Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Conchita Espinosa Academy

Private | PK-8 | 670 students

CEA offers excellent academics, sensitivity to the arts, and strong human values
 
 

 
 

Living in Miami

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $180,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 13 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 25, 2014

I am a mom of three and currently have two of my children at CEA. My third child will begin attending next year. I recommend this school to any parent who would like to have a well rounded child. My children have excelled as individuals not only learners due to the teachers amazing knowledge and delivery methods. The administration is incredible... You are not a number but part of a family. They know you by name and are aware at all times the progress that your child is making. Administration is open-minded and always willing to listen to suggestions to improve the students overall learning and experience. This school is one of a kind. I am a public school teacher and I am aware of how lucky I am to have my children at CEA. I would not put my children in the hands of anyone else. I feel honored and blessed to be part if this wonderful community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

Although I would love to give it 5 stars for our experience in the elementary, the middle school particularly 7th and 8th grade math and science are so terrible that it brought my rating down to 3 stars. Overall, my children enjoyed the environment there. They made good friends and the teachers, particularly in the elementary, were exceptional and cared deeply about the complete child. The school is phenomenal if your children are inclined towards the arts, however, if they are not it may be difficult for them. Their tuition has risen substantially, as the quality of the middle school teaching has dropped exponentially. Essentially, in my opinion the school is good, not great. There is room for improvement as in any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2013

CEA is an outstanding school! If you are looking for a school that will prepare your son/daughter for admission and a successful experience in any of the top rated high schools in Miami, then CEA is it. They offer solid academics in a wholesome environment that promotes the type of values that parents willing to pay for a private education typically want for their children. One very telling fact is the number of public school teachers and administrators that choose CEA for the education of their children. This is my recommendation to you: go and visit the place. Casually talk to the parents. Call the admissions department of the top rated high schools in the area and ask them about their experience with CEA graduates. It is worth it to do your homework! CEA is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2013

Reflections from an alumni: Conchita Espinosa Academy has been a marvelous experience. It has always been more than a school; it has been a second home. Ever since we were little CEA has been teaching more than academics. If you asked anyone in the Class of 2012, what they ve learned in their years here at Conchita, you d get answers like: I ve learned to be kind and grateful, or I ve learned to be humble. CEA is our family, and it will not be easy leaving CEA, but I think I can speak for everyone when I say, we will VERY MUCH miss this loving family.


Posted December 13, 2013

Conchita Espinosa Academy provided my daughter and sons with a solid academic, arts and values education that gave them the tools to succeed in nationally top ranked high schools and colleges. A family atmosphere centered on kindness to others and forming citizens that are responsible, conscientious members of society combined with rigorous academics and a strong arts education are some of the ingredients in their recipe for success. I am now proud to be a CEA Grandmother as our family continues to be blessed to be part of a school that is truly like no other!.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2013

The school relies on past achievement, and presently leaves a lot to be desired considering the extremely high tuition. The education is mediocre at best. The high student to teacher ratio is supplemented by giving the parents teaching responsibilities, relieving the teachers from basic duties. Diversity of any kind is non-existent and therefore does not prepare our children for the real world. It should also be mentioned that a great amount of the students are relatives of the faculty whom attend for free, and therefore think the school is perfect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2013

Conchita is an excellent elementary/middle school that provides a truly balanced learning experience for its students. Graduates leave the school as well-rounded individuals, ready to take on the challenges of high school. Technology wise, the school took measured steps and, as a result, has developed an excellent program for our 6th grade daughter with IPAD based programs supplemented with traditional methods. I've never seen my daughter more engaged in the learning experience and excited to attend school. I cannot speak highly enough of this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

I wouldn't even think about any other school for my children. The balance of the arts, traditional learning styles and now the integration of technology are impressive. I love the family atmosphere and cozy feeling. As to fundraisers, there are two major ones but every year I see where every penny goes and it is all worth it. There are no schools like CEA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

Academics are somewhat overrated, especially as the kids get older. The school is very solid at the basics, yet not so strong at critical thinking, as kids get older. If your son or daughter is very bright, stick with a magnet or gifted public school program. There is also a difference between the experience for boys v. girls. Girls generally flourish. Boys get by and then leave to Belen in 6th grade. Boy's athletics are very basic and most parents put their kids in sports elsewhere. There are next to no male role models or male teachers. For girls, especially girls that enjoy the arts, it is an outstanding school, and I would recommend strongly for the artically inclined girl.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

My two daughters attended Conchita Espinosa Academy. My husband and I were both extremely happy with the school and the excellent education they provided for our children. Not only did they receive a wonderful education, but they also learned core values that have stayed with them throughout their lives. Conchita forms their students to be intelligent, well-rounded, independent, and most importantly, kind individuals. I would recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2013

Totally over rated with academic achievements. It's mostly a money making institution, where education and students come as an after thought regardless of their claims. They are presently desperate trying to bring in money, so expect anything.


Posted September 6, 2013

My husband and I have been very pleased with the school. This is our daughter's second year at Conchita and we love that the school is a very close family environment. We had a great experience with our daughter's teachers during her first year, and also with the other staff. The school offers a great balance of academics and the arts, which is the the philosophy we want our daughter to have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2013

As a parent, I thought that Conchita Espinosa Academy was a great school.... until middle school began. If this school was an elementary school, I would give CEA an easy five stars. Unfortunately, for them they have three extra years that I don't think they even care about. Sixth grade isn't that bad, but then you go to the last two grades (7th and 8th grades.) Of course, they have a few good teachers, but the bad ones outmatch them. Another problem with the school is how small it is, my poor son had to go from an environment of about 60 students, to 400 students in Columbus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

Though the academics in the school USED to be way above grade level, I found that requirements are not as rigorous as they were when Conchita herself was in charge. They blatantly dislike other private schools in the area and vigorously encourage students not to go there for middle or high school. Teacher turn over is frequent and technological advances are slow if anything! The conservatory is fine at the elementary level but I found that technique is not taught independently as a true conservatory school should. Would make different choices if I had the chance again.


Posted January 28, 2013

I could never say enough about CEA My daughter went to that school when it was located at S.W. 8 St. & 22 Ave. The education and support she received at CEA was exceptional. This is worth noting, when the girls from CEA took the entrance exam at Our Lady of Lourdes Academy.they were placed in HONORS classes and ti was thanks to the wonderful education they received at CEA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2011

Conchita Espinosa Academy provides an excellent, well rounded education from K4-8th grade. The conservatory of the arts provides classes ranging from tap and Cuban dance to karate and ballet. Ms. Danela is a highly imaginative and experienced dance teacher. She has passed on her passion for dance onto her students, while Mrs. Marlin has the children creating truly amazing works of art in the art room. This school also provides a very strong upper level Spanish program fortified by Ms. Elena, who has taught my child how to speak Spanish properly, as she works wonders and opens up doors for her students in her applied Spanish conversation class. Upper level teachers such as Mr. Cabrera, the 6th grade math and science teacher, have taught my child to utilize her critical thinking skills in all areas of their lives, while arousing her thirst for knowledge and appreciation for math and science. Both the elementary and middle school principles are very involved guided by the wisdom of the Director Maribel Diaz.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2010

I wouldn't trust any other school for my children. All of the staff, parents and kids are like a huge family. They have an excellent academic program and the conservatory teaches the kids the love for arts!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2010

I highly recommend this wonderful place my two sons call second home. The program is challenging as well as attractive for those students and parents who are looking for the best in today's education. The Conservatory of the Arts is already graduating students entering the top Art high schools in the nation such as New World School of the Arts, Design and Architecture Senior High, Coral Reef, and others. The ambiance is one of security and joy for everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2010

I think is an excellent school. I wish they could offer high-school. I've been there for 9 years and i'm very happy. I'm very involve in the school and that's very important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

We higly recommend CEA. The academics are excellent, but the school does not stop just at academics. Children are taught about the arts and how to contribute to their community. CEA educates the 'whole' child to make them a 'complete' adult.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 97% 29%
White 2% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Opera
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Gardening
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Opera
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Gardening
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12975 SW 6th St
Miami, FL 33184
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 227-1149

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT