Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Liberty Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1108 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 26, 2013

I go to liberty and it's amazing. I dont care what other people say, it's really fun and educational.


Posted December 7, 2013

The school got bad press a couple years back, but there is new principal now and what a difference. Teachers really care if students learn, and they do a lot to help them. Liberty is great.


Posted September 14, 2013

This is a horrible school. They say they have a no bullying policy which is the biggest joke of all! This school has produced many hurt children from the lack of protection from the staff. I have personally met numerous teenage girls who have no sense of security due to their experiences at this school that has no rules! Also due to the the lack of guidance at after school programs, there have been many lewd acts demonstrated at this school. Beware! The school does not stand behind their written policy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

i think its a great school, even if my grandson only went there for the last 6 weeks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2010

WOW! I can't believe this is a four star school. Its supposed to be a five star school. This is the best school i've ever been to and it has outstanding programs other schools don't. Mr.Dudley is always on to us and telling us different ways we can improve our grades and conduct. The teachers at this school are top notch and they work together to form curriculum thats easy and fun to learn. Extracurricular activities, come on! three stars! Liberty Middle School has more things going on then YMCA! parent involvement,well that can improve but still i always see a few mothers at school dances and field trips. Safety and dicipline is like bootcamp we had six fire drills in one day;one for each class to make sure we know the exit drill from every one of our classes. CDA is a pain but it straitens you up.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2010

Im in the 7th grade and I have to say,this is an amazing school.I think it should have more extra-curricular activities.There are barely any.Another flaw is the students,there are a whole lot of good kids,but sometimes we make stupid decisions.I've talked with friends from other schools and they say that our reputation is mainly fighting.Which I agree with.but if your kid stays with the right people.He/She will be fine.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2009

Is a good school, just one thing I would like that this school have extra programs like the Magnet schools have, it will be perfect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2009

Liberty is an amazing school! Alot of the teachers there are trying to make learning fun and it works. I cant wait till 8th grade in August. Coundn't ask for a better school :]
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 13, 2009

Liberty Middle is an amazing school. i didnt go to westport, but here more than half the people are nice. the teacher are fun to be with and everything is great. thumbs up for liberty! x]
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 13, 2009

As a parent who is new to the public school system here, I must say I am very impressed with the standard of education and the level of professionalism of the entire staff. From day one it was quite clear that this was a very well organized school, and that staff members work well as a team. My child came from St John Lutheran, and to be honest, it's only since coming to Liberty that my child has shown that he actually enjoys school . Everyday is described as wesome'! He's in the seventh grade and has been blessed with teachers who genuinely care and truly take the time to ensure that learning is taking place. Bringing my child to Liberty Middle has been one of the best decisions I could have made. Thank you to all the teachers and other faculty members who are so committed and hardworking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2009

liberty is a great school it has great staff and is sooo fun! we have music in the cafeteria and has some dances it has like alot of kids too some nice some not so much but hey thats life. and the teachers are awesome. this might be my first year but im loving it already:)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2008

Our child came to Liberty from St. John Lutheran. What a difference! This is a very well organized school. We couldn't be more happy as well as our child. The teachers, staff and principal have been more than helpful with us. On all levels of concern we have been pleasantly surprised by the level of professionalism by all members of their staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2008

My daughter attended west port. What a nightmare. The teachers she had could care less if the kids passed or failed. The principle at the time didn't care either. Guidance was a bigger joke. They say they are there to help...that is not true. This school needs a major overhaul....new teachers and a new staff. They are so rude. I pulled my daughter out and had her home schooled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2008

i know west port middle is an incredible school ,i am a sixth grader but ive learned allot . the teachers do not give up on you and try to help as much as they can ill miss my school . hope liberty is much alike
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2008

I think west port is a great school. I have amazing friends and teachers. everything about the school is so great and I can't wait to see how liberty middle school turns out.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 31, 2007

We have sent all three of our children to WP. Overall it is a great school. The Pre-MCCA programm needs reenstated. Not only did it help the children and teachers in MCCA at the Highschool level, it gave the Middle schoolers a highly engaging activity for after school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2007

We are thrilled with West Port middle--At first we were concerned since our son was coming from Madison Street. But the 7-8 graders that gave us a tour were outstanding. Our son is very excited about attending WPMS and so are we. We were also afraid he would be bored but the teachers have kept his interest in classes.The security is superior. We wish there were some more extracurricular actitvities for 6th graders, and there seems to be very little parent involvement (no PTA). And getting time in class to take AR tests or before school finding a librarians has been a little difficult. On a scale on 1-10 1 being the best we would rate the school a 2. We are also talking to fiends who have children enrolled in private schools- moving them to WP, we have had very positive comments to tell potential new parents and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

West Port Middle school has made an overwhelming improvement since Mr. Duddly took over as principal. In the past having 1 principal for both the middle & high school was to much for their administration to handle. Mr. Duddly has made a tremendous impact in just the short time that he's been there. I am very satisfied with my child's academics there at West Port Middle School and am very pleased with their well deserved 'A' as their over all school grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2007

my daughter goes to west port and loves it also she is sad that she will not be going to this school next year because they are building a new school and making the middle scool the whole high school!i am disapointed but she will be going to a different school next year.she will miss all of her friends.and it might be hard for her because the reason she has so many nice friends at West Port is because they are such a nice school! West Port is an awesome school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2007

There is a lot of bullying taking place in this school and there isn't much being done about it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

319 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

330 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

388 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

390 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

357 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

355 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

352 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

352 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

309 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 41%
Hispanic 27%
Black 21%
Two or more races 6%
Asian 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 20%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 68%63%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 6%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4773 Southwest 95th Street Road
Ocala, FL 34476
Phone: (352) 291-7930

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Grace School
Ocala, FL



Hale Academy
Ocala, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT