Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Miami Beach Senior High School

Public | 9-12 | 1968 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2013

NMB is actually a really good school. I'm about to be a junior in the BEAM program and I can say that the teachers are actually really committed and care about the students. They offer great internships and is one of the first schools to take part in the AP Cambridge/Capstone program. The only problem is the KIDS. A lot of them are delinquents who don't care about school and they are the ones who give NMB a bad name. Other than that, I think NMB is a really good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2010

This school, though with many shortcomings, has excellent staff and instructors, an exceptional principal, and a Magnet program to top it all off. Though I can't speak for the "regular" students, the BEAM program is wonderful and is an enriching educational experience. Starting my junior year, I have experienced two years of wonderful teachers and above-average students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2010

DHATTTT!!! This school LIVE!!! Am a junior and have too much fun since my freshy year. Band live too!! Dhatt!!!


Posted September 1, 2009

My daughter is in the Beam program at NMB and in her freshman year she did her honors gifted and AP class and scored well. Like I tell my daughter everyday If one student pass the class then you don't have an excuse. High School is not about having a good time it is the door to your future and you have the power to create the future you want.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2009

This school isn't all that bad,but there is plenty of room for improvment.I attend NMB as a sophomore and my first year with the teachers was not a great experience.Most of the teachers rarely teach,they just throw workbooks in your face and demand you to do it.I honestly dont remember anything from my following year.The Beam program is very good,but im not in the program and i have honors and advance and have the same classes and teachers as they do so to me there isn't that much of a difference.One of the best things of attending NMB is the after school programs,there is a variety of thingsa that can help you succeed during your highschools year to after you graduate.I am very proud to call myself a charger.!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 10, 2009

NMB well this is a okay school for this community I mean it's not the best of schools in Miami-Dade county but I experience not so good things in that school the violence is outrageous the hall ways are always crowded while classes are going on and their a very few nice teachers who'll actually go out their way to help a student. Their nursing program is good but it's like they give it to ppl who they want to have it regaurdless of your grades. I had a very upsetting experience with my teacher on my first day there he refused to go oever the work again with me one on one and I couldn't change my class it the middle of the year he was intimidating and rude and he faild me for the year...the principal I just met him in my junior year never new he look like
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 8, 2009

I am a junior at a NMB, and honestly I am impatiently waiting for June 2010. Some teachers and students are disrespectful! and those teachers feel the need to put down students and not give them hope for their remaining years and to further their education. The violence here has sky-rocketed. One thing that I have noticed in my years of attending is favoritism. The BEAM students as well as the kids that plays sports. I'm not a BEAM student but I do take the same classes as those that are in BEAM and even higher classes and I'm excelling. However, I'm not offered the same 'special' things as them. But this school is one of better schools in this area.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2008

NMB Senior High school is a perfectly reasonable school to attend. As a student, I find that the only thing really lacking in the school is money. It is a pretty poor school but it's better than some of our neighboring schools. The teachers and faculty are overall very caring and helpful, and the extra curricular activities are top notch.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 12, 2008

Being a current student at North Miami Beach shall say that it is not a good school. Some of the teachers are great others just care about their pay check. I've had a teacher tell me 'NO' I would not explain it again after telling that I did not understand. The school also has lack security if they security was eally on point the students would not be skipping around in the halls all day, and other people who don't belong on campus would not be there. NMB is bacially a fashion show kids are going to be kids but the school is outrageous. Something needs to be done about this the gangs and fighting and everything else I rate this school BELOW AVERAGE and than god that I left the school.


Posted May 9, 2008

NMB is a good school with a less then good reputation. The BEAM program is awesome and provides for most of the diversity in the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 29, 2007

As a senior at this school, I have seen many, many different aspects of NMB. In all honesty, most of the honours and gifted teachers are the best, while others seem to have given up all hope. The school is dirty and over crowded. The main focus is either the band or football. The security is poor, very poor. The administration is not helpful. Which is ashame, because some of the best teachers work for this school, and are terribly underpaid. All in all...there are better schools out there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2007

I'M not saying that NMB is the best school in FL, well for me it is. Everything are great there. And I would recommend it to any parents who want to see their kids success. This school is totally good
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2007

Although there are problems within the student body, I've seen many advantages in being a student of North Miami Beach Sr High. I feel that many teachers care about their jobs and their students--lets not point out the spoiling apples in the barrel. The magnet program provides many opportunities to reach every one of their students. They are truly involved with the students; they always check on their grades and talking to the kids. The teachers that are hired are amazing and I feel that without that program, the image of the NMB Sr. High would be forever ruined. I think some sports and extracurricular actitives are not encouraged by the administration or by some teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2007

Unfortunately, this school has teachers who simply do not care about the students and administration that focuses more on the bad aspect of every student rather than good qualities the students posses. The faculty and staff of North Miami Beach Senior High School has become very short sighted and are losing many students as a result.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2006

a great school with a lot of potential. This school has a great staff and motivate their students to do their best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2005

the level of commitment in the teachers at north miami beach is the most important aspect that helps this school excel. the school is undergoing a reconstruction period as a new building is being built.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 22, 2005

This is a pretty good high school for the area. There's a good mix of nationality and race, so that kids are exposed to many different types of people. The teachers are involved and seem truly concerned about the kids futures. The classes are definitely challengind and there is a variety of extracaricular activities, such as devate club, sports , cheerleading, and an interesting work study program, which entitles kids to leave after a half day of schoool to go to work. This is only available to high school seniors, who have fulfilled requirements. it's a good prepratory school for college seeking and non continuing students both.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 15, 2004

Apathetic staff and administration. School is concerned more with safety than quality of education. Environment is bleak and depressing; windows are needed.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 8, 2004

Although the medical and environmental magnet program is a good idea, I find that the students who enter the medical program are favored and given more field trip, scholarship, community service, and parental involvement opportunities than those students enrolled in the environmental studies program. There also seems to a favoring by the head of the program of those students enrolled in the medical program or taking gifted courses. These issues should never exist in a state-funded program, because a child's quality of education and support from the teachers, staff, and parents, regardless of what program strand they are in, should be paramount. Otherwise the program should just be labelled an exercise in reverse discrimination!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2004

I honestly find this school to be sub standard and below quality. I was told there would be a maximum of about 15 students per class only to find out that my son has about 42 students in most of his classes. The principal seems to love spending money on his gym and basketball and football and a surveilence system but neglects needed classes and even took out some of the classes to have more over crowding in classrooms.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

428 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
34%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

463 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

454 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

524 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

349 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
28%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

430 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
51%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

433 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
41%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

362 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 75%
Hispanic 19%
White 3%
Asian 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 15%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 3%N/A2%
Graduation rate 82%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 55%58%61%
Master's degree 42%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 14%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. RANDY A MILLIKEN
Fax number
  • (305) 949-0491

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1247 Northeast 167th Street
Miami, FL 33162
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 949-8381

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

AIU High School
North Miami Beach, FL



Bethel Christian Learning Center
North Miami Beach, FL


Beth Jacob High School
North Miami Beach, FL



Allison Academy
North Miami Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT