Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

River Ridge High School

Public | 9-12 | 1477 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 1, 2014

ADVANTAGES - Staff make sure the kids are safe by stationing themselves throughout the campus when students are arriving&leaving -The majority of the teachers care about the students education&learning progress -Safe (few fights&gang activity) - RR has work shops and tutoring for students who need help -Clinic department -AP classes are available DISADVANTAGES -The school could improve on the cleanliness of the bathrooms(no toilet paper, soap dispenser is always out) -Weird (Homecoming during football game, fire alarm system) -Needs to do something about bulling(Sometimes the main bullies are administrators/staffs/coaches own children or favorites so they turn a blind eye) -The guidance department is helpful but if you have a problem and you are "on track" to graduate they do not care and it will get pushed to the side -The school favors certain sports teams than others(big problem with money) a few sports in particular have to pay out of pocket for things other teams/schools do not -Most of the teachers are good and serviceable but there are some that are lazy &shouldn't be teaching -Principle is stubborn and does not have an open mind to parents opinions -Easy to skip class
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2013

This year i am graduating from River Ridge as a senior, I have been at River Ridge since middle school. the teachers at river ridge Middle/High school give you any type of one on one you need as a student after school before and even in between, the problem is many students fail take advantage of this, it really depends on the students drive on how far they will go in river ridge that gos for any school in pasco county. Great programs/Positives At RR: AP Classes/Honors(A deff must), Engineering Program(Great Class), ROTC, Guidance(any types of problems),Sports. Also the key for me as a student here is to pick your friends wisely, as students of pasco we all know drugs, bullying, alcohol, its everywhere in pasco that is a fact it is only the student that can determine their fate in high school stay in school and stay driven.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2012

UNHAPPY- To Many social pressures for students from cliches to bullying on a daily basis . The schedules are changing and most unsuited for a Students needs which sets them up for failure . The guidance department at first glance or chance meeting you may think would help there are some underlying issues motives there. advantages: School offers many activities after school for student but, due to class schedule changes , social pressures to be in a cliche its just too much . as the other parents have said you are basically throwing you Child to the wolves .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2012

Excellent school, great teachers and very modern. They have a wonderful computer center and lots of tools for parents and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2012

The high school principal and one of the female vice principals are truly in the wrong positions.. Lead by example, right principals? The kids are essentially "thrown to the wolves" once they cross over the imaginary threshold. A LOT is expected of them starting in 9th grade, which is fine to an extent. But, when a student NEEDS to switch a class in order to balance out things or do better, it's near impossible, especially now considering the new, huge fines the district is imposing for over the limit class size. The student has to deal with what they were given or take the class on-line. Our children have been booted out of their classes weeks after the start of school only to have to catch up in their new class due to differences in what the teachers require. How does that promote learning? The principal favors certain sports teams and changed the contemporary homecoming traditions to please the school board, not the students. I don't feel she truly is in it for the right reasons. The school needs a couple of new leaders, starting with the principal. Please pay attention Pasco County School Board! Your teachers are too afraid to say anything for fear of losing their jobs!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2012

This school has a very unprofessional administration. The principal and vice principal are poorly qualified to run this school. Many things do not get done according to the regulations of the State and District. Teachers are constantly in violation and never get reprimanded for it. The principal is unable to listen and objectively deal with issues of when parents are justifiably criticizing the staff. The teachers will do as little as possible to individualize a student's education plan. Most are unwilling to just complete their job requirements, never mind going the "extra mile." As a parent, I have been left out of educational decisions regarding my child, which is illegal. There is no accountability on the part of the administration or staff for when intentional mistakes are made. The only ones that seem to have to follow the rules are the students. If you can, try a charter school or have your child sent to another school outside of this zoned one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2011

River Ridge offers Excellent academic programs and AP courses. River Ridge is a Five Star School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2011

I have Gone to River Ridge since my 6th grade year and i have LOVED it! Im now going into 9th. The teachers are awesome and i have learned so much from them. The choices of classes are endless, and that is a good thing. I would reccomend River Ridge over any other school. And it is also an 'A' school. If you have a choice if what school to attend Choose River Ridge Middle/High School. GO KNIGHTS!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 8, 2010

It's a good school. There are many classes to choose from and I like having that option. Being close to phcc us nice too!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2009

My child is thriving at RRHS. The school offers a variety of both academic and extracurricular opportunities. The Engineering Academy is up and running. The principal is dedicated and has set measurable goals for this school with the intent of raising the bar for education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

My school has on of the best built facilities but could use so much more. The academics here are amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2009

I'm very concerned about the education that my daughter is getting in the Pasco Co. school system! We've lived in Florida for 3 years and my daughters academics have gone from being a superior student to average at best. She's just now getting into middle school and I hope that the Teachers at River Ridge will teach her the understanding of the principles of each subject, how they work, etc. instead of just how to pass the FCAT! I know that teachers get commended on the % of students that pass FCAT, but trust me when I say that I would rather have my daughter understand how division and multiplication works vs. how to minimize her choices of multiple choice answers in order to pass a state exam!!! I just heard on the news that Florida is rated 3rd from the bottom on education only ahead of Mississippi and Kentucky! FCAT????
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

I know this is a parent thing but i go to River Ridge Middle and High School.. The school is wonderful.. Im in 7th grade and i also Take high classes.. The teachers are very nice.. Yes we have flows, but pretty much all schools do.. A lot of students on both sides are in advance classes.. Soo we are intelligent people.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2009

Many teachers are good here, but a few promise the students tests and work and don't hold them to the deadline dates. As a parent of a very active child, keeping project, test, quiz deadlines is extremely import to ensure the students adequately study for each class. When those dates are moved, it causes undue stress for the students as well as the parents helping them to understand the demands that will be put on them when they get into the work force. The teachers need to live up to what they give as a deadline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

I'm new to the school and I feel comepletely all alone, and the teachers didnt do anything to get me with the flow of class, just here your book sit there and learn
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

Teachers go the extra mile to help students who are receptive. My daughter has excelled in this school both educationally and socially. She received a full scholarship to college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2008

One of the worst schools that I have attended. I have been in this school since 6th grade and stayed their until I graduated high school. Each year their was always some significant problem. I watched more videos in my classes then actual instruction time. Overall the experience at this school has been a joke. Oh and if you ever have to deal with the Guidance department good luck!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2007

I totally agree with what most parents have written! This school looks great from the outside but their priorities are definitely in the wrong place!! Students should be rewarded for going to class and a min late should not be considered Tardy and the doors locked on them. I also feel the school has a problem with discipline and only looks out for there 'own'. The school is in dire need of additional resource officers that are paid for keeping drugs, and bulling out not just paid for appearing on the job. Appeals are also a joke. An appeal to me means that an unbiased opinion person is looking at the appeal not the school principal and his disciples. This school has clearly gone south!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2007

My children have gone to this school since 6th grade my daughter is a senior and my son is a sophomore. Both have always loved this school until this year when the principle and administration has began focusing more on new ways to punish the students than ways to make them want to be there. In this year alone They instituted a tardy hall where if a student is even a second late for class the teachers must lock their doors and the students are sent to the cafeteria for the period and are not allowed to make up missed class work. This is laughable because the teachers have made it known to the students that they think this is a ridiculous procedure. They have also shortened each period by three minutes and taken a minute off of their passing periods causing more tardies. In appearances school looks great but terrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

Re:RRMS - Granddaughter has excelled at this school, having made the transition from elementary school with no problems...(straight A's 6 & 7 grade)...Teachers are wonderful and very caring, making education 'fun'...Dress code could be enforced more stringently, though.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

347 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

357 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

363 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

348 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

229 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
42%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

384 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
74%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

362 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
72%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

348 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 81%
Hispanic 11%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 2%
Black 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 82%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 58%63%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 9%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MARIA E SWANSON
Fax number
  • (727) 774-7291

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11646 Town Center Road
New Port Richey, FL 34654
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 774-7200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mandala Treatment Center
New Port Richey, FL


Baycare Behavioral Health
New Port Richey, FL


Genesis Preparatory School
New Port Richey, FL



Ridgewood High School
New Port Richey, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT