Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Palm Beach Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 435 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2014

Wow! We lucked out on this school. You would not believe the musical abilities of third and fourth graders. This is not by accident - the teaching staff is beyond spectacular. Mr Fernandez is very good at combining discipline and learning. The academic teachers are also very caring and effective. We planned on this being temporary but no longer. Great school, beautiful facility, and the best people!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2014

This school is horrible! Except for the music teachers the staff stinks. The principal is unfair and uncaring. For example since when does a 4h grader have to audition for drama club when none of the students ever learned the concept before! My daughter has been waiting 4 years to make it to the after school band class and now they only have it for 5th and 6th graders. How can a school have 6th grade if there is no electives, extra classes, lockers, and just music. ALL IN ALL GET SOMETHING BESIDES MUSIC, FIX 6TH GRADE OR GET RID OF IT, AND GET RID OF THE PRINCIPAL, THE PRINCIPAL IS BAD. Thanks for reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2014

Strings will guarantee low paying job. Get a better principal to run this school! For example, the principal at Suncoast. Disappointment.


Posted March 11, 2013

This is an amazing school! My kids love it! Excellent music magnet program and excellent teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

School claims to be diverse but is not. There is nothing worst then for a kid to be different. Their ratios is not what they represent to be true on the internet. Further, the out of school suspension is around 20 percent versus around 2 percent in other schools. That's a sign. The No Child Left Behind grade is 69. Yet, despite giving the school a chance and taking a tour (the older kids looked miserable), the admin staff is making it tough to port out of the school in order for my child to attend another school. Because their Federal No Child Left Behind score is so low, they have to give the option of going to two other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

My son went here for first grade. He a great teacher that encourage him to try hard. His teacher love to teach and it showed. The school it self was very open to parents. I knew the principal down to the cafertia lady, and I wasn't that much involved in the school. We have since moved out of state, and I wish I could of taken NPBE with me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

My son attends this school he is in 1st grade and all the teachers there are wonderful they encourage kids to do there best and they challenge the children to help them advance academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

I'm truly shocked at parents misunderstanding of what a title 1 school is. My three children all attended this wonderful school. The diversity of this school is what our world is made of. My kids are well grounded. Let's remember that education also starts at home. I would recommend NPBE to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

My daughter attends this school and has always received straight A's and good behavior awards. It is my opinion however that there is a definite lack of parental involvement and fairness toward children whose parents aren't able to volunteer or donate money to the school. This school also lacks in extracurricular activities
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2008

Not impressed at all. Children will be children with teasing & bullies, but it is the staff's responsibility to make sure that these situations are handled correctly. Children are being bussed in from other school boundaries & that is not fair to the rest of the children. My children are straight A children & never get in trouble at school, but I have seen a drastic change (for the worse) at home in my children's behavior since they switched to NPBES. I have seeked help & guidance from the school w/ no luck (not even a response). I am now seeking counseling help for my children without any assistance from the school. The only credit I can give to this school is that there are some good teachers... I do not want to categorize all the staff as one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

I found that this school has poor communication skills. Some teachers dicipline is not the right way to go about it.. Should not punish the good kids, for what the bad kids are doing.. that is not fair..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2005

This is a good school. The principal is wonderful and most of the teachers are exceptionally good. This school has lost a lot of these good teachers in the past year but I am sure will be replaced with excellent teachers as again the principal is dedicated to making this an 'A' school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2005

The academic quality of the programs are fine, the availability of music, arts and sports is llimited to one period during the week, as per the school district guidelines due to FCAT instruction. P.E. is one day per week, as well as art and music. Parent involvement is pretty good, but dwindling as more parents are concerned about the school becoming more about Title 1 funding and achieving an A grade as a school, than keeping and achieving continuing families, gifted programs, and other extracurricular activities such as cub scouts, boy scouts, etc.. The teachers are excellent but again, some good ones are leaving due to the type of child now becoming the majority at North Palm due to the boundaries changing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2005

This school used to be a top-notch neighborhood school. Now it is a Title 1 school that flunked the NCLB, with low-performing and disruptive students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 31, 2005

Teachers are good but too much distractions in classes because of unmanagable students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2004

My daughter attended NPB Elementary from 3rd grade through 6th grade and had a simply wonderful experience throughout! The teachers and aftercare staff were very caring, always well informed and took time and personal interest in her progress each and every year. We'd relocated to NPB boundaries to enable us to enroll her there due to the repeatedly high remarks we'd encountered. We are extremely grateful to have done so as we couldn't have been any more pleased with the experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2004

This school is a 'A' school and the teachers are willing to help the students and teachers get along well and have lots of fun. I recomend ths school alot.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

55 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 62%
Hispanic 16%
White 16%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 7%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 69%73%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. TERESA STOUPAS
Fax number
  • (561) 494-1850

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

401 Anchorage Drive
North Palm Beach, FL 33408
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 494-1800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Baldwin Prep School
North Palm Beach, FL


Wood Montessori Academy
West Palm Beach, FL


Maccabi Academy
Lake Park, FL




His Academy/Institute
Lake Park, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT