Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oakland Avenue Charter School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
We have witnessed many examples of how patient the teachers are with students in every grade. The teacher go above and beyond with connecting with each student and working with parents.

Oakland Avenue Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
My son's teacher held the same standards for each student. When our first grader was caught lying about writing in his daily planner, she addressed it with him as well as emailing us with details so we were able to follow up at home.


Oakland Avenue Charter School 5

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
We have enjoyed volunteering at the school as the leadership team makes parents feel very welcome. They give parents a large variety of opportunities to help in the classroom as well as after hours at extra-curricular activities for parents that work.

Oakland Avenue Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
Teachers obviously care and go above and beyond. Our son's first grade teacher worked with us to improve his skills at every level.

Oakland Avenue Charter School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
Daily work that reinforced what was being discussed in the classroom. Can not give enough praise to the communication provided to parents.


Oakland Avenue Charter School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 03, 2015
- a parent
When our 1st grader struggled with finishing his work in the classroom, his teacher developed a plan to help him to achieve his goals which drove him to be a better student. When he struggled with a math subject, she sent home additional exercises to build his skill. He was so proud that he overcame a weakness. It showed him that he could improve with practice.

Oakland Avenue Charter School 1

Posted January 08, 2015
- a parent
Lots of promises. No follow through. Wouldn't recommend to anyone. My child cried a lot, begging me to stay home. I asked about bullying--no real concern from the school.

Oakland Avenue Charter School 5

Posted December 02, 2014
- a parent
My daughter loves this school and her kindergaten teacher. I am asked often by others that interact with my child about where she goes to school as she is very social and articulate and very smart. So much of that is thanks to her teachers and the emense support system of parents and teachers at oakland. I also love how involved they require the parents to be (we must volunteer 20 hours per year between both parents), but hours can be gained just by going to monthly meetings in the evening or helping the teachers from home, or just by donating coffee or snacks for the monthly teachers meetings. My 5-year-old is already reading, spelling like a pro, and starting math - I could not be happier with her progress or with Oakland!


Oakland Avenue Charter School 5

Posted May 07, 2014
- a parent
My kids have loved their teachers, which is natural because they go above and beyond for their students.

Oakland Avenue Charter School 5

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
Great school with great leadership and fantastice teachers! It really is a family where everybody knows your name!!!!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oakland Avenue Charter School
456 East Oakland Avenue, Oakland, FL  34760
(407) 877-2039
Last modified Oakland Avenue Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Oakland Avenue Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 58 reviews. Top