each child. There are always more than enough parents willing to get involved in any and all school related events. The director is an extremely wise, firm yet compassionate woman who all of my cildren love because, like the majority of teachers and staff at CEA, she has earned their love and respect. The sports program could be better, but they are working on it. Overall, CEA provides an excellent well rounded education in in an extremely nurturing enviroment, there's no other school like it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

Conchita Espinosa is a wonderful school. The academic quality is top notch, discipline is tigh and arts are strongly emphasized (the school has a mini-conservatory for children with special artistic abilities.) The principal and the other administrators are very hands-on on their job and very enthusiastic and this trickles down to the teachers and students. The school's atmosphere is a good mix of order and joy. I strongly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2006

I'm an alumni. I received a good education. The extra curricular activities are excellent.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 14, 2005

The academic program is rigourous, develops sense of responsibility and discipline. The amuont of homework is sometimes excessive, but the kids learn to manage the load. The teaching approach is not very current, more old style- although they require the best books and materials. The arts are important and they take this area very seriously, they have a comprehensive conservatory with many options to choose from. The boys/girls ratio in middle school is not very high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2005

Superior academic program with an emphasis on the arts. The school provides afterschool activities through their music, dance, and art conservatory. Parents are extremely involved with the teachers and school activities. We love this place. Marisol Marin
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2005

EXCELLENT CHOICE OF SCHOOL! The quality of the education is high and prepares ALL students for a prosperous future! Highly recommended school!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 4, 2005

CEA is a wonderful school. They prepared me well for my high school years and the rest of my years to come. I received a strong foundation in this school. I was taught the necessary skills to studying, I used these methods learned throughout my college years. I am so thankful to the entire staff of CEA.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 10, 2005

The school program is excellent compared to our public schools in Miami. Both of my children graduated from the school are very well versed. Their arts incorporation to the academics is a great idea, but they should have levels based on the student's knowledge and capacity, not placing them by grade/age. Throughtout our years at CEA we have seeing quite alot of changes among the teachers. At times with facts complaints are heard, but sometime no action taken. If we had to do it all over again, CEA would be our choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

This is a school that not only teats the student with love and respect, but also mantains and exceptional communication with the parents. Everyone is involved! Great environment and structure. The educaton is a whole in every way, where teaching the core curriculum is as important as teaching the arts (art, music, spanish, dance, instruments) and sports. Graceful, polite, responsible well-rounded students. Also, the students are always a grade ahead than in other schools. My husband and I are extremely happy ,and most of all our daughter, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 97% 29%
White 2% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Opera
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Gardening
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Opera
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Gardening
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12975 SW 6th St
Miami, FL 33184
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 227-1149

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT