Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sea Gate Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 817 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 21, 2014

Sea Gate Elementary School has exceeded my expectations (and I had high expectations partly based on this website!). We have been at Sea Gate for two years and I am very impressed with the quality of the teachers and the involvement of the parents and the community. The best part is that everyone involved is focused on educating children in the best environment possible. The school has a lovely feel to it and my kids are off to a wonderful start with their education. One member of the PTO described Sea Gate as a "giving circle" with respect to the interactions among children, parents, teachers, administrators, the PTO and the community. I agree, it is a touching place and I truly enjoy bringing my kids to school here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

My daughter attended Seagate Elementary School for one year. I was very disappointed. It did not live up to its reputation. Teachers and staff were insensitive to the needs of students and parents. Communication was poor. Certain staff members were disrespectful. If your child has any special needs, you may have a hard time getting those needs met! I did until it was almost too late.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2013

We are more than half way through our 6th year here and we have 6 more with another child and it has been an excellent experience. My child has thrived through a challenging academic program and excellent teachers. There is fantastic parent involvement and the staff has been top notch. We look forward to another great experience with our other child starting Kindergarten in the Fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2013

Sea Gate is a warm and nurturing educational environment that pushes every student to reach their potential. With a very involved network of community volunteers it has the resources of a well-funded private school with the inclusiveness and community feel of a public school. Sending my children to Sea Gate is the best part of living in Naples.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Teachers are wonderful, students are given every tool to succeed, Principle is great too! He know students names and abilities. It is like having a private school for free.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2010

After three years in a private school in Naples we decided to make the switch and try out Sea Gate. We were apprehensive at first but my daughter is thriving. The academics are top notch and very comparable to the private school she attended, the teachers are enthusiastic and organized and the student body make up is diverse and is full of great students. We are thrilled that she is happy and we couldn't imagine spending the money again when there is a school like this in Naples.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Seagate Elementary has proven to mold our students to succeed throughout their academic careers. Thanks to a wonderful teaching and administrative staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

My wife and me, we were expecting from Sea Gate Elementary something more than an average education program, compared to any other public school in US. Our expectations were exceeded many times. We don t understand why anybody needs a private Scholl next to such a perfectly organized school with over 700 volontiers a year! Just missing another foreign language in the regular program. G.T.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2007

Sea Gate is by far the best school in Collier County. The teachers are totally dedicated, creative and caring. The only area I hope will change is the 'Challenge Program'. Too many parents worrying about getting their child into this program and other children feeling they are not 'smart' if they are not in this program. This is the only state I know of that has this program and it does not work. If you live in Naples, Sea Gate is the best school by far!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2006

Sea Gate is the number one rated PUBLIC school in the state of Florida. This school is an unbelievable school (better than private schooling) and is made up of an unbelievable staff, supportive administrators and active PTO. This school is a model school for how a school should run and one which truly puts children first. This is simply a hard school to beat. It is like a family.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 9, 2003

Sea Gate Elementary School is one of the best schools in Naples, Florida and has the highest test scores. Sea Gate has a dedicated staff that collaborates with each other and truly identifies and serves every child's individual needs. The teacher's are incredibly devoted and talented.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

133 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

131 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

155 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

155 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

155 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

146 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 71%
Hispanic 20%
Black 4%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 159%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 29%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 42%50%61%
Master's degree 58%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. BEVERLY BUDZYNSKI
Fax number
  • (239) 377-8301
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

650 Seagate Drive
Naples, FL 34103
Phone: (239) 377-8300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT