Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,164 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shenandoah Middle School 1

Posted December 29, 2014
- a parent
My child is a straight A+ student but fails in math usually ends up with a C- but with this so called 'Magnet education' that is offered towards her is not helping with my child's education. she now has a F and completes all her work. One day at a gathering with her friends they all told me how the schools Math teachers are a repellant to learning they called them Lazy, Ignorant, and fails to explain the terms in the mathematical lesson. There other teachers are the same all in all and now my daughter is hanging in all her classes with a low C this should not be happening. Shenandoah fails to understand her future and failed her. I would not recommend Shenandoah.

Shenandoah Middle School 1

Posted August 04, 2014
- a parent
Please don't bring you kid to this school, the security is very bad in there, everyday are fights in front to the teaches and nobody cares, the education is awful, special the science teacher, that like to be to much close to the feminine students.


Shenandoah Middle School 3

Posted December 20, 2013
- a community member
Shenandoah Middle school best quality is it's staff. Amazing educators that will inspire you and allow you to have a happy learning experience. They don't want to stress you out they just want you to be an innovator. Ms. Pestana, Ms. Perez-Noy, Ms. Lancis are top of the line teachers, you couldn't ask for more knowledge driven people like these. Shenandoah Middle does need to work on the creating schedules process, time after time students were put into classes far from what they have chosen and it just makes them have a bad middle school experience. Schedule need to be given more importance too.

Shenandoah Middle School 1

Posted August 10, 2013
- a community member
This school is going down if the music program is removed. Hopefully other electives will remain.

Shenandoah Middle School 5

Posted February 06, 2011
- a community member
This school is the best!!!!!!!!!!! the best teachers are Ms.Jolicoeur, Ms.Midence, Mr.Leon, and Ms.Cruz. If you are going to middle school or wanting to change schools, GO TO SHENANDOAH CUZ ITS THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Shenandoah Middle School 5

Posted January 19, 2011
- a community member
Best magnet school on Miami!!!!! It has the best quality but don't join the bilingual program at Shenandoah!!!

Shenandoah Middle School 5

Posted April 02, 2010
- a student
i graduated class of 09 from shenandoah this school is so great!!! i dont kno y people are always sayin its such a bad school in every school yoour gonna have bad kids and the EFL Program is awsoem i had so many good teachers like Ms.Humara , Ms.M.Rodriguez ,Mr.Tenacio, Ms.Askins,Mr.Smith,..and so many more awsome shool!

Shenandoah Middle School 5

Posted September 22, 2009
- a student
This school is the best school ever, there's many great teachers, who are dedicated in making sure we get the best curriculum needed and there really nice, I'm in the bilingual program and the magnet program. I love shenandoah!!!


Shenandoah Middle School
no rating

Posted March 07, 2009
- a student
Ms.Jolicoeur is the best teacher ever!!!!!!!!!!!! This school is very good.

Shenandoah Middle School 5

Posted April 09, 2008
- a parent
The schools security is excellent. Teachers and the office faculty have one message that is very clear and powerful, education is the number one priority. My other option was South Miami, I was almost fooled by the advertising. Thankfully I did some research on my own and found out disturbing things about the school program, teachers, and student treatment. Way too much fundraising with bad intentions, they sell pizza,cookies,sweets and soft drinks daily. These are the things that we are supposed to be trying to get away from for our children and teach them good eating habits for life. Parents who do not have children in any of the magnet programs are never made aware of any shows and the kids are treated as second-class students. The school is mostly interested in the magnet program children. No focus on education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shenandoah Middle School
1950 Southwest 19th Street, Miami, FL  33145
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (305) 856-8282
Last modified Shenandoah Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top