Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Robert E Lee Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 964 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 27, 2013

My son started Lee Middle this year, so we are newbies. I have to say so far we are pleased with the teachers and staff. The initial meet the teachers could of been more informative for newbies- like how lunch time works. Lee is much better than the elementary school we attended last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

At least the prior principal Tom Pylant is gone he was interested in only the gifted or white kids. Office was rude and hostile. Special Ed department head and teachers were a joke. Let the kids play on the computer all day while they talked on the phone. They would put complaints against teachers for attempting to teach the "spec ed" students and the kids would laugh in your face because they were able to manipulate the system. I don't know if the Spec Ed. Dept. kept the kids dumbed down for financial support, to keep the system desirable, or for some other self serving needs. It was reprehensible. Former employee.


Posted December 10, 2010

What is the suspension demographics at this school? Anyone interested in knowing? I certainly am. What is the promotion demographics? My child will be bused in from a differnet area and this type of information is of concern to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Students and staff alike are wonderful. Great job teachers and administrators!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

There are great teachers at Lee Middle, but I question the goal and purpose of those who have an A student in their classes get an F. What is the excuse for the inability to motive - too many students in the class, race, or I get a pay check whether or not they fail. Maybe it is that we need to keep a clear line between the required failure rate and those who pass. Whatever the excuse, no person should be allowed to teach who cannot motivate an A student. For God sake, it doesn't take much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2009

i love lee middle school!! i have swiched from many different middle schools (because of parents work) and so far this one is my favorite all the teachers are so nice and really show a positive influence on the students
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 14, 2006

The administration has been trying for many years to build a consistent, committed faculty and it seems that this goal has yet to be fully realized. The school has a relatively high teacher turn-over rate especially in the general education classes - and sometimes will have to higher former substitute teachers to fill general ed. or reading positions. If you want your child to have the best education possible at Lee, he/she will probably have to become a part of the educational minority there and be accepted into the IB Program or Gifted Program. If not, your child will be in general education classes and will most likely be negatively effected by the large class sizes, lack of individual attention, and consistent behavior distractions that are overwhelming for even the most experienced of teachers.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 8, 2006

Lee services students from very different socio-economic backgrounds. It is located in the college park area. Typically a general education teacher will teach four regular classes and one advanced class. The regular general ed. classes typically average between 28-35 students and the advanced class is usually the largest gen. ed. class, sometimes averaging over 40 students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2006

My daughter has just started at Lee Middle School. The teachers all seem to be on top of things. I have not had any problems contacting or setting up teacher conferences. I do not know about the principal yet!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

The school is definitely better than last year. I was so disappointed last year with the kids and the staff. This year I have talked with my sons teachers and feel like they care tremendously about his education and well-being. The office staff also seemed friendlier and more professional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2005

Very rigorous and solid Gifted Education Program.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 19, 2005

I cannot believe the bad things written about this school. Many people don't understand the inner workings. Hall time among students is often used for just socializing instead of taking care of their personal business. Students are not being mistreated if they are not allowed to go to the bathroom. Many times teachers have reasons for this - perhaps the child asks everyday during the same period. Secondly, the principal and administrators are excellent. You have to be tough to get discipline under control. I have had two children go through Lee and a third one there now. I chose to send my children to Lee. I support the school 100%. Instead of complaining, more people should get involved if they want to make a difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2005

Lee middle school's extracurricular activities such as band and chorus are supreme. I am proud to say my child goes there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2005

its a small school nothing exciting about it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

My son is in the sixth grade at Lee Middle School. He is in the gifted program for science and math which he has enjoyed very much. Most of his teachers are enthusiastic, caring and interested - there is only one teacher which my son doesn't care for because he can't keep consistent control of his classroom. Overall, our experience has been excellent so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2005

I am disatisfied with this school. Class sizes are too big and my child is not getting the attention he needs to learn. My child never has homework. When I asked his teachers, they say they don't give any because the kids are all out of control and wouldn't do the homework anyway.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2005

Lee is not the perfect school, you are correct. But what the person wrote about the teachers not caring and not letting students go to the bathroom when needed, that part is true. My youngest child will not attend lee middle if i can help it, if that means me moving out of the district then so be it, but i will not allow my youngest child to go through the torment that my oldest child has at this school. The principal is the worst i've able known in a school, he doesn't care and he is rude, along with the assistant principals as well. If you don't respect your students, they are not going to respect you either! if you yell at the students, how can you expect them to respect you. If you isolate students, how can you expect them to respect you and learn at the same time!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2004

In response to January 2004's review, when you state your opinion and include untrue facts, this makes your opinion less valid. There are several different types of students including black, white, hispanic, and asian. Lee is not a perfect school-but I don't know one that is. Lots of students take advantage of hall time and a limit has to be in place. There is plenty of time to use the bathroom and get a drink between classes. The more interruptions of class time make it difficult for the students to learn, and then everyone blames the teachers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 31, 2004

The teachers, and staff are unprofessional, uncaring and rude and are not qualified to teach or work around children. They lack patience, understanding and care. The teachers are on a power and control power trip with their students not allowing them to use the rest rooms, get a drink of water and going to the safe office when it is necessary to do so. The ratio of students is 97% black and 2% white and there is a lot of reverse discrimiation going on. The teachers act afraid of the black students and pick on the white kids instead because they know they won't fight back. The office workers act as though the school were their private domain and get around to helping parents and students at their leisure. They speak down to parents but want to be treated with respect. This also happens with the teachers who expect that they can talk down to the children but expect total respect from their students. Lee is more like a battle ground of egos than a learning facility. They care more about being right than teaching the correct way. My child was failing a class and her teacher told her if she brought in 5 canned goods she would get 5 'A's' for each can of food she brought in! Not a good school to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2003

My kids are getting a great education at Lee.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

315 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

303 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

339 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

323 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

293 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

290 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

292 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

284 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

254 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 60%
White 25%
Hispanic 12%
Two or more races 2%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 188%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 24%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 69%66%61%
Master's degree 25%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 5%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. HOWARD HEPBURN
Fax number
  • (407) 245-1809

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1201 Maury Road
Orlando, FL 32804
Phone: (407) 245-1800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Silver Star Center
Orlando, FL



S.H.I.P. Academy
Orlando, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT