Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Baldwin Oaks Academy

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Orlando

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $125,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,030.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 4, 2009

The Upper Elementary (4th -6th) program at BOA has been a blessing to my child. The class size is very small which lends itself to extra individualized attention from Ms. J. My child has gone from hating school to looking forward to it. The class does special projects and has community meetings each day. Ms. J'a training working with children of all learning styles seems to be a perfect fit for my child and I only wish we had found it sooner. Oh and the fact that their elementary program is housed at the Orlando Science Center doesn't hurt either! Best school I have found, hands down!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2008

We have been very pleased with BOA. After leaving another local school, we were hesitant as to what to expect. Our child blossomed in Ms. Jansen's room, and advanced quickly in her skills. The administration is wonderful. When a concern has come up, Ms. Lyman and Ms. Roberta have addressed our issues quickly and professionally. We did encounter several bulllies last year, but again, when discussed, this too was handled and those students are no longer at the school. Although we are moving on to another school next year, it is not due to our positive feelings about BOA. We simply believe a larger school environment will work for our child at this time. We would recommend this school highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2007

Best school in Orlando! I pulled my child from NSO 2 years ago because of various so called learning problems with her,seems at this school she's just fine...go figure. When she started in first grade she couldn't read a word,but after a month in Ms Jensens class she was reading like she'd been doing it forever. There's parent involvement here and any concerns you may have the administration is more than willing to hear what you have to say and resolve any issues. The staff are wonderful with the children and my child has learned far more than I ever remember learning in second grade. They are a top notch school with a gift for teaching! My child also doesn't want to leave at the end of the day! Monique D.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2007

As a parent of a child at this school, I have never heard any complaints of bullying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

I love this school I had been searching for the perfect school for my son who showed possible learning issues at age 4. Not only did we find a school with caring teachers and owners, but we found a school where I knew my child would learn. He is reading and writing at age 4 because of the WIN program that is being used at BOA. I am so thankful for BOA for being open to new and effective ideas. BOA is for everbody, there is no box to fit into, they truly love the kids and the kids love them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2007

I loved this school when my child first began. She was there for over a year then I began to notice changes in her behavior. After some investigating I found out that she was being bullied by another child and the administrations had done nothing about it nor had they informed me or her father. I would not recommend this school to any other parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

We're so happy with this school! Finally a school that lets your child progress at their own pace. My son was really into the language at the beginning of the year, now he's into the math. A conventional school would've foced the issue. This teacher knew he would come around to the math again. (It's his first love.) A Montessori school- and they truly give your child individualized work. My son has blossomed here and is so happy. He's doing very well. The directors listen to parent's input and implement ideas. Very welcoming of parental involvement without any 'pressure' on those parents who can't be as involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 42%
Hispanic 17% 29%
Two or more races 10% 3%
Black 7% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1862 Winter Park Road
Orlando, FL 32803
Phone: (407) 647-0119

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT