Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Joe Hall Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 585 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 5, 2014

Parents are not welcome! Comitted to break up teacher/parent communication, the principal has locked down school and no parent can go inside. Events, class activities, and parent participation are not being encouraged. Parents are frustrated because their complaints are ignored, eventhough the principal is well aware of issues, has done nothing to address them and everything to provoke them. Terrible management!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2014

I love this school and my kids love this school. My daughter graduated from Joe Hall and my son is in the 4th grade. My daughter still loves to visit the school and visit her incredible teachers. I would highly recommend this school to any parent looking for a new school for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2014

The school has down hill in the last year. The parents have been locked out and no longer able to be as involved as they use to be. There are no longer activities the kids enjoy to break up all the learning. THe administration is seriously lacking on many things. Its time for a change in administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

It is a wonderful school. My daughter began on Kindergarten last year. She didn't know English. Today, her English is perfect and her grades are very good. Teachers are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2013

My children feels very good in this school. Excellent staff and very good teachers. For me is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2013

I love Joe Hall! Both of my daughters have attended this school since Kindergarten and they have both received a stellar education at this public school. I sometimes have to stop and remember that I am not PAYING a high end private school for what we are getting. The teachers and principal and all the volunteers at the school are all competent and care. Joe hall is a fantastic, caring, loving school. You would not be disappointed if your child attends Joe Hall, especially if the principal is Mrs. Abreu. Continue to do the work your team and staff is providing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2012

I have nothing but great things to say about the school and its teachers. My daughter started in PRE- K with Ms. Quintero and Ms. Gigi - they treated my little 4 yr old like their own. I love them they set a HIGH standard as to what her Kinder teacher should be like. This year I made sure that my daughter had one of the best K teachers and she has - Ms. Loguzzo is very sweet, understanding and if there is ever something wrong she makes me aware - love her! Now there is a BLONDE ART teacher who IS NOT my daughters teacher but who "greets" all the kids in the morning on the side of the school - She is the RUDEST PERSON alive. If your children have her BEWARE !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2012

I am so happy with this school. The organization, the respect and care that the staff shows for the students and parents. The teachers want their students learn as much as they can and help them to be responsible with their work. Mrs Georgoulakis is one of the best, my respect for her. Education and instruction depends from a team work (family and school) if one do not support the other is impossible to obtain the goal. I have change my kids from different schools because I hadn't found the excellence. Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2012

To the whole world: Make sure that your kids are not with Mrs. Garden-Cruz she is a terrible teacher matter fact the worse theacher in the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2012

My second child in this school has also scored very well in the FCAT this year. He is in the 3rd grade and moving on to the 4th after scoring a 5 and 4. I am very proud that we chose Joe Hall Elementary for our children. I would also like to show appreciation to two great teachers at Joe Hall Elementary. Mrs. Rubin (retired) and Mrs. Nierenberg (passed away). Both teachers contributed to my son's education. Thank you so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2012

Parents: make sure your kids don't go with MRS Douce or MRS Garden Cruz they are the worst teacher I have been met in my life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2010

Joe Hall Elementary truly is a great school. Everyone at Joe Hall starting with the custodians all the way to the Principal are very dedicated and care about our kids safety and education. I am so glad my daughter is in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2009

My daughter has been going to Joe Hall since Kindergarten, she is now in 4th grade. Now my son is just starting K and they both love the school and their teachers. I'm very happy with the school administration specially the principal and office staff. The teachers are great and very dedicated. Mrs. Paez, Ms. Apleker, Ms. Hoover, Ms. Kelly and Ms. A.Perez are very gifted teachers. In general, this is one of the best elementary schools of the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2009

Joe Hall Elementary is an outstanding school! As a parent, one always wants the best for thier child. Joe Hall provides the children with an excellent education, as well as a safe, loving, and nurturing environment. My daughter is a student there and she is happy to be a part of such a great place. She is eager to learn and enjoys going to to school. Some teachers that definitely deserve recognition for their oustanding work with the kids are Ms. Hoover, Ms. Paez, and Mrs. Baz-Gonzalez. These teachers love what they do and it shows in how they interact with the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

I love this school my daugther has been in Joe Hall since kinder garden and must of her teacher had been good unfortunetly because of the boundaries she has to go to Zora Neale witch i am not to happy about.My daugther is upset a nd sad to leave Joe Hall and so i am.I think the should deal with the boundries differently if old students are in the school already they should stay there not pulling them out and taking them to another schoool.I know this is going to affect my daugther in a negative way....When making this kind of desicions they should think about the children.. Mrs H Roman is the best teacher and the new principal is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2009

My daugter has been in joe hall since kinder garden, now she is sad lo leave third grade..She really name mrs paez as an a+ teacher of joe hall, she is very sweet and take care of each student,she really love to teach...The principal and her assistent give also to this school the best place to learn and to have a wonderfull time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

coming from a private school, i was very skeptical about this school, my son is in k with mrs loguzo, awesome teacher. I really like the school and the way they teach. I see no difference between this school and a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2009

I do like this school, Mrs. Stern is excellent, Ms. Reynolds is also an excellent teacher, my daughter also has Mrs. Rubin because shes in gifted, she is also a very good teacher and I can go on and on I will say though that the new pick up system afterschool needs to be a little better I hate having to pick up my child at the end of a line when shes standing right in front of me, as working and non working parents I will say we are always running and late for something or having to do something, so please help with that otherwise everything is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

I have my son studying at Joe Hall elementary in fifth grade.He is very fortunate to have Ms.Ana Martin as his fifth grade teacher. She is at the same time a mother, a friend and above all a great teacher to all her students. My son loves her and respects her the same way he loves me and I am very happy to see that. I am sure my son is going to miss her , ( not only him , all the students in her class are going to miss her) next year as they move to Middle school. Mr.Santiago, is also a great teacher . He is a little strict with the kids to keep them on their tasks , but very loving and is trying to prepare the kids for the middle school environment. Ms Valdez is also very loving and works with the kids individually , if they need help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2009

I am so happy with this school and the teachers.My daughter is in second grade in Mrs H.Roman class.Wao what an excelent teacher,very organize,sweet and commited to see her students do well.Mrs.Garcias is very good too.They make a great team. My daugther is so happy she wants to be a teacher like Mrs.Roman. The New principal is very good brought with her great changes.Iam so happy my daugther is in this school and I can't wait until is my sons turn to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

106 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 93%
White 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 30%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 64%58%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. CATHAY S ABREU
Fax number
  • (305) 220-9758

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1901 Southwest 134th Avenue
Miami, FL 33175
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 223-9823

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT