Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Center Academy - Orange Park

Private | 6-12 | 60 students

We are best known for LD & ADHD program since 1968.
 
 

 
 

Living in Orange Park

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $100,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

Center Academy is the best school in Orange Park. Excellent, caring educators, competent staff, progress in every subject. If your child is struggling, I urge you to contact Orange Park Center Academy. McKay Scholarships accepted. Sliding scale tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

Center Academy is a sectarian private school which accepts the McKay scholarship for qualified students. It accepts students 6th to 12th grade with a high school diploma on completion. Caring and disciplined without being oppressive, each student receives an individual education program based on skills and needs. There are approximately 60 students enrolled at the present time and all students receive individualized attention. Excellent communication with parents and students, simple rules to follow and a structure designed to mimic a real life work situation. Homework only when classwork is not completed, so no more struggle at home in the evenings when everyone is exhausted. Most of the students are ADD, ADHD, OCD or other challenges that can inhibit growth, learning, socialization and maturity in the public school venue. NO BULLYING - students stand up for each other and do not tolerate bullying of any kind. I can't say enough good things about this school and the faculty. I wish it offered transportation to and from, but it does not at this time. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, especially for students who are too challenged, not challenged enough, or feel like misfits.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2012

My daughter is about to graduate from Center Academy, it has been an incredible experience for her. The public school system wasn't working for her, she was just part of a crowd. No one cared if she succeeded. At Center Academy they really care. They have worked with her and found the way she learns best. I will never forget her first report card when she came to me with tears in her eyes and announced that she LEARNED, it was amazing to see that light back in her eyes. The single best decision I made as a parent was to send my daughter to Center Academy!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

My son has Asperger's Syndrome, and the public shool system's strategy for this "square peg" was to hammer him into that round hole as hard as it could. At Center Academy, they changed the shape of the hole. Since he began attending school there this year, he is the happiest and most engaged he has ever been. Center's professional, responsive staff works with him academically and has created a safe, warm social environment. For the first time in his life, he doesn't dread going to school, and his performance has improved dramatically. I love Center Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2012

My son started 9th grade here after being in public school all his life. He has done so much better since making the switch. He is so much happier and learning more of the things he is interested in along with the basic. It's no longer the battle it use to be each morning to get him ready to go. Thank you for providing a place he feels secure in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2010

07-12-2010 After looking at about 4 schools for my sons, I found Center Academy, located in Orange Park, Florida. It is the perfect school that offers everything and anything my kids may need, they build the fundamental skills they need to lead productive, successful lives, An extensive staff of highly trained specialists who work with students in small group sessions, A curriculum individualized to each student s needs and strengths, and a calm and nurturing environment highly supportive of students academic, social and emotional growth. Mary Dodd Jacksonville, Florida
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2010

Center Academy has provided my son with an opportunity to grow emotionally while advancing academically. The environment is supportive with excellent leadership. Although he is acadmeically talented, his emotional immaturity kept him from reaching his social and academic goals. Now he is blossoming and is succeeding at a college level with dual enrollment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2010

My son has attended Center Academy since the seventh grade - he will be a senior in the fall of 2010. Justin had a hard time in the local public school, and no matter how hard I tried, he never seemed to get the help he needed to succeed. I looked into the private schools in my area, and chose Center Academy. I am so glad I did! The change in him after the move was immediately apparent. He began to succeed, and his self esteem improved. The teachers and staff have helped him immensely! I have the utmost respect for and confidence in every person at Center Academy. I can never thank them enough for the support and help in my child's success in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2010

I have a son who has attended Center Academy in Orange Park for the last 2 (08-09, 09-10) years. Next year he will graduate from Center Academy. Stephen has done exceptionally well with the program provided at Center Academy. His grades are really good, the staff is excellent to work with. He has related very well with students and enjoys the competitive challenges during recess. As a former county school employee, I can see that the staff from the receptionist, teachers and director really cares about each individual student and all their needs. This is not just a school for academics, this school helps in all areas of a student s life skills needed for success. Getting students involved and socially accepted into a classroom can be a big concern for any students progress. At Center Academy, this is done with little to no effort as it seems like a natural process. Would I recommend YES!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 42%
Black 20% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
Hispanic 2% 29%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school various public schools
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Center Academy Academic Achievement Award (2013)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 8:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Jerry D. Stigliano
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Associations
  • NIPSA
Fax number
  • (904) 276-3554

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Internet access
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
More from this school
  • Happy. Secure. Inspired. Center Academy students appreciate the individualized attention and support they receive from teachers who understand them. Parents appreciate their children’s opportunities for success. Founded in 1968, Center Academy is accredited by NIPSA and SACS, accepts McKay and Step Up Scholarships, and provides a college prep environment for students with different learning styles. We work with grades 6-12 and offer dual enrollment, summer programs and a small, safe setting.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
various public schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $12000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University od North Florida
Florida Stae College
ST.Johns Community College
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2171 Kingsley Ave
Orange Park, FL 32073
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 276-3552

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Clay Virtual Academy
Orange Park, FL


Clay Virtual Franchise
Orange Park, FL





Crossroads School
Orange Park, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT