Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Riverglades Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 643 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 19, 2005

I think this school is going down the road of many schools in the area. Where it once was a shining star.. it is now just another overcrowded, undersupported school. I just think we can do better, especially with the parent support and sponsorship this school gets.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2005

This school has such a great PTA and involvement from not only Parkland but the parents as well. This is such a well-rounded school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

My daughter has been in Riverglades for 2 years now and I cannot express how happy I am. The academic programs are excellent. My daughter has learned so much in the past two years. The teachers are caring and I am happy to send my daughter to Riverglades everyday. The extra programs that the school offers are terrific. There is something for everyone at this school. The level of parent involvement is wonderful. All of the parents get together and work with their childs teacher and work with the other parents to make Riverglades a great environment for our children. I cannot express how happy I am.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2005

My twin boys have been enrolled in this school for two years now and it has been a wonderful experience. Both have had excellent teachers and the after school program is also very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2004

We love this school. Theya re providing a wonderful education for my 1st grader. He is in the gifted program and is truly thriving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2003

My child is in the gifted program. He loves his teacher, Ms. Utariello. She gives them problems that truly teach them to think and not just to memorize. I have a tough time doing them myself, but he does them in no time. He wants to be in school earlier and earlier. This means one of two things, either he has a crush on someone, or he adores his teacher. I think is the latter. Thank you, Ms. Utariello and Ms. Klenke.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

We moved here a year ago, in 2002, and moved to Parkland strictly for Riverglades. While others spend a lot of money for private school, we didn't feel the need. Our son is in fifth grade with Mr. Gauch now and we think he is very energetic and is very involved with the kids. The only downside is the large class sizes here, but I think as parents we can keep on top of things by being involved, making sure our children are where they should be. The FCATS last year were high, and our son is happy at Riverglades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My daughter is starting 2nd grade this year. With an awesome foundation in Kindergarten(Miss Solenski)and 1st grade (Mrs. Civettini), my daughter has gone above and beyond our expectations. Riverglades is top-notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

105 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 64%
Hispanic 17%
Asian 9%
Black 7%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 47%53%61%
Master's degree 47%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 6%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 1%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7400 Parkside Drive
Parkland, FL 33067
Phone: (754) 322-8200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Primary Learning Place
Boca Raton, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT