Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bellview Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 754 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 8, 2012

I have had children in Bellview for 4 years now. My eldest son is in 3rd grade and my youngest in 1st. I did have a few issues with the school when my eldest started kindergarten and in 1st grade when the former principal was still in control. That changed when the current Principal (Hollie Wilkins) took over, she has done GREAT things for Bellview , and the Vice principal (Jim Broughton) is one of the most caring people I've ever met. The teachers my children have had are excellent and loving and I have not had issues with communication from them at all. SOME of the office staff lack greatly in people skills, they have a few office staff that are rude and don't give you time of day, unless its to stick their nose where it doesn't belong. I have found that by being a very active parent and visiting the school a lot that they do warm up after a while. My children love their school and have not had any problems with bullying or anything else. The school might not be in the best area in Pensacola BUT the people that run it have our kids best interest at heart and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2012

My daughter just came to this school from Jim C Bailey. Since she has started here she has been subject to almost daily bullying. She says the academics are far worse then Jim Bailey as well. She is a very kind bright child and we are looking for ways to get her in a different school. Everything about this school screams ghetto. Even the kids in general are not so well behaved. Teachers don't care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2010

I am a parent of a Kindergarten student at Bellview. Aside from the teacher (who is awesome, Ms. Fowler), the staff is rude and I could not be more dissatisfied. I went to enroll my daughter prior to the start of school and had very rude front desk personnel basically shew me away. After that ordeal, my husband did a HUGE fundraiser at his job to try to get supplies for the school and after over $1000 in donations, we brought them to a staff that refused to help offload the material. The told me where to put it, which really is not the issue (other than the same rude staff, to include the principal), the big issue is the fact that not one single person said a simple "thank you". Avoid this place!!!! There is more, just no room for it here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Bellview is a great school, they take to time to make sure that the students understand, and they report back to their parents as to what issues their kids are having in school and will do anything to help that child does well in school.


Posted December 3, 2007

Hi, I just read that last review of the school, and please do not believe it. I am also new to the school and they are just wonderful. I have three children in K, 1st and 3rd and these teachers are wonderful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2007

we were new to the area and everytime I called or visited the school the staff acted like it was a burden to help me or make us welcome! I had four kids that attended, and at least once a week I was in the assistants office seeking for help! My kids came home stressed every day with the way situations were handled. Two of my children had many different subs throughout the year due to both teachers being pregnant. I hope this school will inprove because this is a nice area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2006

I really love this school and its values of putting the children's safety first.I am a parent of two boys in this school. As I was growing up I also attended this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2006

I think Bellview has been a great school. My son attended kindergarten through 5th and I've been impressed with all but one teacher. When I expressed my concerns to the principal about the way this particular teacher was coonducting herself, she acted immediately. I would recommend this school except for the fact that they don't have much in the way of extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2005

My school had Ms Smith for his second grade teacher she was great with work with him; keeping him on track and also keep us as parent updated with what was going on . And Ms Hewitt Principal she know 'How to run a school! Everything about this school is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2004

My son had Ms. Roberts last year for his third grade teacher. She was the best! Also, Bellview has a principal that cares for her students. Becki Hewitt is a face you will see everytime you enter the doors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2003

i have a 1st grader and 3rd grader and i had a 5th grader there last yr this is a wonderful school i have always felt comfortable leaving my children in the hands of bellview elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

111 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 42%
Black 29% 23%
Two or more races 9% 3%
Hispanic 6% 29%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%59%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Hollie Wilkins
Fax number
  • (850) 941-6062

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4425 Bellview Ave
Pensacola, FL 32526
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 941-6060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT