Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Princeton Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 492 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 30, 2014

My daughter and I absolutely love Princeton Elementary! It is leagues above the other K-5 school in the College Park area. My daughter is a rising 5th grader and it is bittersweet that her time at this wonderful school is almost over. The kids at Princeton are bright and well mannered (no bullying issues at all that I am aware of), the teachers are dedicated and challenge students to be their best, very strong PTA and a ton of school related activities all throughout the year ! It is truly the "private school of public schools". Proud to be a Princeton Panther!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2014

Excellent school. Everyone is dedicated to the learning and growth of all of the children. My daughter absolutely loves this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

This school is amazing and has very friendly, professional staff. Princeton Elementary has so much to offer my child and to help my child grow!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2012

My child is currently in first grade at Princeton. Last year she attended a private school. We love Princeton. My child's reading has flourished. She has positive encouragement from her teacher. Dr. Rollins is a great principal. I can only hope the 2nd grade goes as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2012

This school feels like a family. High quality, committed teachers, strong academics, lots of projects which motivate students. Good leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2011

Princeton is a wonderful school! The teachers and staff go above and beyond to ensure that there are lots of wonderful activities to keep the kids excited and the parents involved. We have been very impressed with the level of hands on activities, and our child loves going to school every day. Couldn't ask for a better public school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

i hate the new principle :P im glad that i moved on to middle school. i feel bad for my 1/2 brother :P


Posted November 6, 2010

8/1 "teacher" cannot be real! Open door policy does not exist!! Anybody who works there knows she took over in February - not last two weeks ... teachers (real) hate her and afraid to talk bc its their retirement at stake .. quiet exodus to schools with better admins.. not trying to bring anybody down -- trying to protect other children and families .. Anybody have an extra broom now that Halloween is over? I'm certain hers must be worn out and needs a new one by now to fly around campus with ...My child was horrified to be around her and spoke of friends hating principal. Bad news. There are better schools to look into for your children. If she ever had an open door policy it would be to hide the broom she rides into work with!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2010

The July 7th review is just sad. Our new principal is working so hard. What's more, she has an open door policy toward all parents, and you know it. She came in two weeks before the FCAT so she can't be blamed for the previous administration's curriculum decisions. Shame on you, "parent," for trying to bring her down.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 9, 2009

Princeton is a great place for your children to learn. Make sure when you read the reveiws on this site, to look at the dates. The older reviews do not reflect the current atmosphere at Princeton. Many changes have taken place and it's still a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2009

As a teacher, I have not had a better 'family' to work with before. Even with all the problems with children and society today (especially in this state), the administration, teachers, and staff all work together to ensure the most safe and enriching learning experience any school can offer! Year after year the children perform to phenomenal levels of success; as in the FCAT. I would not be hesitant to say that Princeton is the best Elementary school in the area, if not the whole district! Go Panthers!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 29, 2009

My Granddaughter has spent all of her six years in Princeton Elementary . It has all been wonderful . The Kindergarden teacher Mrs.Terrel gave her the most wonderful beginning created such an interest in learning ,she has never lost that desire and enthusiam for learning . I cannot Thank the teachers and staff enough for all they have done for her....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

Fabulous school. We were districted for Lake Silver but put our names in lottery when our son was in kindergarten. He is now in 4th grade - every teacher has been outstanding from kindergarten through third grade and we look forward to a great 4th grade year. Lots of hands on science activities, creative, nurturing teachers. Each teacher sends home a weekly newsletter with pictures of week's activities. Strong teacher communication - strong parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

I love Princeton! The teachers are wonderful. They truely care about the education of my child. If you get a chance, go to Princeton's science night. You will see how exciting education can be when done right.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2008

my chid enjoys princeton elementray school very much
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

Princeton Elementary is a fabulous school. We are zoned for Lake Silver but were able to get into Princeton through the Science magnet program. The historic building has been renovated and the resources are excellent. The new principal is FABULOUS! After one year of service, she has made so many positive changes. Her teachers & staff love her and she is very popular with the parents. Ms Grove is an attentive listener and very proactive when it comes to making a decision. She brings a positive energy to the school. I highly recommend Princeton Elementary. Also, the PTA is very active, as well as SAC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2005

Princeton is fantastic and the teachers are dedicated. I highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2005

My daughter attended Prineton as a magnet student in the first grade. After visiting the school two seperate times, I felt Princeton would be a great school for my daughter. I was wrong. There were disciplinary problems not being taken care of, classrooms out of control and and no real concequece for the actions of the children with bad behavior. In my opinion, the administration needs to take a close look in the mirror. Starting with the principle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2005

Academic programs are quite good, and are taught by a number of veteran teachers. The principal is highly involved and provides outstanding leadership. Communication with parents is frequent and effective. The PTA is very active; this truly is a 'neighborhood school' with a strong sense of community. On the downside: class sizes in some grades are much too large. The PE program is limited by the small size of the grounds, most of which have been taken up by portable classrooms. A new community center complex is under construction on the grounds, which will provide gym and pool access. Overall, we have been pleased with the progress our two kids have made, and recommend Princeton to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2005

I was very excited to enroll my son in Princeton as part of their magnet program. The school is very quaint and smaller than the average school. I have been very disapointed in the overall tone of the school which is very authoritarian and, quite frankly, mean spirited. The children 'should be seen and not heard mentality' that imposes authority rather than garnering buy in. I have given the school the benefit of the doubt for 2 years and have finally pulled my child from the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

77 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 59%
Black 21%
Hispanic 13%
Two or more races 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 23%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 59%66%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

311 West Princeton Street
Orlando, FL 32804
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 245-1840

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






The Volant School
Winter Park, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT