Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School

Public | 9-12 | 3038 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

63 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2009

great academics as well as extracurricular opportunities!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2009

I recently graduated from Douglas... honestly I loved the four years I spent there. I played several sports there and it is a school that fosters competition on the field and in the classroom. There are plenty of phenominal teachers and it is a great place for a student to develop into a young adult. I hope there are more people who feel the way I do about that school. C/O 2009 show me some EAGLE PRIDE! p.s. go lady eagles soccer & flag football!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2008

I am a parent. At first I thought the school was too big and the students would get lost in the system. I have come full circle. The teachers are caring and really enjoy the students and are willing to help them in every way. The academics are amazing and these students go on to some of the finest universities in the country. They do well there, because they earned every point at Douglas. They worked very hard for every A and B. They aren't pampered, so they are ready for the real world. Mrs. Bloom tells the students the truth about the admission process. It is competitive. Douglas is over-crowded so sometimes the administration can appear overwhelmed but if you treat them with respect they will treat you with respect. They put up with a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

Marjory Stoneman Douglas High is an amazing school. Not only does it send a number of kids to top schools in the country and state, it provides a nurturing environment, great academics and a wonderful social life. I'm a senior in the school right now, and I am taking five AP classes. The personal attention you receive is incredible, teachers really *do* care. Anyone who has the determination to succeed, can do it here at MSD - as opposed to other schools where there is more unhealthy competition. Of course, MSD IS competitive in every way, but there is no unhealthy competitive feel like schools of Pine Crest, and magnet schools (where they really do burn out kids for no reason!). People tend to help each other here rather than step over you. Come to MSD, and you'll have an amazing four years of your life. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2008

I'm a senior at the schools and I must say that it is excellent. Although some may not think so, it is completely obvious when you look at the other schools in the area. Douglas has the broadest selection of AP courses and courses in general, and has very strong academic clubs. My teachers have all been good (especially the AP teachers, who devote a great amount of energy towards preparing us for college and helping us out academically), and despite what people say me and my friends always manage to find a seat in the cafeteria without a problem, even if we get there around 5 minutes into lunch (although usually there are only 4 or 5 of us, a large group may be trouble). Sometimes I eat outside just for a change of scenery, and the school is not as dirty as some claim (especially for an open-air school).
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2008

My son will be graduating in May 2009, and he has had a wonderful fours years at this school. Stoneman Douglas High offers some of the most rigourous AP classes in math and science, whereas students at other schools do not get the opportunity to take these college level classes. The teachers are wonderful, and for the most part, truly love their job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

I am a current student at douglas and I love it. The extracurriculars are outstanding. As far as comments on the dirtiness, this is inevitable since the school is open-air. The cafeteria is big enough, but some kids, like me, find it too cold and consequently outside. I wouldn't know about how 'average joes' are treated considering I'm an AP student, but I do think MSD is a great school, and I feel very accepted here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2008

I graduated from MSD in 2004. Like any teenager going through high school, I had my ups and downs. The classes I took were challenging and the teachers were all very helpful. I agree that the guidance department could be fixed... my guidance counselor told me I would never make it in a 4 year university, yet here I am, about to graduate from FSU, and move on to grad school. I didn't feel athletes were teated any differently then then rest of the students. Students who spoke out more were liked more, only because teachers were able to get to know them better. The teachers worked with you to make sure that you understood what was going on in class; 'A's were not just given out unless you deserved them. High school is a difficlt time for most people, but I thought that my time at MSD was terrific.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2008

caring, challenging ,great preparation for college and life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2007

I disagree with what some of the parents say. Yes, it is true that if you're in a sports program, you tend to get preferential treatment. But isn't that the way with the real world as well, with our professional athletes getting ten times the salary as a teacher? Additionally, while I agree that the English department is lacking, the math department in my experience was excellent, and challenged kids from every level, not just 'the AP students.'


Posted December 23, 2007

I just graduated in 2007 and while I will admit that the school has its faults, I never felt unsafe or pressured into doing illicit activities like some parents have commented. The guidance department could be improved, as I basically had to do all of my college planning by myself, with the exception of Mrs. Bloom, who was very helpful throughout the entire year. Yes, sports are favored as well as those students who do well in AP classes, but it's expected because those students bring the school recognition and money. It does not mean that the 'average Joes' are ignored. All in all, I had a positive experience at this school and while it was easy to get 'A's' I still felt well prepared for college.


Posted November 3, 2007

I am now finding out first hand that the information I heard before my child attended MSD is true. If you dont get good grades, you struggle in class, or are not in sports, you might as well be invisible. My experience with guidance was very scary, ESE seemed to dissapear, and communication seems to be one sided. It appears some teachers expect you to teach yourself. So to all of those other parents who posted comments I am backing you up. If you are not an AP student, this school obviously does not want you there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2007

Right now I am a high school senior currently attending MSD. I have to say it has been one of the best experiences for me, and all the problems that the parents are talking about are not necessarily true. The cafeteria has plenty of room, if anything, too much. For the people who sit outside, it is because they choose to do so, there used to be way to many people until Coral Glades was opened. The teachers are the school are amazing, and the strict (aka hard teachers) are indeed hard, but believe me when i tell you, the harder the teacher, the more you get out of the education you want to receive. I am the 'avg joe' you speak of, and I have not had a problem in this school, I am maintaining A's and B's with no problem, and have gotten into some very good Colleges.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2007

MSD is adequate. My child recently transferred from a local private school where he struggled and now is doing quite well. Most of his teachers are fine, but one can barely speak the language and my child has difficulty understanding class work. My child's courses were not all available to him so he has to repeat a class he already has credit for. The teachers are adequately responsive; no comparison to private school, however. Some of his friends are in non-honors classes and report severe discipline issues, ie. throwing chairs at each other during class. The school seems overcrowded; perhaps I'm accustomed to different standards. Academics are fine; not horribly challenging-- but adequate. My son will definitely find it easier to attain better grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

My oldest child just graduated from Douglas, class of 2007 and my youngest is an incoming freshman. The administration sets a very positive tone for the staff and students. Academicaly I believe that the school is outstanding.Outside extra activities are so plenriful. I must say that all of the hallways are filthy, appears that it has not been done since the end of last school year. In addition, there are definitely not enough seats in the cafeteria.If you can't get there quickly you consequently have no seat. You are then forced to find an empty outside bench, or just walk around.That issue does need to be addressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

I am proud to be an alum of this great school. Overcrowding is not the fault of the school, rather the school district. The faculty and staff do all they can and they ddo a great job!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 21, 2007

I don't know which Stoneman Douglas parents/students are talking about, but in my opinion, NOT the Stoneman Douglas HS in Parkland! My daughter has attended Stoneman for two years. The school is horrible! Administration is apathetic (unless maybe if your child is in AP classes). Overcrowding and portables are numerous. Bathrooms are smelly and dirty. I also witnessed trash on the school grounds. The school is overdue for a face lift. Currently, it is what I call 'jail house' gray. This might encourage kids to take more pride in their school. No one seems to really care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2007

I am not actually a parent, but I am actually an alumni of MSD. I graduated back in June of 2004. I took AP classes and was involved in several clubs. This school prepared me academically for college and I will be graduating this June a year early and will be attending Nova on Scholarship for law school. My sister graduated this past June from Douglas and my brother is currently a sophomore, they both did equally as well in Douglas. My sister was really in to drama and was in all the school plays and my bro is in all gifted classes. This school offers many different classes, so it has some kind of class that interests everyone.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 7, 2007

I did not realize how good this school was until we moved! Class selection is broad. Teachers are excellent. The curriculum is strong and well prepares students for AP exams. High expectations of teachers are exceeded!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2006

To much emphasis on FCAT and being number one. Overcrowded. For an upscale town, the kids have to go to class in trailers. No discipline in the classrooms. If your child is not an AP student, don't send them here. If you don't want your child to get into ilicit activities, don't send them here. Just because the school is 'A' rated doesn't make it A good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

772 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

749 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

750 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

769 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

465 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
65%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

689 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
88%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

604 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
96%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

538 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 60%
Hispanic 20%
Black 11%
Asian 6%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 95%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 52%53%61%
Master's degree 45%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%2%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. TYSON THOMPSON
Fax number
  • (754) 322-2280

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5901 Pine Island Road
Parkland, FL 33076
Phone: (754) 322-2150

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Leadership Academy
Coral Springs, FL



Atlantis Academy
Coral Springs, FL


Center Academy
Coral Springs, FL


Academy High School
Coral Springs, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT