Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Silver Lakes Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 594 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 5, 2013

I wouldn't rate this school the worse but i wouldn't rate it the best. I'm torn with my feelings. I think the academic part could be better, I have mixed feelings on the staff and the level of care and attention to details. I've had to go to the school to many times regarding my son and bullying. I feel like I have to give him extra work because its not challenging enough. I really like his 3rd grade teacher but I think she is restricted by the higher powers on what she is allowed to teach and how she can react to students and their behavior. all and all its ok. Just get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

This is an excellent school. The staff is very caring. The parents are highly involved. My sons' teachers have all been very competent. I'm very glad to have such a good school close to home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2013

My son was a student since Kindergarten to 2nd grade. The education focuses in the lowest grade students; therefore they do not care about the kids in the average and above average level. For example, the 2nd grade math level was a review of the first grade math course and multiplication and division were not part of the 2nd grade curriculum. My son came back at the end of the school year with all his books with less than 50% completed and his teacher never assigned any single homework during the year (2012-2013). The principal never replies e-mails, letters, phone calls or any request for meetings or questions. I will never recommend this school to any kid in the average or above average level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2011

I have been very impressed by the teachers in this school. I was amazed at how well they handled all the children, their specific needs and helped them all thrive. I feel very blessed to have been in this Silver Lakes Elementary district! We have never had a problem with discipline/bullying at this school. Large PTSA presence, friendly staff in front office and cafeteria.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

I have lived across the street for 11 years and my daughter who will be 15 went to this school, now my two little ones 5 and 7 go here, I love the teachers, they care about their students and they teach them the best!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2009

I am a parent of a Kindergradener in Silver Lakes and my son loves his school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2007

We love Silver Lakes Elementary! Our children (3)have wonderful teachers who love their jobs. It is nice to see a school that emphasizes the child, not the FCAT. There are many activities and opportunities for parents to get involved in their child's education. We are lucky to have this school in our neighborhood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2007

Ever since the Co-Teaching was introduced into this school, I have seen classrooms with too many students per teacher. I have 2 daughters in different grades, 4 & 2. I have seen various quality in teachers, some great, some good, some not so good. I would like to see smaller classrooms. I do not remember so much parental involvement to get good grades when I was going to school. These days, it appears to be the standard that all parents must abide by to ensure good grades. The operation of the school is exemplary though. Overally I rate the school an A-, but will pay close attention to see if the standards are dropping.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2006

Nice school, clean and safe environment for children to learn. However, to many children in the class for one teacher. Not enough one on one attention. No afterschool tutoring offered either. Good PTA. Alot of parent participation. Good school for good students, not for children who struggle academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2006

My kids first attended Silver Lakes this school year 2005-06 and I was very happy to see that it is a fairly new school, the cafeeria is keot clean and with a healthy noise level, the children seem to be happy, classrooms are of adequate proportions and overall it is a good environment for the children to go and learn everyday. I would be happier if the children spent more time with extra-curricular activities within the school, more clubs or the like.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2005

My son has attended this school since Kinder Garden. It is an excellent school, that keeps one of the higher standard available in the state. Since it s opened it has remained a A+ school. Faculty, Administration and teachers have only one goal in mind and that is to provide the highest level of education a public school can offer. They have available special programs kids with outstanding needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2005

Silver Lakes is a well run school whose principal was very visible last year. It is an a school in Florida and is certainly better than the average A school in Broward County. We actually requested that our son go to Silver Lakes rather than send him to Coconut Palm, which is also an A school. The two teachers that our son had for K and 1st grade were just right for their grade levels. The kindergarten teacher got my son to enjoy going to school, and his 1st grade teacher ran a tighter ship. Parents are very involved, and the PTA is fairly large. Bring your child to school early or be prepared to hit some traffic. For those interested, the Exceptional Student Education program is also excellent and can support most needs. The amount of homework is average and the number of projects depends on the teacher your child draws.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2005

Silver Lakes Elementary is a beautiful school with a great staff and academic excellence. I was unfamiliar with public schools until this year when I enrolled my foster daughter. She is excelling in the school and has overcome many academic challenges with the help of loving and committed teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2004

Silver Lakes Elemantary is an outstanding school. I think it is under great leadership by principal Cejeka. She sincerly cares about the children learning and making sure that the teachers are driven to teach them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2004

This is a great school. My daughter is now in her 4th year and her teacher Ms Little, is the greatest. She's so good that all of the parents from the 3rd grade class agreed to have her teach the same 4th grade class. I've seen my daughter grow from this shy little average reader to an exhilarating, bursting with knowledge, enjoyable reader. The only thing that I would like more is to know about special curricular activities for the kids, such as music, choir, acting and things of that nature but otherwise, Silver Lakes is one of the best in the southwest of FL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

This is my son's second year here, he's currently starting the 3rd grade. I have to say his teacher last year in second grade was awesome!! We need more teachers like her; this year's teacher seems to be very good also. We'll have to wait a while longer to see for sure. Also, the office staff is very nice. The ESE specialist is fantastic. We're very happy to have our son here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

The overall feel good atmosphere at this school and as exuded by the Principal, makes this a positive place for kids to learn. Multicultural influence is an everyday life experience and teaches all involved. PTSA major contributor to school, activities and funding. Thank goodness teachers work openly with parents in educating the child. Great academic education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 13, 2003

great folks, great school. should be a model for others in Florida.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

106 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 47% 29%
Black 28% 23%
White 16% 42%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 57%53%61%
Master's degree 43%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2300 SW 173rd Ave
Miramar, FL 33029
Phone: (754) 323-7400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




The Pembroke Pines Florida
Pembroke Pines, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT