Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cotee River Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 650 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 2, 2014

My daughter has gone here for 2 years and she loves it! The principal is wonderful and her 1st grade teacher is very good. She is learning so much. The 3 out of 10 seems very low. 10 out of 10 for me! Thank you Cotee River!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

My 2 younger sisters just started attending Cotee River this year and they are so happy. They love their teachers and everything about the school. Thanks for making my sisters happy.


Posted August 23, 2013

I just started going to Cotee River this year and I think it is a great school. I can't believe I am saying this, but the school lunches are actually good. The Principal and teachers are so nice. I am so happy about going there.


Posted August 22, 2013

My youngest just started Kindergarten this year and she loves it there. My middle daughter just started attending "Cotee River" after going to "Chasco Elementary" for the last two years before this year. She was miserable at Chasco Elementary. She is now very happy. She likes her teachers and she likes everything else about the school. I am very grateful that my kids are able to attend that school. Thank you and keep up the great work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2012

The staff at this school is redicilous, the old woman there needs a different a job NOT WITH PUBLIC, it's so sad, the only one pleasant is the NEW. PRINCIPAL, he's awesome! Always smiling & friendly , maybe he can shape that grumpy grouchy staff, This school has no rating,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

This is a D school should I say more? The teachers and staff are friendly but the education part sucks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

I love the school and the teachers..Everyone treats you like family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2008

Awesome school with awesome teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

I love this school. The teachers are dedicated and approachable. The great my 1st grader by name each morning and made him feel safe and welcome. The administrative staff go out of their way to assist you and overall the school offers a well rounded education for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

I have been very happy with this school. My kids are in 1st and 5th and they are doing well. I would like to see the Field Day done a little better this year though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2007

Wonderful, caring staff. This is the only elementary school my kids have been to. One is in 5th grader and the other is in 1st. I have been very pleased, I have only had 1 teacher I was unhappy with. I also wish that there was more focus on Art and Music.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2006

Excellent, excellent - wonderful school! Outstanding teachers and staff. We were there for K-2nd grade and loved it. It's easy to see how the media center ladies love their work - they so enthusiastic and really inspire the kids. The P.E. staff was awesome too - encouraging and fun personalities. Overall - great staff. Any small problem (we did have 1 or 2) we ever had was addressed promptly, courteously and professionally. Would like to see more after school activities, but can not say enough about how excellent this school is - really! Could not have asked for better anywhere!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2006

I could not imagine my daughter attending a better school. The staff and teachers care so much about the kids. Over the last 6 years it has became like a second family for my daughter as well as myself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2006

Cres is a top notch school! there are all sorts of music programs in place. In 5th grade, there is a band program that is an awesome learning opportunity with teachers who are patient and knowledgable about the learning process. Parents are encouraged to volunteer in all situations, and there are plenty of opportunities to do so..Before, during, and after school hours. The pe program is especially great for kids who have not yet begun organized sports. They learn the fundamentals of the 'popular' sports in addition to creativity thinking up ways to make exercise fun. Academically, the students are challenged to do their best. For those that need a little extra push, there is an extended day program that meets those needs. Everything has been thought of at this school, and the campus is safe and easy to maneuver through, even for a newer student!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2005

I love this school thank to all the teacher who took the time out to help and teach my child.I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2005

Both of my children attend Cotee River. They are going into 1st and fourth grade. I feel Cotee River is an oustanding school in both academics and parent/teacher involvement. The staff here at Cotee River want what is best for your children. You will be very please with Cotee river if your children attended here. I am. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2004

Both my children attend this school. One in kindergarden and one in 4th grade special needs classes. In my view they are both recieving an excellent education. They love to go to school. And they feel at ease with the whole staff not just their own teachers. This school involves the whole school in Special Olympics which to me means all the kids are aware of how hard it is to live in a world with special needs. And my youngest child wants to be a teacher because her kindergarden teacher is so involved and so caring in her teahing ways. I am honoered my children attend such a rewarding and caring school. Thank you Ms. Baird!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
23%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
29%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

61 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 70%
Hispanic 16%
Black 6%
Two or more races 6%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%63%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7515 Plathe Road
New Port Richey, FL 34653
Website: Click here
Phone: (727) 774-3000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Deer Park Elementary School
New Port Richey, FL


First Christian Academy
New Port Richey, FL




Richey Elementary School
New Port Richey, FL


Fellowship Baptist Academy
New Port Richey, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT