Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Timber Creek High School

Public | 9-12 | 3030 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2014

I am currently a Parent at Timber Creek High School. The hallways at the high school can get crowded because of the enormous amounts of students in the school. However, I believe that all departments in the school are excellent. My Son is in AP classes and have been since freshmen year and I am very confident and satisfied with the teachers i have had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

I go to this school, and let me tell you it's amazing the teachers get really involve with the students to get the best of them. you have plenty of classes and extra-curriculum activities. this is also a 'A' school again this year so if you are thinking about moving near this school, don't think it twice and register.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 14, 2013

As a former student of TCHS! I will say that it was an awesome experience for me. The campus is clean! The teachers are very involved in the student's academic progress. I left TCHS forming wonderful friendships with my teachers and guidance counselor. I still often visit that school, just to say hello to some of my former teachers. I can't say how thankful and privileged I am to have attended TCHS! Even though it has been a few years since I graduated! I still reflect very fondly on thy school for such wonderful memories. I would recommend this school to anyone who just moved and is new to the area. If you want your kids to get a wonderful education, TCHS, is your school!


Posted August 22, 2013

In fact, I am happy to join my daughter to this school with high capabilities, as well as my daughter a happy existence in this school and to the good handle thanks to Timber Creek School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

This school is great! My younger son is currently studying here as a Sophomore and the classes are great! The electives are great, the AP classes are excellent, and the many extra-curricular activities are incredible! My only concern is the Band on how they treat the students there. My oldest son used to be in the Band and let me just say that he was a bit exhausted at how hard he worked to earn the highest band last year. They kept him in the lowest band for 4 years straight. This got him a bit depressed in which it led to his confidence and self-esteem to drop. I guess it was a bit of a waste to pay for the uniforms for those four straight years. I don't know what they do to manage the bands there but I don't suggest it as an arts elective.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

Timber Creek High School is excellent, my son study in this school and I happy .This is beautiful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2011

Timber Creek is a great high school! We relocated to FL from another state - my children were coming from one of the top school districts in the country, so I was worried that the school would not be challenging enough. Glad to see that I was VERY wrong! timber Creek has a fabulous staff, and challenging curriculum and an excellent athletics program. You can register your teens at this school with confidence, knowing they will be in excellent hands!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

This is a wonderful school, great principal and staff, excellent curriculum and wonderful activities. My child is a Senior, we'll miss this school sooooo much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2009

My family moved here from New England. We searched all of the high schools in the Orlando area and we found that TCHS is the best school. They involve their students and the facultyis superior. My son is a senior this year and he already says how much he'll miss TCHS. The absolute best...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

It has great classes, academics and sports and there's something for everyone
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

I used to attend to CHS during my freshman and sophmore year. I thought it was ok, but once I entered TCHS I noticed how different and nice was everyone, especially Mr. Wright. He is the best principal I've ever had. If you have a problem, you can talk to him. What I like most about TCHS is that even though there's an economy problem we still have good elective classes as well as required classes in order to graduate. Every administrator is willing to help you on anything you need. I feel that TCHS is part of my family :D
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2009

My children entered Timber Creek this year, their first time in public school. So far the honors classes they are in are comparable to the ones in good private schools and classrooms are well-controlled and orderly. Teachers are top-notch. We were pleasantly surprised by the great administration and excellent organization. This is a great high school, and parents considering moving their kids from private school to Timber Creek should feel absolutely comfortable in doing so. Every staff member has been professional and helpful and truly care about the parents and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

Timber creek is such a great school, their teaching programs are Excellent! : )
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

I think the administration is top notch and can't believe how 'on top of everything' they are with as many students as they have in attendance. The caring, trusting staff is exemplary and I'm glad my daughter is an AP student at TCHS. Kudos to the arts department as well for a spectacular performance of 'Little Shop Of Horrors!' The props and acting and music and singing was amazing! Very Professional!Well done! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2009

I am a parent of TCHS. I had lived in east Orland all my life and had seen how this calm community evolved into a crowded place. The school is not the excepted. The new ninth grade center is overcrowded; doesn't have a former cafeteria (a lunch bus stands at the side of the small entrance called 'lobby'). Freshmans had to cross the street to go to the main campus. There are not enough admnistrators to handle the demands of this population. The environment is completely different in the main campus. You can see the difference from the amount of staff per student and the quality and security. Teachers are concern overall but you have to be in contact constantly to assure your kids are been well serve. I am a teacher and a school coordinator in charter schools. The level of education is excellent in the honor classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2009

I am from out of state and my daughter who has challengers has excelled. I am totally amazed at the level of attention I receive. Each and every time my daughter has a problem, the school handles it promptly. Great job to all at TCHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

Overall, this is an excellent school. It has some very good programs to help the students manage their education proactively. The AP program is excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2008

An amazing school with teachers who really care more about the eduction and understand that it's the quality not just the quanity of staudents' education that matters.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2008

TCHS is a great school with lots of offerings, a great teacher who really loves his job, excellent teachers and fantastic extracurriculars. I'm still marveled how the manage this school so well with almost 4500 students. Kudos!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2008

This is the second OCPS High School my daughter has attended. I thnk the teachers and staff here are amazing. For being so overcrowded they seem to make time to address every student's and parent's concerns and needs. I cannot say enough great things about the admin.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

764 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

734 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

722 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

725 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

419 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
50%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

935 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

553 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 44%
Hispanic 35%
Black 11%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 15%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 90%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 93%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 59%66%61%
Master's degree 35%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DR. GABRIEL BERRIO
Fax number
  • (321) 235-7821

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1001 Avalon Park South Boulevard
Orlando, FL 32828
Phone: (321) 235-7800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Providence Academy
Orlando, FL


Providence Academy
Orlando, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT