Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Emerson Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 378 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

Great school. Great teachers. Excellent communication with teachers and staff. Excellent Pre-K teacher. I'm so happy with my daughter teacher
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2012

Great school. SOME good teachers. HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE principal! She is mean she has no heart for the children what so ever! Both my eldest and my youngest went their so I have been visiting that school for a VERY long time and she doesn't even acknowledge me nor does she give me the time of day. She does nothing but sit in her office on the computer, but then she complains how parents aren't involved or how the school doesn't have any money. Maybe if she actually did something and spent money on the school and not all her plastic surgery (nothing is gonna make that face better) then the school would be better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2012

I like that this school is a small neighborhood school. It makes the atmosphere more children friendly. The teachers and staff really get to know the kids. I have noticed teachers that haven't had my child in their class greet them by name. I also like that it is a bilingual school. The music teacher is great. The physical education program is also very strong. The principal greets every student as they enter the school. I always receive notices about special parent trainings at the school. I only wish they were at night since I work. Many of the teachers volunteer after school to tutor for free. There is also another regular tutoring program organized by the school but only some students are eligible so the free tutoring that those volunteer teachers offer is great. My child's teacher calls me during the day but she even calls me on the weekend and we texted each other. She has sent me pictures of my child in school doing special activities. This is above and beyond any teacher parent communication I have ever experienced and I love it. I have never had so much access to a teacher. I am very happy about this school and the teachers. And of course it is an A school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

This school it's getting worst and worst everyday, the copy machine does not work, no printer, the computers most of the time are broken, the bathrooms are disgusting; and they said that is because the budget, but the princippal Ms. Acosta is traveling around the world with the consuler Ms Hernandez, and the teachers of course doing nothing, but complaining. what a sad school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2012

Academics: POOR Parents Involvement: 00 Teachers and Staff: NOT SO GOOD. They are there just for the check, not for the kids. The principal and assit principal are not advocate for the children of the school. Roaches: EVERYWHERE! Never consider enrolling your child in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2011

I have two kids at this school and I have to point out that the teachers needs more communication with parents, it's hard to get in touch with them and I believe that communication between parents and teachers it most be a # 1 issue for our kids to get the best results especially en elementary schools, other than that it's a great school, the Principal welcomes the students, every morning at the front door, academic results to the best of my knowledge are good, the activities programs involving parents is great (this is our chance to ask about our kids) and one suggestion for the office stuff, please look at your Principal she is a great lady and be more presentable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

This i one of the best school in miami all the teacher are great most of them take the time with their students even after school hour with out getting paid. Example Mrs Silvia Vazquez and Mrs Holland. Its a great school everyone seems to care from the Asistant Principal I think her name is Vivian, teachers, from the ladies in the cafeteria and even the custodians. They are all great i have even heard of Custodian worring and making sure kids eat while they clean ( Ophelia) I love this school my son is in middle school now and i highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2010

Emerson has some good teachers.. . But some teachers barely speak English. Communication between administration and staff is poor at best, one hand never knows what the other is doing. There are safety hazards which have been pointed out to school administration and the Dade County School Board but the hazards remain. Some of the employees, including teachers, have no manners and could use a class in civics. The Emerson website boasts of an "open door policy" but you better have an appointment to get to that "open door". My third grader's lunchtime is at 10:30 AM, the USDA thinks that's unacceptable, so do I, but some of the kindergarten kids have their lunch at 9:55 AM. The administration at Emerson seems more concerned with how well the kids do on the F-Cat than with their welfare and whether they actually learn. Mrs Welsch, the PE teacher is excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

This school is one of the best public schools in Miami. My son is an athlete and they have great afterschool activities such as baseball, art and music which he is in. I reccommend this school to any parent out there. I see they had some bad reviews but they are older and not accurate as of today, Next year will be my sons 5th year, any reccomendations for middle school?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2008

The curriculum for this school is extremely weak. Most teachers that have been working there have been teaching for 20+ years and they continue to have the old fashion philosophy. They are not technology oriented. In my case the teacher was a typical old style teacher who explains things on the board once and has students work on their workbook. I am very dissapointed with this school. I am wondering how this problem has been ignored by administration. I think administration is also part of the problem. The assistant principle is not aware of the curriculum and is just there. I am very dissapointed with this school. I can not believe that such a small school with such a low number of students is a 'B' school. This is unacceptable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2007

The classes are small which promotes a better environment for the children to learn. Teachers can focus more on the students in an individual manner. This is an A school and has been for several years. I myself came to this school and I'm proud to say that my daughter is here now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2005

I was originally drawn to the school for its A report card & relatively small school size. I came to discover that, that the Fcat A is all the teachers & administration aspire to. The safety was decent. The BEST thing about the school was & still is Emerson Players. The aftercare staff are genuninely nice. Unfortunately the other public school choices in the area aren't any better so we switched to private for our children as did my sibling with her children - same school, 2 years later.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2005

Emerson is a small neighborhood school with great faculty and administration. It has been an 'A' school for three years in a row and the FCAT scores just came out making it four in a row. The teachers really care and are dedicated plus it is a bilingual school. That means the classes are conducted both in English and Spanish. It also has a beautiful library and wonderful AR program. I recommend it highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2004

Emerson is a small public school, with a great principal, teachers, and after care program. They have extracurricular activities such as tutoring, which is a PLUS and has helped my daughter with her math and reading. Can't say enough nice things about the school. If you are looking for a good, small school, with good teachers, a principal who really cares and a wonderful aftercare program, this is your school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

My two kids have attended this school since kinder and you forget its not a private school. The teachers and the whole staff treat the kids as well as the parents as Family. They are very caring and always cummunicating with us as to how our children are doing. My daughter was having some difficulty with reading and the teacher right a way let my husband & I know and she had the school put her in there tutoring program and has been very pacient and loving with her & she has improved 100%. Having been brought up in the private school sector. I highly recommend this public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

They have a great music teacher and music program.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
41%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

63 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 95%
White 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 11%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 52%58%61%
Master's degree 41%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MARIA P ACOSTA
Fax number
  • (305) 267-2476

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8001 Southwest 36th Street
Miami, FL 33155
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 264-5757

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT