Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Renaissance Charter School At Chickasaw Trail

Charter | K-8 | 887 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 16 ratings
2013:
Based on 14 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 26, 2014

I am very pleased at all this school has to offer. My two children are learning so much and the gifted program they offer is outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2014

The teachers in this school are on point. It was pointed out to me that my child should be tested for gifted in Kindergarten. I knew he was smart but his teacher saw this and more. He passed the gifted test and will be receiving enrichment services once school begins again. Excellence is rewarded in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2014

The administration and staff at this school truly care about the children and whether they learn. I know they received an F last year, but FCAT scores have improved significantly, and frankly, I am not concerned about FCAT scores. I care whether my child is happy, healthy, and learning - and she is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2014

I'm so sad and disappointed..this school do not reward the excellence in excellent students...they pay more attention to kids with behavioral problems(which is good) and ignored(this is the problem) the good students. I think good students need attention too. This school needs better teachers. Excellence must be rewarded too is my humble opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

this school is the worst. teacher bully the kids and they do noting about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2014

Teachers are NOT qualified! My child hasn't been as unhappy. I will be pulling my child end of school and putting him back into regular school. The teachers there act like children themselves and are not very professional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2014

We have had a very positive experience with Renaissance Charter School in our first year. The teachers are corteous, hard working and communicate regularly. The school Admin and teachers work and often go above and beyond for the students however, parent participation is the issue currently.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

My sons are finally excited about going to school. No more fighting and arguing about why they have to go. Whatever this school is doing, I hope they keep it up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

I love what this school has done for my son. When he was in public school he was left behind on the back burner. He has been skipped a year and still above grade level. He is now being challenged in this school, and environment is great! I look forward to see what else my child and this school can do! Go bulldogs!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

I love how friendly the staff is. The school has a great vibe, so much so I don't mind being there volunteering all the time :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2014

This school has two of the worst administrators I've worked under! The principal just sits in his office with the door closed. The assistant principal has been around forever and has completely ruined the school. She bullies the teachers, she doesn't communicate with the principal, and she berates the students. When I find another job, I am leaving! Don't put your kids at this school! Most of the teachers are horrible. Very few actually talk to the students like human beings, especially the middle school teachers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 7, 2014

At the Middle school level I would NEVER recommend this school. I had never dealt with such an unprofessional group of individuals who dare to call themselves teachers. Not all teachers, but unfortunately the majority. They do NOT know how to work with these children. The children are constantly yelled at. The communication with parents is extremely lacking. Bullying IS an issue. Trying to communicate these concerns to the principal got me nowhere. I felt I was dealing with a politician who tried to give me the politically correct answer without actually providing solutions or even verifying and validating my concerns as a parent. I was extremely disappointed with this school. It does not live up to the high quality standard a Charter School should stand for. I have never had such a bad experience in a school to the point I withdrew my children mid school year because it was not fair to them to be in such an environment. The change of school made a HUGE difference. Now my children thrive in school as they always have because they are in an environment that supports their learning and truly educates them without overwhelming them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2014

My son Loves his school! I volunteer at the school. He started school here last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2014

Education is not in this school. They barely have anyone to help with tutoring. they give out so much homework and barely explain to the kids how to complete there work. my kids would come home not understanding anything. Its just a shame. took them out of this school and registered them to a better school where they love to teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2014

I am a parent that loves to be involved in my child school and I have seen things I really do not like about this school. I've seen teachers not trained well enough to deal with children that are not able to behave as they should be behaving. I decided to get my 3 kids out because education wise they were not recieving and to be honest I did not see any improvement. Yes I got them out of this school and I am in shock on how well they are doing in there new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2014

All I have to say is I am glad I took my kids out of this school. I feel like they need to hire new teachers that are experience in teaching and that they love to teach because my kids would not even want to come back to school. This school may look good on the outside but let me tell you in the inside it is totally the opposite
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2013

rennaisance at chickasaw gives the illusion that it has it's act together. It's simply another F school (charter) that wishes to enroll as many children as possible at tax payers expense and to make sure they turn a profit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2013

Such a nice school on the outside. However it appears to be just an F school.


Posted September 18, 2013

My kids go to Renaissance charter school chickasaw trail and I am very pleased on how this school has help my kids learn very a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2013

My kids have been going to renaissance charter school chickasaw trail for 3 years now and I just love how they handle everything there around school and how a lot of parents volunteer to help out around school and field trips. My kids have come very far they are honor rolls thanks to all this teachers. I would recommend this school to all parents out there that feel there child needs a little push to do better in school. This is it!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

This school did not receive a grade in 2011-2012.

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 68%
White 14%
Black 11%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 52%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/AN/A
Female 48%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%66%61%
Master's degree 37%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8203 Valencia College Lane
Orlando, FL 32825
Website: Click here
Phone: (321) 206-0662

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Leaders Prepatory School
Azalea Park, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT