Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public charter
Miami, FL
Students enrolled: 402
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


International Studies Charter High School 5

Posted September 25, 2014
- a student
My school is ranked the best public/charter highschool in the state of Florida. This is something that does not impress me. The learning environment is amazing and we have the opportunity to be part of the spanish, french, or italian program. Our FCAT and EOC scores are very high in comparison to other schools' and really good just in general, especially the math scores since we have a lot of foreign students which is why the reading scores might not be as good. Another great thing is the number of students and teachers. We basically all know each other and are like a big family and since we are so diverse at a cultural and ethnic level we can all learn and experience new things and meet new cultures. We might not have a big campus, cheerleaders, and be the ideal american dream high school but when you're here you forget about all that :-)
2 people found this helpful

International Studies Charter High School 5

Posted June 06, 2014
- a parent
If you want total international learning with high quality teachers thi is the only school in Miami. Full Frech Bac and Spanish and Italiand high school testing It gets the best rating from me and all testing scores.


International Studies Charter High School 5

Posted June 06, 2014
- a parent
The size of an School is not the grade to judge of a school. It is the quality of FCAT , AP test and International Bac graduation Rate. If your kid comes from a private school beware this is not a joke prepaid grade system; it has to be ready to compete. Miami is a multilingual melting pot and this school is the only option for real International French Bac or Spanish Bac in Miami. Plus your kids can mix clases in all languages ; Spanish; French and Italian. French Bac graduates can go to France and Canada with the best Diploma they can get in Miami and extra credits to all US Universities.
1 person found this helpful

International Studies Charter High School 5

Posted August 14, 2013
- a parent
ISCH is a wonderful school. It has a Middle school as well as the High school with a total student body of less than 700 students. Since the school is small, everyone tends to know each other. The teachers are great! With languages such as French, Italian and Spanish, the students WILL learn a second language for FREE. Top school in the nation as well as in the state of Florida, I can only commend the Principal and staff for having a hands on approach to this wonderful school. Security is great and no wonder this school is an A+. The students that graduate from here will most likely ( over 90%) will continue to the university. Thank you for challenging my child and being a top school!

International Studies Charter High School 5

Posted January 15, 2013
- a student
ISCHS - BEST SCHOOL IN SOUTH FLORIDA ? YES IT IS. some kids want oppurtunitys in this school , to try to get an amazing education and an amazing scholarship . PARENTS SHOULD'NT COMPLAIN. the students are well mannered , the teachers are amazing and especially the principal . he can get on your nerves , but he's just there to teach you and he doesnt want you to do bad in school he just wants you to do your best on you're exams . the school is small so what atleast it has less than 500 students. you have better chances of getting A's and B's in the class if there are less students in the class , and you can also concentrate more. Im writting this because i love ischs and it was ranked the 7th best school in south florida and its a language school . ischs is just the best of the BEST !


International Studies Charter High School 1

Posted July 01, 2012
- a parent
This school is an absolute joke. It does not live up to the expectations I had. The students at this school are a very bad influence and have no respect or manners whatsoever. The principal is incredibly rude with the students, he screams in their faces, curses at them, tries to throw things at them. The staff at the school is very close-minded and do not help any students who are being harassed because of their sexuality. This school supposedly will have you fluent in a language in 3 years, I have yet to learn one correct form of french because of the delay of teachers arriving from europe. My child was left without a teacher for half of the year in their french class, and hasn't learned one thing. The Physical Education teacher is incredibly rude to the younger students, not to mention the fact that the P.E. is in a parking lot and there is no shade whatsoever. This school is a joke and I DO NOT RECOMMEND YOU SENDING YOUR CHILD HERE. My child is being taken out because of the horrible years they've spent here.

International Studies Charter High School 5

Posted April 11, 2012
- a parent
I must say that it is sad that parents judge the school for the size of the halls and that the classes are tiny unlike other overcrowded schools, what a privilege! They should concentrate their critical efforts to enumerate the leadership from its principal and staff, the academics, accomplishments, national recognitions and so many other merits ISCHS has so far been able to achieve. The teachers are very qualified, dedicated individuals solely compromised to raising the bar for each student and very concerned for the future of the student body. My son graduated from ISCHS, when he attended the school, we were taking a risk and if I have to do it again, I would not hesitate it a bit. He went to the Honors College at MDC and now he is at UF. The great memories will last a lifetime, the education he received priceless.

International Studies Charter High School 1

Posted November 30, 2011
- a community member
One word: deplorable This school is by far the most deplorable one throughout Florida... Not spending good time time, school is tiny, hallways are narrow, classes are so small. Most of the professors are not qualified to teach their class... Avoid ISCHS.


International Studies Charter High School 5

Posted January 24, 2011
- a parent
I'm super happy with the school, keep students aware of their responsibility as exemplary students, maintaining a level of excellence. The principal is very good he is aware of your students in general, without neglecting any detail, developed further activities to keep children motivated to supporting them in their sports and all they do. .

International Studies Charter High School 5

Posted December 18, 2010
- a parent
My child currently attends this school and I am extremely happy with it. My child comes home happy everyday and he loves his teachers and classmates. I truely believe this is an excellent school for anyone who is looking for a small, private school like environment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

International Studies Charter High School
2480 Southwest 8th Street, Miami, FL  33135
(305) 643-2955
Last modified International Studies Charter High School is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
International Studies Charter High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top