Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Waterford Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 643 students

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 19, 2005

Wonderful enviroment, excellent teachers. One fantastic school. I wouldn't have my children in any other East Orange school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2005

Waterford has always been a good School, I use to like the teacher to child attention. Yet their are so many people moving into the area I'm not sure that it is still that way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2005

I have been very satisfied with this school. Few problems in my opinion would be that I believe that the principal does not want the parents to be as involved as they would like, unfortunately. K only had 2 field trips for the year. Besides the principal and lack of field trips the school is great, wonderful teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2005

The school is becoming, like most everything in this area, too crowded. Bullying is becoming a problem as children from the subsidized apartment complex nearby, many who are 'latchkey' kids and have serious behavioral issues, try to establish dominance, etc. This used to be a wonderful school, now the teachers are more like babysitters, and the curriculum is geared entirely to the FCAT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2005

Considering the socio-economic make-up of this school, it's amazing that they do so well on FCAT's every year. The availability of art, music and PE is questionable - they are grouped in with math, science, and computer 'specials' on a weird '4 days of each' program that may result in months where a class may not have art or music. This is not a school where art and music are considered benificial to the student's ability to learn other subjects. Recess is optional - teacher's choice - again, the importance of this to children who need down time is de-emphasized. The current principle is not 'warm and fuzzy' towards either the students or the parents, and pro and anti 'camps' have developed resulting in a lot of tension. She has been described as 'heavy handed and rigid'. FCAT score have remained good under her 'reign' though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2005

It's one of the best school of the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2005

Excellent teachers who care and love to teach the children. My daughter went to a private school in Tampa before I moved to Orlando and I think the level of the academic program is higher at Waterford Lakes Elementary than at the private school. A+ in my report card.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2005

My daughter went here for K. She loved going to school every day, And I was very happy with the way the teacher gave their students such great attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2005

It's my daughter's first year at Waterford, and I'm very happy with the level of education she's receiving. Waterford has great teacher's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2004

Great school, but as with many Florida schools, they 'teach to the test' -- the all-powerful FCAT, that is. However, teachers are wonderful and very dedicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2004

Education had always being at the top of my list when it came to my 9 y.o. daughter. We had relocated to this new city/State and I wanted a school who was very strong academically and morally. My daughter had never gone to a public school prior to this and I was also concern about the standard of the school/students. Mine and my daughters fears were soon relinquished. The teachers at Waterford were wonderful and so were the students and I can say that is greatly contributed by the vast parent/community participation and involment in the school. My daughter progressed academically and socially and was proud to be a wild cat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2004

Parent involvement is incredible! My son's class didn't have enough volunteers. They couldn't go to their end of the year party for lack of parent chaperones! Most parents work and don't have the time for their kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2004

The prekindergarten VE class is wonderful. So is the teacher and aides. Difficult to get 1-1 speech therapy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2004

I believe that Waterford Elementary has fantastic teachers. Their staff and administration are easily accessible. I can't imagine my son going anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

138 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 47%
Hispanic 39%
Black 9%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 215%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%66%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • State of Florida 'A' Grade (2011)
  • State of Florida 'A' Grade (2010)
  • State of Florida 'A' Grade (2009)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Five Star School Award for Superior Community Involvement (2011)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • MS. KATHY PETERSEN
Fax number
  • (407) 249-4425

Resources

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • K-Kids
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Discovery Middle School
Timber Creek High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11550 Lokanotosa Trail
Orlando, FL 32817
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 249-6410

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT