Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Evans Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 910 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2014

My Kindergarten student had a wonderful experience at the school. The teacher was very creative and made my little one's learning experience fun. She looked forward to every day and was sad when the year ended. As for the staff, they learned who I was very early on and made me feel at home. My only criticism would be the after school programs, which I felt were a little lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2014

Evans is a decent school, with good teacher/student ratios. It was a GREAT school under previous leadership. However, the new principals are floundering, creating policies that don't allow you to lunch with your child (1x week only), and they do not do a good job of keeping parents informed and engaged. The Gifted program is a joke - it is only 1x week, on the "short" day. So, my child is bored the rest of the week, and likely to disrupt the others due to boredom. The front office staff has been rude to me, and to other students or parents who have come in while I've been there. We used to be excited to be at Evans and are now looking at other options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2014

Awful place. Teachers sulk and complain. Students bully each other relentlessly with no consequences. Parents bully the teachers and administration. There is a complete lack of boundaries between teachers and parents and they can often be overheard gossiping together which makes for an incredibly uncomfortable environment. The inmates are running the prison.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2014

My children have had a great experience at Evans. We have had children at the school for 7 years and have been very pleased by the teachers and programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2014

First and foremost. This school discourages parents from wanting to be involved from its total unfriendliness. It is run like a prison. Drop your kids at the door, and do not even think about coming within 25 feet of the front door. Do not try to give the administration or PTA suggestions, as they are unwelcomed. I have even been yelled at by a "paraprofessional." Other parents have been yelled at by other staff members. Teachers are hit or miss. They assign you one day a week you can eat lunch with your child, and only that day of the week.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2014

You know I believe that this is a good school. The staff is very friendly and courteous. They seem to really care about the well being of the children. After reading one of the postings left I was just blown away and not in a good way how unbelievably stereotypical people are. You know what its not the new complex that was built just bexause they accept hud. That doesn't five anyone the right to blame the people who lice there. So with all due respect shut up! It is not a bad school and don't blame others for yopur misfortune!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

First let me state that Evans is not a bad school; however, I think generic describes it best. On paper, Evans is a fantastic school. In reality, Evans is middle-of-the-road. As with many schools, there is a small clique of parents that believe they actually run the school and relish the sense of power they derive from this belief. This translates into a sometimes unfriendly environment that can make volunteering difficult. Although the front office staff is generally friendly, the parents that work there and in the cafeteria can be gruff. The new administration has amplified this feeling of unfriendliness with policies that impede the ability of parents to feel part of their children's learning environment and unwelcome at the school. Events are poorly advertised and often notification is at the last minute. Teachers at Evans are hit-or-miss; we've had good and bad teachers. Unfortunately, I believe district pride concerning FCAT scores appears to trump actual learning and creativity in the classroom. If you want your child to receive good FCAT scores, don't care about a school's "soul", and aren't concerned about your child's originality and creativity, Evans is the right place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2014

This is my second review the first one was removed by this website on or around 30 Dec 2013. Like I said the first time my kids have gone to Evans for the past few years and it was not to bad. Sadly someone built a huge "HUD" "Section 8" town-home complex about 100 Yards from the school last year. Since then the quality of the school has really gone down hill and am looking into other options. Sadly we live in a world where parents need be aware of what is being built in their zoning districts. These building projects have a HUGE impact on the quality of your public school. I never would've believed it until it happened to our family at Evans!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

We have had great experiences with the school, and my daughter absolutely loves it here. I'm pleasantly surprised that all of the teachers in the hallways seem to know her name, and the office staff somehow knows me and my husband despite our infrequent visits. Everyone here has been super friendly and the education my daughter is receiving is top notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

My child has been at Evans for the last 2 years. I loved Evans up until this year. The atmosphere of the school has changed. It is an uptight feeling now. Mr. Navarro and Mrs. Hermon were great administration and the new one can not compare. I feel as if my child is being held back in her class. She is far more advanced than given credit for but she is quiet so it isn't seen. I have learned of many different programs for accelerated children that the schools do not want to tell the parents about. So far this year I have been nothing but disappointed. I am glad that I work with my child at home, otherwise she would be very bored.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

Very very happy with Evans. This is our 6 year there between two kids. The teachers have always been great and the front office very accommodating. I am very pleased that this is the school our neighborhood goes to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

I am really shocked by some of the other comments. We were an Evans family for the past 11 years. I have never had anyone be rude to me or my husband in the front office. And the one time (out of 11 years) I had a problem with a teacher, it was handled with urgency and care. I highly recommend this school. I had two different "types" of children in this school. One son struggled with learning issues and the other was gifted. So, no "normal" children. I felt that they were BOTH given an excellent education, and neither were overlooked by teachers and/or administrators. They were BOTH given the attention and education that they needed. (Gifted IS hard to teach to, because no matter how much you throw at them, they want more. My son's teachers were always ready and willing to give him extra work to keep him interested and challenged.) And lastly, the comments about the FCAT. Show me a school in the area that isn't concerned about scoring well! This is something that the state has made an issue for the schools, not something that the schools WANT to do. Until they get rid of that stupid test, you are going to see the teachers over-preparing the kids for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2013

We have two children attending Evans. One is a special needs child & the staff has been wonderful! Our child is acclimated well & is fitting right in with the mainstream class! The staff is wonderful, friendly, helpful & professional. My kids have never complained once about going to school. They look forward to it! Although the homework is a little much for the younger ones. But I hear that's pretty common in most schools today unfortunately. Overall great school. A+++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2011

I have several children at this school. I found the comments to be accuarate. If your child fits the standard model then you are good. Thankfully we do. I have a child in the gifted program that begs me to remove them. They say it's boring and all they do is research and play games. Is that what gifted is about? The new administration staff is wonderful. Although the old staff was strict I did not find it to be a turnoff. The front staff (not all) can give you a less then welcoming feeling. It is unforturnate but hopefully it doesn't carry over to the children who come in. The teachers are wonderful. I do not feel there was a huge turn over in the previious years that we've been there. I think it is good that our children experince all types of personalities and for the most part our teachers have been wonderful educators to our kids. The PTA is very active but they tend to stick to using only parents they "approve" of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2011

There is new principal and vice principal leadership here who are outstanding. They even stand out on the sidewalks on the hottest and coldest days of the year directing traffic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Great teachers, great (new) administration, great parent support, great students!!! Where the best get even better...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

I love my kids school because the teacher's really seem to care about the kids and their parents! They are one of the top AR schools and did awesome with FCat's last year too! Go Evans -you rock! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

We've had 3 kids at Evans over the past 5 years- overall our experience has been disappointing. We moved our oldest child out of Evans because of their teacher. She was completely uninterested in guiding her classes or helping them build confidence and seemed to be supported by the previous principle. She only ever seemed interested in FCAT scores and made it clear that this was 'just a job' -she did not want to be bothered after hours with questions or concerns. Our other two children remained at Evans but have both experienced varying levels of problems. Though with them, their teachers were much kinder and accessible. The new leadership, coming into the 2009 school year, seems to be trying to create a friendlier environment, which is appreciated, though some staff should have also been replaced with the leadership, such as many of the 'assistant' staff and the guidance staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2009

I can not say enough about the quality education this school provides. My son's teachers have been unbelievable! The teachers do an outstanding job, even under the ruling of an overbearing, very unlikable Mrs. Winger. I look forward to this year. The teachers at this school deserve a break from her tyranny!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2009

My son is going into 3rd grade and has attended Evans since kindergarten. He has has had wonderful teachers who have been very patient with him. He went through testing for ESE and found he was not the process was done quickly. He is ADHD and his teacher were wonderful during the process of working with him. He is an average student and they are always positive. The only negative I see and I agree with the some other posts about the office staff. You tend to get ignored for a significant amount of time at time. But usually pleasent when they get to you. The guidance counselor is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

146 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

153 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

127 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 61%
Hispanic 21%
Black 8%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 172%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 26%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 55%53%61%
Master's degree 44%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • 5 Star Award (2006)
  • 5 Star Award (2007)
  • A+ school for the past 7 years. (2007)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30
School end time
  • 3:00
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • MS. CAROLANN DARNELL
Fax number
  • (407) 320-9899

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 East Chapman Road
Oviedo, FL 32765
Website: Click here
Phone: (407) 320-9850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT