Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ormond Beach Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 296 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 10, 2013

We moved from Kentucky and were very blessed to have had the teacher we had last year. I don't like that we share principals with another school. There are parents and students who do not even know who the principal is!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2012

OBE is the best school around. Although we share our principal, the staff and teacher on assigment run the school beautifully. Everyone there like family. I am proud to be a parent, SAC member, and on the PTA of such a terrific school that cares about one thing...the well being and education of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2012

This school is perfect for young students. You really feel safe with the close knit community the school provides. The teachers are always helpful and patient. My daughter has really thrived because of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

they dont bus kids in! It's a great local school where evryone knows everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2008

This is a great, student-oriented school focused on the social and educational development and success of all of its students. Students are encouraged to participate not only during class time but also in extracurricular activities as well.


Posted March 26, 2008

We have been proud parents of OBE for 6 years. Our daughter has recently graduated to Middle School and our son is in the 3rd grade at OBE. Our daughter cried on the last day of school because she was going to miss the close knit family of staff she had know since she was 5. We have been pleased with every teacher they have had. Mrs. Clouse (3rd grade) has been exceptional in helping our son (with ADD and OCD symptoms) in her class to stay focused and on task. She and Ms. Statton have done a wonderful job in helping him continue to succeed dispite his difficulties. We are thankful that our children have and will continue to have fond memories of this wonderful school. K. Ruddy, proud parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

My child as attended this school for a few years now and it has been a wonderful experience. Im a very pleased with the teachers and how the students are treated. Even though budgets were cut and there as much available its still a great school and Im hoping that they are able to expand extra curicular activities at a later date. The parents do a wonderful job at volunteering and being involved at this school. I am so pleased to have chosen this school for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2007

We moved to the area recently and my daughter started second grade with OBE. In her previous school she was having behavior issues and I felt like the communication and recognition systems used in that school were terrible. It has been truly amazing to see the differences a good school can make. Her behavior has improved drastically. She is doing so well that I am still amazed to see the differences in her. I definitely attribute this to OBE. The teachers show genuine concern and interest for their students and they make quite an effort to communicate. I always receive detailed written instructions for her homework and receive feedback on what to work with her on. I am so glad to have her in this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2004

This school is a very safe and fun place for kids. My children who attend are always encouraged to do their best and to never give up. We have been at this school for 3 years now and can not imagine what it would be like for us not to be here. My children are excited to return to school after braks and they know that the staff here will always be life time friends of ours. I can not put it into words how we truely feel about the experience we have, but I can say that as a parent I even have life long friends now. Obe is exactally what every parent wishes for their kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2004

The principal Ms Stratton is wonderful! The school prides itself in excellence and fairness.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

50 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 76%
Black 12%
Two or more races 6%
Hispanic 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%56%61%
Master's degree 40%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DR. MARYANN BULL
Fax number
  • (386) 676-5321

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Corbin Avenue
Ormond Beach, FL 32174
Website: Click here
Phone: (386) 676-5325

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Childrens House
Ormond Beach, FL



St James Episcopal School
Ormond Beach, FL


Osceola Elementary School
Ormond Beach, FL


Temple Beth-El School
Ormond Beach, FL


Tomoka Elementary School
Ormond Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT