Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Waterbridge Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1080 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 2, 2013

We have a new principal for the 2013-14 school year. He is amazing. He is very involved in all aspects of the school, as are the rest of the staff and teachers. The school just started a PTA last year and it did great things. This year it is set to do even more. The one thing the school could really use is more parent involvement. It is getting better, but a handful of parents is not enough to give the kids everything they need. The more involved you are, the better you get to know the teachers and staff and really learn what is going on at the school, district and state levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2013

neither half a star very bad administration the person in the lobby who attended the enrolling is an insoportable mini woman .they dont care children they only care the money work for money not for vocation hate them.....


Posted August 14, 2013

This school is my current school, and I'm entering 5th grade this year. I think that we need some better teachers. Some of them are great, but I had one who didn't discipline in a way that taught us to refrain from doing it. Other than that, the school's great.


Posted July 25, 2013

This school it's very backed up! teachers don't teach kids. The school do not give Right material for that Kids. The kids are get left back and go to summer school and teaches still do not teach. The kids could do good in school or summer school but if they don't see that they are a A level Student they are going to get left back in the school this school do not teach kids the right way. I do not recommend this school if your kids are not A! student
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

The first and second-year of my Kid's being in this school it's horrible They do not teach the right materials in this school. They'll tell you all your kids do good in class he's Wonderful student in class but yet when the test comes kids don't do good. The school needs to upgrade the material and get better teachers in the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

It is my son's first year here, (His previous school was wonderful) I was not too convinced first, but his teacher Ms Pedraza is amazing. She is amazing. Very caring. Extremely organized. Lots of homework, yes, but that is how they get ready for high school! Its amazing what a HUGE difference a GREAT teacher can make in a child's life! This teacher is dedicated and my son is getting a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

This is an excellent school. My son is a 4th grader there. Their curriculum is excellent. They do a great job preparing the kids for FCAT, and keeping parents informed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2012

This is an "A" school according to Orange county which puts you above many of the other school systems in the county. A school doesn't eliminate the need to be a parent. The building just opened in 2011 (no more trailers) and they are working to build a great school. I question this rating based on the public data that is available. I think it is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2011

I'm a new parent to this school and so far, I haven't been impressed. I registered my child over the summer and asked for a tour. I was told that the school doesn't have any staff to give tours during the summer. The front office secretary who works during the school year is rude and unfriendly. The school web site office hours show 7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. but the secretary is rude if you show up before 8:00 a.m. to be let in the building for any reason -- even to see the school nurse who is starts working at 7:30 a.m. The secretary doesn't even ask what you need or even make any attempt to show that she cares about you or the students. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2011

My child entered Kindergarten at Waterbridge in the 2010-2011 school year. Mrs. K. Kelly, the Kindergarten teacher, is amazing. She has tought my child how to read, write, and have fun while learning. She is a well balanced teacher, not too tough and not too soft. The children love and respect her. Another kindergarten teacher who is awesome is Mrs. El Hafili. These ladies are amazing! Waterbridge Elementary has helpful administrators, faculty, and staff who are always willing to answer any quastion or provide help. Throughout the year, they have book fairs, performances, science night, field day, and many other activities. My child and I have had a wonderful experience at Waterbridge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

my son keeps coming home saying that a student is talking inappropriate things and saying he is getting in trouble because another student gave him and another girl the middle finger
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 5, 2009

My son is in kindergarten and has had the most amazing year! HIs teacher is fabulous and so are all of the support staff. They do so much with very little money. This year they held 2 Science Nights, Young Author's Night (kids write and illustrate their own books, then they are 'published' and they read them to the parents), a Carnival, each grade did a performance, an art show, 2 book fairs, field trips and much, much more. The dedication of everyone at the school is wonderful and you know that they truly care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2008

This is my first year at this school. I think that this school does a great job with parent involvement. I also enjoy how the school functions more as a whole team, not just individual grade levels. The upper grades supported Kindergarten with our parades and the lower grades supported the upper grade with FCAT encouragement. The office staff is helpful and always there to lend a helping hand. The administration has an open door and is always looking improve things when needed.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 12, 2008

I have two children attending this school. I also love the projects that the Kindergarteners do. Both my children's teachers are awesome and I only see great things happening at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2007

Teachers - totally awesome. Classroom lessons - outstanding K-2, but too much pressure and focus on only FCAT lessons 3-5 - there's more to learning than just what's on those tests. Building and grounds upkeep - could use a safety check on cleanliness (water fountains, playgrounds, etc.).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

There are some fantastic teachers at this school. The problem is they keep leaving to go to other schools. Parent involvement is extremely poor - the same few parents show up at SAC meetings, and serve on the PTO. More parents need to get involved to make the school better - the teachers can't do it alone. There are several extracurricular activities such as chorus, art club, recorder, safety patrol and strings. The school hosts many events during the year to promote involvement, such as FCAT nights, book fair nights, and dances, and this year they had a student talent show.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 20, 2007

It takes a village to raise a child. If parents are unhappy, they need to get involved. Talk to any teacher there, the number one thing they complain about is lack of parent support. The education of our children is just as much a parent's responsibility as it is the teachers. As far as behavior goes, teachers there are afraid to discipline students because it is the teachers who get in trouble for doing so. If children are misbehaving, look at the parents, don't blame the teachers - they are not raising these children. There are some extra curricular activities like art club, chorus, student council, strings, recorder, and safety patrol. There are FCAT nights with activities to help our children do well on the tests. They have book fair nights and dances, and this year they had a student talent show. It was excellent, and everyone enjoyed it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2007

There are some phenomenal teachers at Waterbridge,who work hard to provide the best for the students. As in every school there are some who are not quite as effective. The school could benefit from greater parent participation on the PTO and the School Advisory Council. It is always the same few parents who attend meetings and school functions. I believe the school needs strong leadership and discipline , and that parents must get involved in school activities, educate themselves on the curriculum, work with their children at home, and communicate with the teachers. There are some great ones out there but they keep leaving Waterbridge because there is no support. Stop criticizing, and get involved to change it. Let's all help to make our school better! Remember that education begins at home.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 1, 2007

While I don't think the leadership at the school is very good, I must say my child has the best teacher in the world. That alone makes it worth him going there. Additionally, they have the best PTO. The moms that run it are awesome! However, I do think they could use some help from some other parents. I see the same few parents doing all the work at all the events I have attended. Also, I must mention the fabulous librarian they have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

Academically - he is progressing well, but communication and assignments have been inconsistent. Current Teacher does not actively use Agenda, but his last year teacher made a point of it. Commucation definitely needs to be improved to augment academics and safety of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

171 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

171 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

176 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

176 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
51%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

173 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

165 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

167 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

167 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

175 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 59%
White 22%
Black 10%
Asian 5%
Two or more races 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 24%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 65%66%61%
Master's degree 32%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. JOHN CARCARA
Fax number
  • (407) 858-2205

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11100 Galvin Drive
Orlando, FL 32837
Phone: (407) 858-3190

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ibn Seena Academy
Orlando, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT