Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Royal Green Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 565 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 7, 2014

Excellent school, dedicated teachers, amazing staff and great administration. I will recommend this school to any parent. Thank you to all Royal Green Elementary personnel for your dedication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2014

I think the teachers are great.they help us achieve goals. We already did the fcat writes and I think I did pretty good.


Posted October 22, 2010

The teachers 5 stars. The principal and admin staff a negative # result -avg 3. The teachers make up for the POOR admin staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

The teachers are the best! However Im not happy with the couselor, the assistant principal and the office staff who seem to get to 'personal' with kids and parents. My child was given Mc Donalds food by an office staff w/o consulting with me. Scary!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2009

What a difference an AP makes! I feel that my kids interest is important. What I say is important. too bad the FCAT seems to be taking over!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

Although my son and daughters teachers were very nice and seemed to care about their students....I found there to be a lot of disorganization and inconsistency. After moving from out of state, my son had a rough transition. I let the school know, and spoke to the counselor who assured me she would talk to him and help him. The school year is over now, and she never talked to him. The teachers give an outrageous amount of homework, and it seems the entire class day revolves around FCAT prep. Students get home needing clarification on homework because it wasn't taught. Pick up and drop off is a nightmare with parents being allowed to rush inside the gates at dismissal creating chaos. I am moving my kids and would only recommend this school if you don't care about the above mentioned factors. The environment is friendly staff is nice
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2008

The kids are convinced that as long as they pass the FCAT all the other classes can be forgotten. The school has proved this to them and pushed the issue so much I am not sure how much the kids actually learned. Afterschool is about playing and not doing homework. My first experience there and so far I am not impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2006

great school at least the pre-k class my daughter was in was the best
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2005

Son and daughter both went there. Good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2005

this is a good school with excellent teachers.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 18, 2004

I think the school has improved a great deal with Dr. Zampino a board, but still has a long way to go in regards to the level of teachers and student follow up
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2004

Royal Green is a wonderful school. The teachers are for the most part excellent, very well educated and concerned about the students they teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

128 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 98%
White 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 45%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%58%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ALBA M MISAS
Fax number
  • (305) 220-6238

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13047 Southwest 47th Street
Miami, FL 33175
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 221-4452

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT