Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Discovery Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 954 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 25, 2014

The teachers are amazing! The food is not that bad either. And we are a high related "A" school. The 1 problem is the principal is not very social, I pass her in the hallways sometimes and say "hi" sometimes or most of the time she does not respond and keeps her head down to avoid any conversations


Posted January 11, 2014

Discovery Middle School has been an amazing blessing to us! Our daughter came from a strict Christian Private school. We were concerned about her ability to adjust to a public school setting. However, we have had no issues whatsoever! We enrolled her in all Advanced classes. She has adjusted well socially and academically. The teachers, principal, counselor, and dean have gone above and beyond to help her feel welcomed and appreciated. We were surprised to see how advanced the Math is at this school compared to private schools! The children have been welcoming and simply superb! Other parents, whom we've met, seem equally happy. There is absolutely nothing that we would change about this school. As for the previous comment stating the school needs a younger principal; we completely disagree. The current principal has a doctorate degree and has incredible knowledge and experience. It is not by accident that we are an "A" school. Parents cannot expect to be volunteering as much as they did in Elementary school. It's time to cut the umbilical cord and trust others to teach and motivate your children in a school setting!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

As with any school, this school has it's up's and down's. The teaching staff is great for the most part but the school overall lacks spirit and true leadership. The principal is anti-parent and does not engage with the students or parents whatsoever creating a very cold environment for both - including it's volunteers. Coming from Waterford Elementary where the principal prided himself on knowing every student's name, and at a mkinimum acknowledged them as he passed them in the hallway if he didn't stop and engage in a conversation with them, Discovery's administration could use a swift kick in the rear end when it comes to leadership. This school is long overdue for a leadership change and could use a young and inspiring leader at the top.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

This school has been a blessing to our family! The teachers and students are amazing. Bullying is not tolerated here, although we have not had an issue with that anyways. It helps to be in the advanced / honors classes. We are surprised to see bad reviews from parents here. It might be a personal issue or lack of parental involvement. After all, parents must collaborate with the school for success to be achieved. We cannot expect the teachers to raise or cater to our children. The curriculum is challenging; therefore, being organized is a must!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2013

Very poor. at communication In and out of school. While you have a few decent, much bullying from teachers and office not just children. All around poor. rating poor school. Btw, not just my children either. Good luck at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2012

We moved here a month before the start of the school year from another state. My 7th grade daughter was petrified since she knew no one. The first day many kids introduced themselves to her in her classes and some invited her to sit with them at lunch. What a relief! She says it it the best school she has ever been. A true credit to the parents. The teachers all challenge her and a couple recognized the first week she belonged in the AP classes and made arrangements to keep her challenged and motivated. I have been very pleased with most of the teachers. As far as some of the complaints from reviews a couple years old: The school is not dirty. Maybe it was a couple years ago, but it is definitely cleaned up. I ask my daughter all the time about bullying...if she is a victim or sees it going on. She says no but obviously cant see everything. As a parent, STAY ON TOP OF IT AND DONT RELY ON THE SCHOOL TO HANDLE IT FOR YOU! Also my daughter is in art and the teacher never claims to have been a pink elephant..lol. Dont think twice about sending your kids here. It is a great school with challenging classes, a great sports program, a solid PTSA and friendly students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2011

You do not want your chid here. Don't buy a home into this school zone. You'll regret it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2011

Great School, Caring Teacher willing to go above and beyond to help students be successful. Great AP courses and Challenging courses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2010

hi best regard i would like to transfer my son 14 years old to study in your school now he study in grade 8 in saudi arabia and he will come with her two dgugters to orlando i want more detailes about 1-20 for him and how much it coasts to study there until getting higschool kind regards Jamal Alkhanani
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2010

You will not find a better Middle School than Discovery Middle. From it's Administration to it's teachers and staff it is an amazing school. These teacher's put their hearts and souls into teaching and it shows every year when the school grades come out and Discovery is at the top of that list. Not only is Discovery an "A" school but a very high "A". The highest "A" in the county. To me that speaks volume about what is going on at the school. If you are looking for a great education, you will find it at Discovery Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2010

My oldest daughter went here for 2 years ('05 and '06). School was dirty, lack of information/updates from teacher to parents. Other kids are bullies and teachers do not intervine. A boy in the same class as my daughter brought a knife to school and received only a suspension. My daughter's art teacher always told the students she used to be a pink elephant in her former life and her husband was a purple garafe, AND she wasn't kidding, she actually believed it! We moved to be in Avalon Middle's zoning. I was hesitant because Discovery is half the size of Avalon, but the administration, the principal, the parents, and the teachers ALL are involved on a daily basis at Avalon! My daughter still says her 8th grade year when she transferred out of Discovery. Discovery school students are very cliche and focus more on bullying than on learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2009

i love discovery my kid comes back everyday happy and he learns a lot of stuff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2007

The school is kind of dirty, but the teachers are the best teachers i have ever had. Its also to crouded!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2007

We are extremely satisfied with DMS. Teachers are first class, education on a highest level. Communication with the parents outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

Discovery Middle is the best middle school in east Orlando. Parent invovlement is high. Advanced and honours classes are abundant. Music classes have been excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2006

My daughter attends Discovery Middle and I am very pleased with the school. The staff are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2005

Discovery Middle School is a very good school. They have a new principal who seems to care a lot about her teachers and students. The principal has only been at Discovery for about a year now, she has earned the respect of the children as well as the teacher. Some of the teachers are new but have a lot of love for the children. There are those that need a little improving but, do have the over all love for the school, children and the parents. I have 12 year old twins that have different classes, and I have had only one problem with a teacher. As soon as I told the principal she quickly took care of the problem. As so I saw a dramatic improvement with the teacher. Discovery also has excellent read program for there students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2005

This is a large school that seems to have good academics, but lacks a variety of sports activities and field trips. Their after school classes are excellent if you don't mind waiting for hours to sign your children up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2005

Both of children attend DMS and enjoy the climate, academically and socially. Each is involved in extracurricular activities and has positive interaction with faculty members. The school consistently rates as one of the highest in the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

My daughter has attended Discovery all three years and my son is now on his second year. I think the school is adequate. I guess if you want a generic education for your child well Discovery is for you. The school has too many students. My daughter complained of her back and my son does to this day from all the binders and items the teachers require the students to carry around all day. The lunch at the school is horrific no wonder children are over weight. Discovery is an ok school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

319 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

323 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

301 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

301 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

297 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

296 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

295 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

298 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

307 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

242 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 45%
Hispanic 29%
Black 18%
Asian 4%
Two or more races 4%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 62%66%61%
Master's degree 38%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. GLORIA FERNANDEZ
Fax number
  • (407) 384-1580

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

601 Woodbury Road
Orlando, FL 32828
Phone: (407) 384-1555

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Providence Academy
Orlando, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT