Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Devon Aire K-8 Center

Public | PK-8 | 1524 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

My children have been in Devonaire k 8 center since kindergarten and I feel our school is one of the best schools in Miami Dade.We are like a family.We all care about each other. We have the best teachers and have been an A+ school for many years,which I feel id proof of what a great school we have.They really deserve the $5000.00 dollars. Ms.Miranda
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2013

The teachers are suoer. The school employees are very personable. They get to know the parents and it feels like family. The education is very good. Except I hear the spanish teacher spends her time buying shoes online instead of teaching. The new principal is very involved and very caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

Incredible attention to all aspects of your children's education. Administration, faculty and the entire staff is committed to the success of the children. PTA is great and very involved. It is a blessing and an honor to be in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

First of all I do like the school but I have a problem with security of the school and the principal. He stated in a phone message to all parents he is doing everything for the security of the school. I'd have to so negative. Anyone can walk in without being challenged. I do have to say the teachers I have seen so far are very good. They talk to the parents and keep everyone informed of what is going on. The principal is out of date on issues time to retire.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

The principal hates hispanics which is funny since we are in Miami, never says hello, not educated either kind or polite. I think he needs to go home and retire
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2012

it school is superrrrrrrr good i love you so much , i have 3 grandchildrens hear. it is the number one


Posted June 26, 2011

Good school, but can be better in relation with kids with special needs. Need be more proactive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2011

THIS IS AN AMAZING SCHOOL. THE TEACHERS TRULY CARE AND THE ENVIRONMENT IS VERY DIVERSE. It's one of the few top Miami public schools; the environment is very safe. I defiantly recommend it. The school is like a family.


Posted August 22, 2010

The Principle comes from a middle school and caters to middle schools needs. There isn't enough support for special needs children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2010

Devon Aire got the best principal in Miami-Dade County. There is no one else like him. He is positive, knowledgable, and loving. He makes the kids love school, the teachers work hard for him, and he creates a very positive attitude and environment around him.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 6, 2010

Because it's a school in my neighborhood, this way kids in this area can go to a school close at home. The many programs the school offers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2010

I LOVE this school im a student and i LOVE it and i recommend for your child to go.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2009

This school is the best, Scince ever, it has been sooo awesome. The teachers really understand you, and class isnt so seroius. You get to have fun, They make learning a very fun experience. Everyday, I cant leave that school without laughing just once! :D I am am so sad That i will have to leave in eight grade, though they set me on the path to sucess! I believe no school is better than this one. And by not joining the jaguar family, you make the biggest mistake everrrrr
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2009

It is a very safe place, no tolerance for bullies, great teachers, great administrators great PTSA and great children who respect each others. It is an A1A School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2009

DAK8 is an AMAZING school ! My kids love it(:
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2009

Devon aire is a great school but i must say i am not very pleased with the principal he has been gone for two months and no one knows where heb has gone so the school is great but not amazing
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 11, 2008

Devon Aire K-8 Center is an amazing school. There is a new principal on board and he is a wonderful asset to the school. He has great ideas, is a great facilitator, is knowledgeable in data and information, and has only the best intentions for the safety and education of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2008

we are very happy to to have our children in that school, the new Principal comes with fresh and new ideas and we support him 100% keep it up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2008

The After School care program at Devonaire has to be the best i have ever seen. The employees at this school are very caring to all there students. My son has been in this school for the last five years and he says that he always has a good time in this program. Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2008

I have been a parent with Devonaire School since 1992. My oldest son now 20 attended Devonaire and now is college bound thanks to the early education years and care that my son obtained attending this school. The Principal/s, faculty and teachers were/are the best with only the best interest of the child in mind. My youngest who is 13 has been attending this school since Pre-K. Since the time my oldest son attended, the school has just improved more & more for the better. Now with the new middle school it gives the kids the opportunity to stay & attend the middle school w/o taking them out of a very healthy & stable environment. I consider myself quite fortunate that I live in the Devonaire community and that my children have had/have the ability to attend this school. It is definately an A++ rating school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

162 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

162 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

174 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

173 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

166 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

199 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

181 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

144 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

181 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

169 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

169 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
97%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 79%
White 12%
Asian 4%
Black 4%
Two or more races 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 58%58%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%2%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10501 Southwest 122nd Avenue
Miami, FL 33186
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 274-7100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT